Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking into Naas dealers...

• 04-03-2011 6:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭

I`m going to be getting a second hand car along with a trade in, my question is I`m in Kildare and I`ve seen a few cars that I`m interested in at SMC car sales and Right Price Cars, both are in Naas.
    I`ve dealt with SMC briefly before and left my details with them, but they never got back to me.
    Has anyone every dealt/bought with either company's?
    Any good or bad dealings or recommendations?

Cheers for any reply`s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kildarelad

SMC is Sean McCann car sales very good reputation around Naas well established and been where he is located for many years.As for the other garage i think teir relatively new to Naas anyway !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭lewis

Have you yourself dealt with SMC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kildarelad

Personally no but know people who have and were happy with him and he has a good rep.As for right price cars they opened up in Naas overnight ...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As with any second hand car purchase, always get it professionally checked out before parting with any m oney and make sure to get all documentation and get the warranty in writing.

See http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70994582

I was in looking around in Right Price and I just have that feeling like, I`m not sure if I`m at the right place, like I might get ripped off.
    The prices are good, a little to good, but times are still hard so they might be trying to do there best?
    Also the way there on Carzone I usually stay away from all the big signs and banners.

You can get ripped off in a franchised main dealer.
    Follow the common sense mentioned in the linked page and you should be better off regardless of where you go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭calf

Right price cars has two garage's in dublin a few hundred car between them; prices seem a bit on high side and high mileage

There was 2 that where 06 and they where around the 60,000 - 80,000km ish
    I have a 06 and its only 30 - 40 odd. I got that feeling like when your going to buy a new house and you just dont fell like its right, but funny I dont get that with SMC, but the missus does`nt seem to trust them....
    I want the new car to be a good deal, I`m struggling to get the money for it, so I dont want to get fecked over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

I'm not surprised by the new Right Price Cars location ... dead handy for Merlin, so will save them a fortune on transport costs. They buy and sell a lot of stock through Merlin auctions ... yer man practically lives there and I've seen him bidding up his own cars in the auction (which is not against the rules, but not exactly fair either).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

RIGHT PRICE CARS---The name says it all.I'd rather buy from Del Boy!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭calf

Are these ex-hire cars or ex-fleet cars

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

A family member bought a ford focus from RIGHT PRICE CARS not so long ago. According to him the car had huge mileage..

Firstly he bought a p307 (high mileage also) had nothing but trouble with it and they basically ignored him and just didnt wanna deal with him so he ended up having to settle for a ford focus, He even had trouble with the focus :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

calf wrote: »
    Are these ex-hire cars or ex-fleet cars

A lot of RPC's stock is ex car hire but not all. A lot of Donegal regs also.

Take a look at www.johnmargeycars.com, and read the "about us" and "location" pages, should explain a lot.

mickob16 wrote: »
    lifer_sean wrote: »
    I'm not surprised by the new Right Price Cars location ... dead handy for Merlin, so will save them a fortune on transport costs. They buy and sell a lot of stock through Merlin auctions ... yer man practically lives there and I've seen him bidding up his own cars in the auction (which is not against the rules, but not exactly fair either).

I was in there today, some of the sellers looked like something out of a Mafia movie, all in there long black heavy coats, it was`nt even cold out,lol
    The weird thing was 2 of the cars I was looking at had nearly identical problems...so you think I should leave them.
    After the few comments I`ve read I think I will, I see auction and I run, lol.
    Its a pity tough, everywhere else the prices are about €1,000 more.

Here`s some that I`m interested in, I`m going to test drive them today.
    I`ve been with Waters for a few years, they`ve been good.......
    I like the Toyota mainly because its a Toyota and there every where, same for parts, I think 04 and specs are not that bad??
    What do you think?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/vehicleCompare?channel=CARS&site=CARZONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

You could try Autoline Car Sales in Clane. Bought 2 cars off them before. One van had a few problems , which wasnt covered under warrenty but they fixed it anyway. Wasnt a big job but was done anyway. Other car had no problems. They always seem to have good stock there.

Had a look there man buts it a little bit over my price range, thanks any ways....

I ended up going to TP Waters and got the Altea.
    It was a good deal and good drive, bigger than I thought, I`m happy with my decision...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

mickob16 wrote: »

Have you any specific (verifiable) experience that you could share with any interested parties on this thread, or are you happy to just attack their reputation anonymously??

lewis wrote: »
    I ended up going to TP Waters and got the Altea.
    It was a good deal and good drive, bigger than I thought, I`m happy with my decision...

Fair play, wear well.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by mickob16

Have you any specific (verifiable) experience that you could share with any interested parties on this thread, or are you happy to just attack their reputation anonymously??

Is he not entitled to an opinion??
    Hmmm is there a post or 2 missing??

Is he not entitled to an opinion??

Am I not entitled to ask the basis of that opinion?

Hmmm is there a post or 2 missing??

I deleted a post that I felt was potentially libellous, and I deleted a post that quoted it.

If you've any issues with moderation, please PM the mod rather than questioning it on thread as per the Charter.

Just because you think its libellous does`nt make it true.
    Everyone`s opinion should be seen and heard, it could also help with some one who is unsure about something, like with me I had my doubts about,RIGHT PRICE CARS, the minute I went in there nobody came up to me or even had a glance to see if I wanted to talk business, this is 20 minutes of me hanging around and being inside a car. Then I go outside past them and spend another 20 or minutes looking at 2 similar cars, so if that`s not a hint that, hey maybe this dude wants to buy THAT type of car, it was`nt until I was walking out of the place I was asked if I`m alright, to late by then.

If anything it could help people just be on there guard, is`nt that what forums are all about, freedom of speech..any ways

Lovely talking with you...

Everyone`s opinion should be seen and heard, ... freedom of speech..any ways

There is no such thing as freedom of speech because what you say can have consequences especially when they could be percieved as being libellous.
    End of story.

Nope, but if I think it's potentially libellous I need to act on it. I wouldn't be fulfilling my role as a mod if I didn't.
    Certainly if a one-post-wonder posts something like what I had to delete, I feel I'm very correct in my actions.

Everyone`s opinion should be seen and heard

Yes, we try and keep conversation flowing, but this is a privately owned website that has legal responsibilities towards the people and business who are discussed here. Just because you can participate here for free doesn't mean you're allowed to get boards.ie sued.

it could also help with some one who is unsure about something, like with me I had my doubts about,RIGHT PRICE CARS, the minute I went in there nobody came up to me or even had a glance to see if I wanted to talk business, this is 20 minutes of me hanging around and being inside a car. Then I go outside past them and spend another 20 or minutes looking at 2 similar cars, so if that`s not a hint that, hey maybe this dude wants to buy THAT type of car, it was`nt until I was walking out of the place I was asked if I`m alright, to late by then.

What you describe above is crappy service, and IMHO not libellous. Therefore I won't delete it.
    Your post is not in the same vein as the post I deleted, and you well know it because you replied to it, quoting it.

If anything it could help people just be on there guard, is`nt that what forums are all about, freedom of speech..any ways

As above, no. If your actions cause a legal exposure for boards.ie, your free speech is curtailed.

Ditto, I guess.

I've taken the time to respond to all your concerns so that you can see the logic rather than being concerned that there's some kind of cover up or whatever.
    I'll remind you (again) that questioning moderator actions/requests on-thread is against the Charter. If you continue to do so you will receive a ban.

Edit: kbannon beat me to it with a more succinct answer, but I feel my points still stand.

To each there own, dudes..
    I`m not here to fight with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

RPC are moving to naas if not already.

Wife bought a car off them 2 years ago and hasn't had an issue with it (touch wood)