Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mulcahy's

• 05-03-2011 11:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

Ok I'm not from Clonmel but I was in this bar last week and I was really impressed. Just with the size of it...it's my type of bar, and there's a big ass nite club on site as well?

What's the story with it?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

The night club beside it is called Dannos. It's owned by the same people. It used to be renouned for being an absolute dive, but I've been there a couple of times since Christmas and it was very good, decent music etc. .
    Only thing is though, it opens whenever it feels the need to open. Mostly just Bank Holidays, New Years, Christmas & other big weekends, and very seldom opens normal weekend.
    It is a nice place though, and Muls is a lovely bar.

I assume you've been to O' Keefes before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Yeah..i was in O keeffe's as well...was nice...just saw more potential in mulcahy's. There must be a reason why they're not opening. Do they do live music at the weekends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

The reason they aren't opening is that everyone got sick of paying 10-14 euro to go upstairs to dannos. Especially since they started getting desperate and letting in scumbags and 17 year olds. I think they started dropping prices, but it was too little to late. Devanes had a good bar across the street from Mulcahy's, and that crowd used to end up in dannos. Devanes have moved up to Irishtown (not sure if they are still open), but they cater for a different crowd now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Yeah..i was in O keeffe's as well...was nice...just saw more potential in mulcahy's. There must be a reason why they're not opening. Do they do live music at the weekends?

Nah they don't. Only a DJ spinning the tunes on the odd Saturday night is all. They have teenage discos and stuff regularly Friday night too. I spose there just isn't enough demand for Dannos in Clonmel when everyone goes to O' Keefes, except the extra crowds on Bank Holidays etc, and also the prices were fairly dear. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Serious opportunity for Dannos to succeed in the town if they stopped charging going in and had a strict door policy to stop the kids and scummers getting in that ruined it in the first place. O'keeffes is a dive and most people seem to be sick of going there.

I don't think a night club can operate without a door charge though. Waterford axed its door charge and the entire night club scene collapsed as a result. You need to put a price on a door or your devaluing the whole product. Even €5 would be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I don't think a night club can operate without a door charge though. Waterford axed its door charge and the entire night club scene collapsed as a result. You need to put a price on a door or your devaluing the whole product. Even €5 would be enough.

I dont accept this. De-value the product of what? A large pub with a dance floor that opens late and a DJ playing which is a nightclub your still paying through the teeth for a pint in nightclubs its one or the other. Dannos charged 10quid and then overcharged for their poor quality pints. Their business went down and they decided to start letting in some underagers and few dodgy characters and this ruined it and now it only opens up on bank holiday sundays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Over 25s,oh jaysus,shouldnt be thinking out loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭klose

As said dannos had ridiculous potential but lies idle mostly, they won't even repair the name above it, to a passer by its d's nightclub:rolleyes:

I was under 18 before it had it's glory days and only get the chance to go there the nights it's open which is a shame because I always enjoy it ant it's a proper nightclub compared to o keefes which is borderline nightclub.

They pay for the drink liscense and the nightclub one but rarely opens?:confused:

Anyways it's potential is seen from when it opens, always packed, rarely trouble and whatever trouble there is the bouncers take care fairly lively even though they can be a tad 'trigger happy' at times. I mean they've 3 bars, 2 always open, only seen the upstairs one open once. An upstairs with a balcony which is cool to just chill around and look over although things are a little blue on the couches up there bit sure were all guilty of that haha. A VIP section, or what I believe to be, dunno what's in there though. A stage (if needed) bug dancefloor, proper dj booth, cool lights etc.. So yeah it's a great nightclub but I think it can regain it's former glory. Lately it's either a 5r in, 10r in but with a free drink with the receipt (Same as a 5r tbh) or a 10r straight in the big nights around Christmas which to be fair it's worth although it's as much as is plausible fir what ya get. They should try maybe open once a month or a nice but over the summer. Its open roughly 5 times over Christmas but hasn't been open since. Should be strict on I.d because underagers is what annoys the 23+ crowd from what I gather, so keeping the underagers out keeps the older ppl in and the 18-22 crowd flock there almost religiously when it opens so there's no real need to satisfy that age bracket. 5r in, I'd pay more for promo night like the one at haloween which was the best night I ever had out.

Should really try open more, at the start it mightent have the desired numbers but given time word will spread etc..

Muls itself is good, will always head there before dannos if it's open or before o keefes providing there's nothing good on in gleesons or ament haven cabs with friends before hand. Live a few games if pool aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭klose

^^^^^apolagies for dumb spellings in the post above, god iPod spellng suggestion is so annoying. Its easy tonsee what I meant anyways..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

I remember the nightclub at the Clonmel Arms !

http://www.facebook.com/mulcahysbar

It seems the club is opening again in April

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

hinault wrote: »
    I remember the nightclub at the Clonmel Arms !

I remember the nightclub in the Arms, I also remember the nightclub in Hearns, it was called Blazers (this was waaaaaayyyy before O'Keeffes)! There used to be murder there.

Barry's was good for a scrap as well and of course the disco in Minella, getting the bus over and walking miles to get home!!

Danno's in it's hey day was packed Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday night. What a spot it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Joey leBlanc

I went to college with a few Clonmel heads back in the 90's and frequented many a tavern & disco there. Very frequently. Always heard the Mel had a bad name but I personally never had any trouble there. Haven't been out there proper in almost 10yrs. Betcha things have changed? I passed thru the place a few yrs back late on a Saturday nite when driving down from Galway->Waterford -- place was like a ghost town. What's wrong with the young generation these days? Do they not socialise anymore? Back in the 90s, pre-Celtic Tiger 99% of people were regarded as poor but everyone went to the pub and had the craic? What ever happened???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

I went to college with a few Clonmel heads back in the 90's and frequented many a tavern & disco there. Very frequently. Always heard the Mel had a bad name but I personally never had any trouble there. Haven't been out there proper in almost 10yrs. Betcha things have changed? I passed thru the place a few yrs back late on a Saturday nite when driving down from Galway->Waterford -- place was like a ghost town. What's wrong with the young generation these days? Do they not socialise anymore? Back in the 90s, pre-Celtic Tiger 99% of people were regarded as poor but everyone went to the pub and had the craic? What ever happened???

Dont need to be a genius to figure out what happened. The same has happened Thurles. Last week I paid 5.25 for a can of red bull !!

Just looking at their facebook page. Fair play to whoever is running it...is keeping people up to date and answering questions honestly...

But you really have to laugh at some of these potential customers.
    if you pack the place out, you wont need a door change! and how to fill the place I hear you ask, stop letting in underagers and people will flock in!

Yeah right!

And the person that said that looks about 16...

Mulcahy's doing live music every Friday now.

No word yet on when Dannos is opening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Mulcahy's doing live music every Friday now.

No word yet on when Dannos is opening

Easter weekend I thought?