Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

srixon z-star

• 03-03-2011 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭

who out there plays these and how do they compare to other premium balls.i play the trusty pro v but these can be got at good price and just wondering how they play.lots of good reviews out there.have played penta also and found them to be good,the price of the z-star has peaked my interest.

do ye think maybe all these premium balls pretty much play the same anyway:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I use them but not during winter months, I use the Srixon AD333 during the winter, which has also been discussed here as being a fine ball for the price especially during cold soft conditions. I find the Z-star more durable than the Pro-V and cheaper too. It's also as soft as the Pro-V and checks around the green equally as good as the Pro-V. However I am thinking of changing full time to The Srixon AD333 as the value, durability and quality is excellent and half the price of the Z-Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭pinseeker

cheers loft,if they more durable than pro v but play the same then that alone is a good reason for me to try.there only £20 pound online so alot cheaper than pro v.

It has to be said that other golfers on here have tried them and say the cut equally as bad as the ProV!
    But yes I would recommend buying them and at least trying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

will any of the golf product development companies ever design a golf ball that is indestructible?
    today i was at the range and at least 2 balls shattered to pieces as i launched them down the range - most frustrating.

Also, seen as one can now adjust their club to suit swing, course, weather conditions etc, surely golf balls should follow suit?
    i think we will enter this phase before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

conno16 wrote: »
    will any of the golf product development companies ever design a golf ball that is indestructible?
    today i was at the range and at least 2 balls shattered to pieces as i launched them down the range - most frustrating.

Also, seen as one can now adjust their club to suit swing, course, weather conditions etc, surely golf balls should follow suit?
    i think we will enter this phase before long.

Thats your massive club head speed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭TheGrump

+1 on the AD333, I use them all the time and think they are excellent, although I play off 18 so take my opinion as you will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

been meaning to try a dozen of these out....just wondering how soft they actually are tho if they are more durable...i myself long time pro v n before balata/professional user...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

been meaning to try a dozen of these out....just wondering how soft they actually are tho if they are more durable...
    i was singing the praises of these balls on another thread a while back...i find they are every bit as soft as the pro V...really recommend them...there is a new Zstar just launched,havnt got my hands on them yet so cant comment on them, but the original Zstar is really worth trying out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭pinseeker

i was singing the praises of these balls on another thread a while back...i find they are every bit as soft as the pro V...really recommend them...there is a new Zstar just launched,havnt got my hands on them yet so cant comment on them, but the original Zstar is really worth trying out

would be hoping they're every bit as soft as pro v since its srixons premium ball.the price drop with arrival of there new ball is def making them worth a try.just off phone with friend who im playing with in morn and he has just got 2dozen for 50 euro,il take a box off him and will let ye know how they go tomorrow.thanks for feedback chalkie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

pinseeker wrote: »

would be hoping they're every bit as soft as pro v since its srixons premium ball.the price drop with arrival of there new ball is def making them worth a try.just off phone with friend who im playing with in morn and he has just got 2dozen for 50 euro,il take a box off him and will let ye know how they go tomorrow.thanks for feedback chalkie

I played a sleeve of the z-star last summer with a club pro and after about 10 holes I was back to the pro v1. It didn't feel the same off the club and for me it didn't stop as well as the pro-v1. Off the tight fairway it was fine, but then again you could get a pinnacle to check off those. It's out of semi rough etc that I though the ball was not up to pro v1.
    I guess I've been playing the same ball for years so I'm stuck in a rut.
    Actually, this hasn't been much good to you at all.

Yours in being no help,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I play with Z-Stars almost exclusively now. It was only the end of last season and start of this season.... So far I'm very happy. They're a fantastic golf ball.

Quick rundown....

Off the tee
    The Z-Star feels much better off the tee than the Pro-V. I honestly don't know why that is. I've used Pro-Vs a lot over the last two years and while I love them from 100y and in, I was never a big fan off the tee. Always felt I wasn't getting the most out of a good drive, and if I hit a bad drive the spin would exacerbate the slice/hook.

Z-Star feels more controllable and solid. Doesn't seem to spin as much as the Pro V1.

Pitching
    Very similar feel to the Pro-V in this regard. It's been mentioned above that the ball is more durable, and it certainly is. One shot with one of my Wedges and a Pro V has cracks and rips on it. The Srixon lasts a bit longer.... not much mind you :)

I'm not sure about the spin you get on the green. I'm not one for back spin... bounce and stop is what I'm looking for, and the zstar can manage that very easily. I'm not sure exactly how it compares to the Pro V standards, but it's plenty good enough for me.

Around the green
    At the moment, I still prefer the feel of the Pro V for short pitches and chips. The Z-Star is plenty soft enough..... it just doesnt quite feel as good.

But in saying that.... I haven't given the Z-Star enough practice in the area yet and perhaps it's just that the feel of the pro v1 is ingrained...might take a while to adjust. I'll report back at a later date...

