Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If granny minds the kids for free you should be paying BIK

• 03-03-2011 8:27pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭

I had to buy a house 40 miles away from where I grew up & work cause I couldn't afford the house prices.
    The price of fuel has gone through the roof & is only getting worse.
    Plus the expense of childcare on top of rising mortgage interest rates.

I've friends that were able to build on free sites next to their parents.
    They now get the extra whammy of free childcare from nanny.

These are the "nouveau riche" who can take advantage of low fuel consumption & free childcare .
    The government should target this fortunate group for high levels of BIK.

I'm sure you all agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I don't know what a tracker mortgage BIK is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Benefit in kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Nolanger wrote: »
    Benefit in kind.

That's not a benefit in kind though.

Like, Nanny isn't employing Mammy and Daddy and giving them something as a benefit instead of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I had to buy a house 15000 miles from my parents. Cry me a river.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

That's a ridiculous idea. You would just encourage women to stay out of the work place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

wah wah wah bag'o'chips on yer shoulder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Consider the benefit of not living near your inlaws before you complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

They should get a carers allowance for sure and not let themselves be taken advantage of or feel blackmailed that they'll get thrown in a home otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭delricyo

BIK refers to benefits received from your employer

Nuf said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Surley wrote: »
    That's a ridiculous idea. You would just encourage women to stay out of the work place
    Our Constitution does that already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Surley wrote: »

Good idea, free up all the low paying jobs for yourself to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Does anyone really aspire to live next door to their parents? I certainly don't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I aspire to living next door to your parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

me nether, i am at least aiming for across the road! :cool:

I aspire to living next door to your parents.

You should, they're lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Three of my cousins all built houses on land owned by their parents. They all have young families now. I don't see the problem tbh. I wouldn't say that it's what they aspired to, but aspirations can go beyond moving to a different area than your parents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

Maybe the government should target those people who wife gets redundancy then plans to apply for job seekers allowance (although in truth not planning to return to work so not actually seeking work). With the added bonus saving on the cost of full child care and petrol for the 2nd car.

I'm sure you all agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I had to buy a house 40 miles away from where I grew up & work cause I couldn't afford the house prices.

You didn't have to buy a house, could have rented a shoe box till prices came down. Fuel prices are mostly the government's fault.

Again, a hole you dug yourself into ;);)

Good for them. They have obviously done things more sensibly and efficiently than you have. Granny doesn't have to provide the free childcare if she doesn't want to
    These are the "nouveau riche" who can take advantage of low fuel consumption & free childcare .

Or the nouveau 'struggling by with a tenner for a weeks tinned food from lidl'. Strange that you wish high tax on people you call your friends. Maybe if you treated them a bit better they wouldn't mind giving you the odd day of free childcare.

The whole thing smells of "i got myself in a bad situation now everyone else needs to be put in one too, by the force of law!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It would be a tax on people born out of a more lucrative hole.

Three of my cousins all built houses on land owned by their parents. They all have young families now. I don't see the problem tbh. I wouldn't say that it's what they aspired to, but aspirations can go beyond moving to a different area than your parents!

I'd personally hate to think my entire live revolved around one little area of this gigantic planet, but to each their own I guess :D

I bet if your parents offered you some land to build on you'd consider though, wouldn't ya?

Sell out :P

I bet if your parents offered you some land to build on you'd consider though, wouldn't ya?

Sell out :P

I'd construct the worlds biggest catapult to get me the fúck out of here

Now, that would be pretty cool.

Got any land lying around? I'll let you YouTube it, for free*

*May include a catastrophic appearance fee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'm sure you all agree.

Sounds to me like you want to tax families that are close.

Grandparents are important to children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Why would I pay some person called BIK if my granny is minding the kids for free.

And BIK is a stupid name for a childminder anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You could work it like the airport tax

5 euro every time a grandkid passes through the grannies house.

We'll call it a Granny Tax

OP, get a feckin life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    Maybe the government should target those people who wife gets redundancy then plans to apply for job seekers allowance (although in truth not planning to return to work so not actually seeking work). With the added bonus saving on the cost of full child care and petrol for the 2nd car.

Couldnt Husbands who get redundancy do this just as easily and shouldnt they be "targetted" too ?

To say nothing of Childless/childfree cohabitees using diesel powered public transport

Paulzx wrote: »
    We'll call it a Granny Tax

Grannies already pay this at Christmas and birthdays

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

2 stroke wrote: »
    Consider the benefit of not living near your inlaws before you complain.

I wouldn't mind, the mother-in-law is still kind of hot;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Taceom

[QUOTE
    I'm sure you all agree.[/QUOTE]

I don't! In fact I think there's a hint of the green eyed monster and begrudgery around you!

Taceom wrote: »
    I don't! In fact I think there's a hint of the green eyed monster and begrudgery around you!

Don't bring Swamp Thing into this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

jobyrne30 wrote: »

I'm sure you all agree

Gone fishin'..... exaggeration may have been used for dramatic effect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

And what exactly is wrong with that? Are you jealous they werent stupid enough to saddle themselves with a huge mortgage. hate to break it to you but you could have rented a house locally instead of relocating to get a mortgage.
    first off im a mother. and when my child has her own children i hope im in a position to offer her free childcare. cos there be nothing nicer than helping my daughter and seeing my grandchildren. also like to add i have to pay for childcare as i had to move to the other side of the country for work . i have no family back up. but i certainly am not jealous of people who have free childcare or a free site either. fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

I'm sure you all agree.

congratulations , you have won irish begrudger of the day award . take a bow !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

This is shocking! Someone put a gun to your head and forced you to buy a house 40 miles away?

Did you call the guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

WindSock wrote: »
    Good idea, free up all the low paying jobs for yourself to do.

Nah, I'll leave the "low paying" jobs for yourself. You'd be best suited to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

danbohan wrote: »
    congratulations , you have won irish begrudger of the day award . take a bow !

That takes skill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Never mind BIK
    has this thread been reported yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I can think of many more ridiculous taxes that we put up with. Just glad the greens haven't had a chance to pass legislation on this one. Commuting cost + childcare is nothing new in any society. The fact that the government chose to ignore it is frustrating.

I wouldn't want to add extra taxes to people fortunate enough to have relatives minding their children. But I would expect a real-world taxation system to acknowledge those who don't.