Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of buying the old ipad?

• 03-03-2011 1:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭

Prices for iPad 1 have just been updated on the store with the 16GB Wi-Fi going for only €379.

They've only just updated these so refurb prices are actually still higher! :D So don't get caught out paying over the odds for a refurb or second-hand iPad 1 if you fancy getting one and don't need the extra features of the new version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Refurb prices now 10% off, so they start at €339

http://store.apple.com/ie/browse/home/specialdeals/ipad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭wilfitz

I'll buy a second hand one but the prices may come down. some people are unrealistic in what they are looking for there second hand ipads!!

wilfitz wrote: »
    some people are unrealistic in what they are looking for there second hand ipads!!
    IMO, they're not.

The iPad 1G only been out about 6 months, and they can do everything the iPad 2G can bar video calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭oshead

Bluehair wrote: »
    Prices for iPad 1 have just been updated on the store with the 16GB Wi-Fi going for only €379.

That's only €120 cheaper than the iPad 2. For the extras you get, ie 2 cameras, thinner, lighter, dual processor and 9x faster graphics. And there's more, so I think i'll have to wait the three or four weeks and get the new one.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Basq wrote: »
    IMO, they're not.

The iPad 1G only been out about 6 months, and they can do everything the iPad 2G can bar video calls.

I think he's talking €400 for a s/h 16GB WiFi when they are now €379 brand new?

whiterebel wrote: »
    I think he's talking €400 for a s/h 16GB WiFi when they are now €379 brand new?
    But that's a clearance price.

Think about it this way - if I bought a TV at €600 and 6 months later, the TV was reduced to half price.

If I sold it on at the same time, would I be expected to conform to selling it at half price or below?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭Glebee

Really tempted to buy 16GB wifi refurbished model..
    Am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Think about it this way - if I bought a TV at €600 and 6 months later, the TV was reduced to half price.

If I sold it on at the same time, would I be expected to conform to selling it at half price or below?

Would you expect to sell it if you didn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

You would be expected to conform, or else wait until the clearance was over, especially if the clearance price was available online (i.e. you didn't have to go to a specific shop in a specific area to avail of it). Anyone who pays as much, or more, for a second hand one when brand new ones are available at those prices from the Apple store is an idiot. Buy the new one, or pay less for a second hand one. If/when the clearance stock runs out, then second hand prices can increase a bit.

Johnmb wrote: »
    You would be expected to conform, or else wait until the clearance was over, especially if the clearance price was available online (i.e. you didn't have to go to a specific shop in a specific area to avail of it).
    Fair enough.

But if you were in that situation, I don't know if you'd be too quick to take that stance on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

Fair enough.

But if you were in that situation, I don't know if you'd be too quick to take that stance on it.
    If I had an iPad 1 to sell, I'd wait until Apple had cleared its stock before selling it if I wanted to get the most money for it. I'd only sell now if I wanted a quick sale, and quick sales usually involve heavy discounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭dloob

So I could buy a new TV with warranty for 300 or your used TV for say 500.
    Yeah pretty easy choice there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Has it been confirmed that Apple will not continue to sell the ipad 1 in parralel to the new model ?

It would make sense to grab some of the budget table market. €379 is going to tempt a lot of people who would not have considered a tablet before. That puts it at netbook pricing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Fair enough.

In fairness there was good speculation that the iPad 2 was on the way and the price, like all Apple products, would come in at the same. Buyer beware. Its unrealistic to expect anything near €379 if thats what a 1G costs new. I'm going to buy a iPad 2 and I fully respect that in 18 months it won't be worth near the €499 I'll pay for it. Thats the risk and acceptance you make when you buy tech gadgets. They don't hold their value.
    Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Has it been confirmed that Apple will not continue to sell the ipad 1 in parralel to the new model ?

I'd say they will sell off the remaining stock but I doubt production will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭vertigo1976

Glebee wrote: »
    Really tempted to buy 16GB wifi refurbished model..
    Am I mad?

I'm damn tempted to buy a refurb too for 339..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i presume refurbs really are perfectly fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

i presume refurbs really are perfectly fine?
    The general consesus is yes. With full warranty of course. Personally, I love being the first one to open the box........ and I'd personally pay the 10% for the privilege ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

That refurb price is pretty tempting though. Think il have to invest in an iPad now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

IMO, they're not.

Let's not forget about the tons of apps that we'll see that need the camera, though. Things like augmented reality games etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

dodzy wrote: »
    The general consesus is yes. With full warranty of course. Personally, I love being the first one to open the box........ and I'd personally pay the 10% for the privilege ;)

I've bought a few refurb items over the years and had no problems at all. That said for €40 in the difference in this case I'd probably buy a new one for €379.

Second hand would be worth considering too but seeing as you can get a refurb (with warranty) for €339 I reckon you'd want to be paying no more than €250 max for a 16GB Wi-Fi model.

As for the depreciation on these? (shrug) Thats the eternal curse of the early adopter! Not much you can do about it.

That said there's not really much functionality (facetime? meh..) that you're missing so might be best to hang on to a first gen iPad rather than upgrading for the sake of it. Unless you bought in the last two weeks, in which case you're due a refund :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ViP3r

insightful thread.

