Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fog! Slow the FFF down

• 03-03-2011 10:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭

Seriously, slow down. To whatever is necessary. Fog is like driving in the dark when no-one has lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Yep.. portions of the M7 are closed..

*MAIN TRAFFIC* *M7/LAOIS* The M7 Dublin/Limerick Rd southbound remains closed between J16 & J17 at Portlaoise. Two crashed trucks are in the process of being cleared and the council are clearing debris and fuel from the route. There are still a number of other crashed vehicles to be removed from the motorway. There are long delays from J15 Ballybrittas southbound as traffic queues to exit at J16 and divert through Portlaoise town. Gardai are on point duty throughout the area but traffic is moving slowly. Dense fog remains a problem throughout the midlands, educe speed significantly and use your fog lights. The northbound lanes will be closed for 15minutes at approx 11am to remove a 3rd truck which crashed in the central median.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

Just been on today fm news that dublin limerick road is closed in parts due to numerous crashes because of fog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Every fooking year the same thing. How will we ever learn? Do we have to be killed or injured to cop on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

The amount Iof people on the M8 this morning with no lights on was scary. This was at 630-730 too which makes it even more bizarre. Then just before the Cahir turn off there was a JCB in the inside lane. The truck in front of me very nearly jack knifed trying to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

How will we ever learn?

We should have been thought in the first place.

Here we seem to go from people using their fog lights constantly to others having no fog lights on and not driving appropriately in pea soup fog, and the main reason I suggest is that we were never thought properly and common sense seems to be in short supply when it comes to Irish motoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

On the M4 at 7.00 this morning I would estimate that 85% of cars had no rear fogs on and visibility was approx 50 metres. The weird thing was that about half of the cars I passed (with due care) with no rear fogs on had their front fogs on, although they probably drive with those lit 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,645 ✭✭✭cml387

Most cars these days are fitted with advanced radar that allow them to"see" ahead into the fog.

At least so I assume from the driving I saw this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Couldn't believe it when coming from Roscrea to Newbridge this morning. I stayed at 60 mph on the motorway as fog was so bad but I'd say 99% of traffic flew past me.

I thought after the pile up at the M7/M9 junction a few years ago in fog that people would learn but then I came on the pile up at the old Cork/Midway Hotel junction. A truck had actually jumped the centre barrier and cars and another truck all over the road going southbound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

Yep, most drivers "use the force" while driving at speed in the fog.

If and when there is an accident, they'll probably complain to Joe Duffy

that there were no road signs warning them to slow down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Who are you telling ?
    Everyone here drives at an appropriate speed and uses their fog lights only when necessary :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Couldn't believe it when coming from Roscrea to Newbridge this morning. I stayed at 60 mph on the motorway as fog was so bad but I'd say 99% of traffic flew past me.

I thought after the pile up at the M7/M9 junction a few years ago in fog that people would learn but then I came on the pile up at the old Cork/Midway Hotel junction. A truck had actually jumped the centre barrier and cars and another truck all over the road going southbound.
    Even that was still too fast, if the other poster's account is accurate, that the visibility was 50 metres. People drive far too quickly in fog by a long way, regardless of what lights they may or may not have on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Antiquo

Unfortunately plenty of idiots think the people going slow in adverse weather conditions are a nuisance and should get off the road.

Numpty passed me this morning on the M1 at about 06:30 white civic, dustbin exhaust, only using side lights (and the off side rear is not working either buddy) doing at least 90mph. I could see about 50 to 75 yards in places he could obviously see the Dublin Mountains.

