Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro indoors update

• 05-03-2011 11:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭

Kelly Proper jumped a seasons best with 6.45 but was 13cm from making the final.
    The big news is mary Cullen is out with a stomach bug.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

McBrearty was a bit all over the place there when he went to move ahead just before the bell on the 800m, just seemed to want to push everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

I disagree to a point.Was his first senior championships.
    He put himself in the right position in the race in 3rd and gave it a go.
    Maybe he went a little to early but he just didnt have the wheels in the last 250m.
    ps he wasn't pushing everyone,he was trying to hold his position which isn't easy running indoors.
    Have you ever ran indoors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

When is Mary Cullen's luck going to change?:(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I disagree to a point.Was his first senior championships.
    He put himself in the right position in the race in 3rd and gave it a go.
    Maybe he went a little to early but he just didnt have the wheels in the last 250m.
    ps he wasn't pushing everyone,he was trying to hold his position which isn't easy running indoors.
    Have you ever ran indoors?

I ran up the stairs earlier, but I don't expect that counts?

Not overly criticising him, but it did show that he was inexperienced at running in a pack around tight bends. I think his problems started when he kicked to get in front, but then immediately found he didn't quite have enough to have made that move and then started bumping people a bit.

Hate running in a pack myself, and will always try and take the long way round just to avoid getting tripped by other people cutting you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

I know what you are saying and agree,it was like his brain knew tha plan but his legs couldn't follow.
    Poor Mary is right but she will be back with a bang to win the great Ireland run in April and hopefully can have a cracking outdoor campaign.
    Euro Indoors was a good chance to pick up a medal but im sure she is disapointed but after a long time out is hungry now to run fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭TrackFan123

robinph wrote: »
    McBrearty was a bit all over the place there when he went to move ahead just before the bell on the 800m, just seemed to want to push everyone.

Showed some fight and bottle needed to take on some of the biggest snakes in the business (spanish, russian). It was refreshing to see he had a clear race plan in both his heat and semi as opposed to other middle distance athletes we have seen from here and Britain who think they have a kick - and just sit in - but are complete slugs when they get on the international stage.

Fair play to McBrearty and his coach. He wasn't afraid to mix it with the big names and ran to his strengths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Didn't see loads of Irish athletes at this.

Helen Clitheroe did well, winning gold in the 3000 metres at the grand old age of 37.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

G-Money wrote: »
    Helen Clitheroe did well, winning gold in the 3000 metres at the grand old age of 37.
    +1, her first major gold - unfunded as well now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Did Jerry Kieran hint that El Guerrouj may have been taken illegal substances?

YFlyer wrote: »
    Did Jerry Kieran hint that El Guerrouj may have been taken illegal substances?

He said he should've moved upto marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭sleapy235

He said he should've moved upto marathon

Haha, I suppose he wants Kelly Proper to move up to the triple jump, I mean its a natural progression! And maybe Michelle Carey to the steeplechase...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Tangle2

Regarding Jerry Kiernan, I think we need to take much of what he says with a pinch of salt . He likes to be a little sensational a la Dunphy. Quite frankly I am not a fan but there is some merit in what he says. Previous quotes on this forum ridicule Jerry for telling a 400m who could run just under 50 secs that he had the speed for the 800m. However, many of the 800m races at international level go through 400m in sub 52 secs - some of the grand prix races significantly quicker. 50 seconds will not always win the Intermediate Schools All Ireland title - it is a schoolboy time, not that of an international athlete. Jerry's context is high performance and that is important to bear in mind when evaluating his comments.
    Yes some of his arguements have significant shortcomings He is a little eager for people to move up in distance which doesn't always work either as we have seen first hand here in Ireland.

In some cases I can see a point, in others I can't

Saying Mark English, running world class (for his age) 800m times should move upto 1500m was ridiculous