Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lough Dan camping

• 03-03-2011 7:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Anyone know what the camping regulations are at Lough Dan?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The Scout site is for scouts only and is staffed every weekend.
    www.loughdan.com for details

You can free camp up the top of the lake around the famine village but be discreet about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 hama33

Great, thanks for the info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

so are you saying they will not let you pitch your 1 man tent in a corner of the site.this is sad news if that's the case. only in ireland.
    this kind of attitude really cracks me up .last year in france the owners went out of there way to make sure we got a pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

so are you saying they will not let you pitch your 1 man tent in a corner of the site.this is sad news if that's the case. only in ireland.
    this kind of attitude really cracks me up .last year in france the owners went out of there way to make sure we got a pitch.

I'm sure if you enquire in advance and pay the measly 3 or so quid they probably wouldn't have any problems, but there's been an epic 12+ year fight with SAI & SI, builders, locals and everyone else to drag the site back into regular, revenue generating use and given the huge amount of work put in by dozens and dozens of people (me included) over the years the current warden team may not want to risk anything to ruin it all.

Plenty of issues over the years with trespassers and people down to go drinking and cause trouble, but a single hiker looking to pitch a tent should be ok. (Unless there are insurance issues, which tend to ruin so much these days)

The owners of France went out of their way to help you? :P

well i sure hope you would oblige a tired hiker or in my case cycle tourist a friendly pitch for the night no matter what the price.
    if ever i get to that part of the country i'll make sure to inquire ,
    thanks for the info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

well i sure hope you would oblige a tired hiker or in my case cycle tourist a friendly pitch for the night no matter what the price.
    if ever i get to that part of the country i'll make sure to inquire ,
    thanks for the info.

Why would they? It's private land. You sound like you've a bit of an entitlement complex here.

Donny5 wrote: »
    Why would they? It's private land. You sound like you've a bit of an entitlement complex here.
    what complex are you talking about.private land or not it's a camp site is it not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

what complex are you talking about.private land or not it's a camp site is it not.

No, it's a scout centre.

yeah i do know that im not entirely stupid .but i can't imagine the scouts are anti social that they would turn away a hiker or cycle tourer from there CAMP site just because it's private land .
    anyway you will no doubt argue this point all day, on the other hand I'm off out on my bike .so have a nice day donny5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

yeah i do know that im not entirely stupid .but i can't imagine the scouts are anti social that they would turn away a hiker or cycle tourer from there CAMP site just because it's private land
    What a ridiculous assertion. The hint is in the word "private".

I've decided I'm going to come live in your house, just because it's private doesn't mean I shouldn't be allowed stay in a HOUSE.

but you don't know where i live besides i would welcome you into my humble abode if you were tired and hungry and no where to go.
    thats the kind of guy i am believe it or not.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Wonders of Political Correctness, Child Protection and Insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Road Bandit

Agree with maglite, scout centres have duty of care & responsibilities to minors and their parents. Why would anyone not involved with the scouts want to camp there? Camp wild near the Wicklow Way if it means that much. or there is a camp-site in Roundwood not too far away, why go uninvited to any camp-site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Agree with maglite, scout centres have duty of care & responsibilities to minors and their parents. Why would anyone not involved with the scouts want to camp there? Camp wild near the Wicklow Way if it means that much. or there is a camp-site in Roundwood not too far away, why go uninvited to any camp-site.
    Thats the long and the short of it.Scout leaders have to go through stringent checks, garda vetting, code of ethics courses etc and some people think they should be able to just walk off the mountains and into that enviroment?