Same muppet probably drives around at night with his fog lights on blinding everyone cause he thinks it looks cool.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

People are morons when they drive. Ive often seen it in fog or extremely heavy rain. Visibility is down to practically zero and people keep driving they way they had been. Was worse before when I dropped my speed down to 40kmh when there was crazy rain and couldnt see anything in front. Next minute, a car had stopped in the driving lane of the m7 due to the weather. Nearly had heart failure. Then 30 seconds later, same issue, but someone was stopped in the hard shoulder. Pulled out at me, just as I was at the rear of their car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭Seasoft

Sadly, the people reading this forum and thread have, in the main, enough interest in motoring to know how to use lights properly and when.
    NRA or RSA need to educate the others about appropriate driving in adverse weather conditions. After todays pile-up, following on others, there is no excuse for not having a TV campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Seasoft wrote: »
    After todays pile-up

Near Portlaoise today:

Two trucks were involved in a collision shortly after 8am with up to 20 cars then involved in subsequent collisions.

One of the lorry drivers had to be cut from his vehicle and is being treated at Portlaoise Hospital for minor injuries.

At least three others received medical attention at the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

You're wasting your time folks. The drivers of this country don't care how they drive as long as they get from A to B in the least time. I saw a driving instructor yesterday on the N4 with a student sitting in the middle lane with cars pouring passed in both lanes. I have seen Garda traffic corp vehicles ignoring dangerous driving. You just have to read topics and posts on this forum to see how clueless most drivers are and in fact how ignorant of driving laws they are.

Speeding sure any old speed above the limit is grand, if I get caught I will just rant on about shooting fish in a barrel rather than stop being that fish. Or the age old, speed doesn't kill excuse its the impact or the steering wheel through your head that does it rather than doing 120km/h around a bend in the wet that can only handle a car at max 80km/h in the dry.

Look at the recent polls on roundabouts and high beams on motorways people who's misconstrued attitude they try and justify even after getting a solid definitive answer based on CURRENT law.

Well if driving instructors and Gardai don't care any more then I'm not surprised people drive like its a 3rd world country where anything goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Its worse on the old roads. Was driving on the old N7 just before you come to Moneygall from the Roscrea side once and the fog was so bad, I could only see two or three metres in front of me, when this ape "using the force" came up behind me, overtook me at speed and continued until I couldnt see him anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Anyone know what happened on the M7 as in seen the crash??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Passed approx 10 cyclists travelling north on the N2 this morning at 1000, not one had lights, fog really bad.

Safety in numbers, yeah right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Mc Love wrote: »
    Its worse on the old roads. Was driving on the old N7 just before you come to Moneygall from the Roscrea side once and the fog was so bad, I could only see two or three metres in front of me, when this ape "using the force" came up behind me, overtook me at speed and continued until I couldnt see him anymore

You shouldn't have been driving if the fog was as bad as you claimed. Basically you said you took your car out and couldn't see your front bumper it was that bad. Was that responsible driving on your behalf ? Maybe you mean 20-30 meters ! Its very rare if ever that the visibility gets that bad. The lowest recorded Met visibility I have ever seen in 11 years is 100 meters and that was digitally recorded by Met Eireann.

Anyway to your point. Yes it was extremely stupid driving on the other drivers behalf. I never overtake if the visibility is less than several hundred meters at least, taking into consideration the number of people who drive with blown bulbs and lights off in the morning. Its just not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Fog all the way between Athlone and Athenry on the M6 today, everyone had their lights on (for once), and I only saw one guy without his foglights.

Still plenty of drivers using the force at 140 down the overtaking lane. Another big accident is likely today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Any who drives without lights on in this weather should be dragged from their cars and shot, I saw at least a dozen people on my way to work driving like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

MajorMax wrote: »
    On the M4 at 7.00 this morning I would estimate that 85% of cars had no rear fogs on and visibility was approx 50 metres. The weird thing was that about half of the cars I passed (with due care) with no rear fogs on had their front fogs on, although they probably drive with those lit 24/7

so whay your saying is that in the bad fog, you were overtakening traffic on a motorway, which was probably moving at or near the speed limit. Gee shoot yourself in the foot. :D

Had you have come up behind me, you may not have seen my rear fogs on, as I would have turned them off once I noticed a car behind me. And turned them back on once you passed.