Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone doing Run-a-Muck?

• 04-03-2011 9:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭

Just wondering if anyone is doing runamuck tomorrow? Also if any previous participants would like to impart any advice that'd be great.
    I'm in a place between excitement and trepidation.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Adventurer10

Did it last year, absolutly great craic!! My tip: I wore moulded stud football boots and found they were great to get grip climBing out of some of teh obstacles:) Unfortunalty I can't make it this year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭theT

Signed up for this as soon as I sen it.....cant wait, its going to be epic:D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Did it the first year, was some crack and we were destroyed with muck (waah waah).

Great buzz at it and a might event for good cause.

I can't make it this year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

Rinker wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone is doing runamuck tomorrow? Also if any previous participants would like to impart any advice that'd be great.
    I'm in a place between excitement and trepidation.:confused:

Have a look at the photos from the last one, that should set ur mind at ease:D

http://www.actionphotography.ie/events-RAM-102010.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

did the one in the autumn...right craic..... i went off in the last wave (for 2 lappers) which in hindsight wasn't a good idea as we ran into a big backlog at the very first net obstacle........ apart from that though it's good fun in a masochistic sort of way....i'd go off in the first wave if i was to do it again though - can't do it tomo as racing elsewhere....enjoy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Fi H

tips would definitely be to wear football boots and also shorts! i foolishly wore tracksuit bottoms that when they got wet and mucky stretched and got caught under my feet! also i dont know if you have long hair but i wore a hat which helped avoid some major disaster :)

bring plastic sacks for your gear afterwards and something to stand on when changing as it will be cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Rinker

Thanks for the tips guys. can't wait now:D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭theT

Anyone seen any results or pics up for this yet?

No sign of anything yet. I never looked to see my time when crossing the line so I'm keenly awaiting results. I'm equally interested i seeing the photos. loved every minute of it. hadn't factored in the extra effort of running in costume or the extra support you get for doing so.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dited

Provisional results are up now on runamuck website. Dunno how accurate they are, they got mine wrong anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

These results seem accurate enough- but where is the list of overall winning teams?

http://www.runamuckchallenge.com/userfiles/March2011ProvisionalResults2LapSoloandTeams.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 AllTheWay

<snip, advertising. Alltheway, you got a weeks ban last year for shilling your event (unrelated to RunaMuck), consider yourself perma-banned for doing the same again.>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

ElectraX wrote: »
    These results seem accurate enough- but where is the list of overall winning teams?

http://www.runamuckchallenge.com/userfiles/March2011ProvisionalResults2LapSoloandTeams.pdf

Results are provisional at this stage as there were several folks that seem to have started in different waves, stopped after 1 lap when entered for 2, tags lost, etc
    John from Red Tag has the unenviable task of sorting out any queries we get by review of the finish line camera.

Team results are based on when the first team of 3 crosses the line so just checkout where the 3 placed finisher comes in.
    Idea is that teams that run together and work together should do better than those that just do their own thing.
    The winning Latvian lads on VSK Noskrien were well clear in the two lap race ahead of Ding Dong and Mud Studs. Croghan Crushers were the winners of the 1 lap event ahead of Polish Run Team (Elite)and DM Bootcamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dited

dited wrote: »
    Provisional results are up now on runamuck website. Dunno how accurate they are, they got mine wrong anyway!

Fair play to organisers, they got in touch with me after seeing my post; just got a reply from John at redtagtiming who explained why my posted result was as shown and promised to amend in updated results.

Very prompt and professional IMO:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭hoganpoly

First lot of photos can be viewed here http://adrianhoganphoto.smugmug.com/
    :) more to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 forrest5000

Hi All,
    I've just uploaded about 3000 shots from Saturday and will now start looking through the shots for the second camera. I'll post them on the same page this evening.
    http://www.actionphotography.ie/events-RAM-032011.html

John

Great photos lads. It makes it all the more enjoyable doing events when you have the pics to look back at and show friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 forrest5000

Thanks for the kind words and I've just made an other three galleries available on the site( same link).
    These were taken by my apprentice Mags who managed to take a few photos and not get covered in mud, maybe next year!:):)
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Stillweak