Putting
    Haven't noticed any difference in that regard. The Z-Star holds up vs the Pro V well. It feels soft and controlled off the putter.

Conclusion
    Basically, yes.... the Z-Star is an excellent golf ball. It's easily a competitor against the Pro V1. It's not the exact same ball, but there wouldn't be much point to it if it was.

I'm going to play with the Z-Star for the entire season and see how I feel after that.

/End elaborate and pretty useless review of Z-Star golf ball :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    However I am thinking of changing full time to The Srixon AD333 as the value, durability and quality is excellent and half the price of the Z-Star.

I have done so, and pretty much never looked back.

I spin it a bit too much with everything from driver to wedge, and the reduced spin plays a blinder for me, especially when the wind is up. Durability is deadly too.

I will probably use softer pro Vs a few times, maybe somewhere like Clontarf in August or similar, but rarely will need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

The Srixon Soft Feel balls are pretty solid aswell.

Used to be playing any old thing, but was recommended the Srixon and bought the Soft Feel and the AD333. Tried the Soft Feel out last monday and was delighted with the results, a good bit of holding and they didn't scuff up too badly. Going to try the AD333 tomorrow.

You can get 2 dozen for €30 in american golf at the moment aswell.

I have done so, and pretty much never looked back.

I spin it a bit too much with everything from driver to wedge, and the reduced spin plays a blinder for me, especially when the wind is up. Durability is deadly too.

I will probably use softer pro Vs a few times, maybe somewhere like Clontarf in August or similar, but rarely will need to.

You did a write up / post on these AD333 before and it was that post that prompted me to try them, like you I have never looked back.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I tried the AD333 and I thought they were 'almost' good enough :)
    I certainly liked the durability and they were very cheap from onlinegolf.co.uk
    Very good in the softer conditions but where I missed my 'soft' ball was on the approach shots, pitches and bunker shots. You can adapt your game once you know that the ball will release but I went back to my TM Penta because it was easier to change the ball than the golfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Licksy wrote: »
    I tried the AD333 and I thought they were 'almost' good enough :)
    I certainly liked the durability and they were very cheap from onlinegolf.co.uk
    Very good in the softer conditions but where I missed my 'soft' ball was on the approach shots, pitches and bunker shots. You can adapt your game once you know that the ball will release but I went back to my TM Penta because it was easier to change the ball than the golfer.

Yeah, there's no getting around the fact that the AD333 is harder and won't bite like the Penta or ProV etc. So it's a personal decision, if you're happy to land it shorter, or not.

It's hard to be sure, but I do reckon the reduced spin helps me hit it straighter. As I said, I spin it a lot, so cuts or turn-overs with the driver seem to move less in the air since the change, ie: less side-spin. I hit 11/14 fairways last weekend (12 drivers), with similar stats at end of last year and start of this, so that's an improvement for me.

All the while though, you do wonder exactly how much difference the ball is responsible for, but feck it, whatever it is is working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

Just back from nevada bobs in ballincollig...they are selling Zstars 50eu for 2 dozen...same price as mcguirks i know but for anyone living down this side of the country....great deals in there at the moment:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Ya was in there last week, some good deals in there alright. 2 dozen z-star for €50 is great value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

check out rockbottomgolf.com for these....see they have 3doz for $75 which is roughly 53euro when i checked this mornin!!!! tho postage will bea hit....but buy loads stuff n doesnt feel so bad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Customs could hit that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Got a few z stars as freebies today in a new golf shop in Limerick. Haven't used them yet but I am keen to get someone's opinion on them. Anybody tried switching to them lately and if so how did they stack up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Some feckers screwed me on ebay last night on two packs of the tour yellow Z-Stars. Who bids with 2 seconds to go :rolleyes:

Theirs very little between V1's Z-Stars and Penta's these days. Z-Stars excel off the tee. V1's around the green and Penta's have a bit of both. that technically makes the Penta's better but it's all the same really. It's the best of the best with these balls so personal preference really come into play. I prefer the cheapest one's that hold up longer Z-Stars. But if I was flush Penta's all the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Aesop

dines08 wrote: »
    a new golf shop in Limerick.
    Where is the new golf shop in Limerick?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I usually use pentas but ordered some Z stars from McGuirks, 2 boxes of them for €50
    Shortly after I ordered them I got a call to say they were out of stock but they would send me the new 2011 versions for the same price as it was their mistake... nice touch.

Unfortunately I'm out of action with a dodgy back so haven't been able to try them yet but they are poised in the boot of the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Aesop wrote: »
    Where is the new golf shop in Limerick?

The Golf Experience Store on Henry Street. Just up from Dunnes on Howleys Quay. Think it used to be a Centra before. Friend of mine from a golf society who opened it. Eoin O Sullivan is his name, lovely guy and hope all goes well. Only opened yesterday so still gettin things up and running. Simulator isn't up and running yet. Stocking Mizunos and Taylormade for custom fitting. Give it a week or two and it'll definitely be worth a visit.