I'm selling my 16 gb wifi for 400 jailbroken with usb/sd card adapters and case. ill let u know how that goes ;)

Bonavox wrote: »
    Let's not forget about the tons of apps that we'll see that need the camera, though. Things like augmented reality games etc.
    Christ... more muck like this so:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭hsi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Kevvv wrote: »
    That refurb price is pretty tempting though. Think il have to invest in an iPad now :pac:

Personally I'd say you'll be delighted to start but will wish you bought the new one in a few months. I'd honestly wait for the new one. The camera alone plus the upgrades performance wise just make it a better deal. Plus the price of the 1G will just plummet. You'll basically give it away a year from now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

http://www.macworld.com/article/158310/2011/03/ipad_2_faq.html

Good article showing the iPad 2 specs and comparing to original iPad.
    Whilst I am happy with my gen 1 if I was buying now I'd pay the extra for the latest.

Christ... more muck like this so:

What an awful game. You can't disregard an entire genre by one game. I'm not saying the iPad 2 is the be all and end all, just saying its features will be expanded on.

It's not a game... it's the Photo Booth application for the Mac.

And I'm not disregarding an entire genre. I'll be interested to see what the camera will bring, but I'd expect a lot more of the above type of apps for the time being.

this could be a ridiculous question but if buying a second hand ipad, is there a chance that the previous owner could have installed a tracker on it or a virus that could hack into my information when using it?

No, just ask the seller to restore it to its factory settings. If you're still not happy, though, just do it yourself when you hook it up to iTunes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

so how much are people expecting the ipad 1st gen to drop to?
    for the basic 16gb wifi version?still €350+ on adverts...
    if it dropped to €250 id buy one,absolute max i'd pay for one before the 2nd gen hits our shops is €250.surely the arse will fall out of the ipad 1st gen market once the 2nd gen is released here?

No, just ask the seller to restore it to its factory settings. If you're still not happy, though, just do it yourself when you hook it up to iTunes. :)

would that really get rid of any possible virus or hacking device they could have put on though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

so what do people suggest. i REALLT want an ipad. i am a bit skint tho. was looking into getting one around my birthday - early july. (have a holiday in june that i want to save for first!) obv the ipad2 prices ain't gonna change btween release and july, but any guesstimates on what kinda price the ipad one might be around then. and should i go for 1 or 2 honestly?

would that really get rid of any possible virus or hacking device they could have put on though?

iOS is secure, there are no known viruses or tracking devices for iPad and a factory reset literally wipes the OS clean, so yeah, it'd do the job.

hdowney wrote: »
    so what do people suggest. i REALLT want an ipad. i am a bit skint tho. was looking into getting one around my birthday - early july. (have a holiday in june that i want to save for first!) obv the ipad2 prices ain't gonna change btween release and july, but any guesstimates on what kinda price the ipad one might be around then. and should i go for 1 or 2 honestly?

my plan is to get a ipad 1st gen for €250 max and just stay the **** away from anyone with an ipad2....for obvious reasons.;)

hehe. where will you be looking to get ur 1st gen at the €250 price mark?

i think i want the 3g model cos i want to be able to use it wherever i am and i don't think i could stick just wifi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Lads anyone after a tablet would be mad not to get this at E339. As it stands the First Gen iPad is still better than any competing Tablets, and at E339 one of the cheapest. Go for it while they are still there.

Dman001 wrote: »
    Lads anyone after a tablet would be mad not to get this at E339. As it stands the First Gen iPad is still better than any competing Tablets, and at E339 one of the cheapest. Go for it while they are still there.

it's like 499 for the 16gig 3g model. argh. would i b happy with the wifi only model. and then would i be happy with 16gigs. i had a 16gig iphone which i filled so last july i bought the 32gig iphone 4, and the friggin thing is like full :eek:

Forget the 3G model, later on down the road if you decide you would like internet on-the-go on you iPad look into getting a MiFi modem. Unless you want the GPS in the iPad of course.

hehe. where will you be looking to get ur 1st gen at the €250 price mark?

i think i want the 3g model cos i want to be able to use it wherever i am and i don't think i could stick just wifi

you dont NEED the 3g version,tether.
    i dont NEED an ipad,im just saying when the 2nd hand market price of them hits around the €250 mark i'll make a decision.
    if i NEEDED an ipad now id buy one of the cheap ones off apple or one of the refurbished ones.

you do know you can delete stuff off them?

Dman001 wrote: »
    Forget the 3G model, later on down the road if you decide you would like internet on-the-go on you iPad look into getting a MiFi modem. Unless you want the GPS in the iPad of course.

what is mifi? and i presume the gps on the ipad is no better than the iphone, other than the larger screen and therefore larger area thingy

barryd09 wrote: »
    you dont NEED the 3g version,tether.
    i dont NEED an ipad,im just saying when the 2nd hand market price of them hits around the €250 mark i'll make a decision.
    if i NEEDED an ipad now id buy one of the cheap ones off apple or one of the refurbished ones.

you do know you can delete stuff off them?

trying to decide what to delete and what to keep nearly kills me. it is like i WANT it all on there, but i guarantee i don't use half the apps or listen to half the music, but when i am looking at it hovering over delete i can't bring myself to sometimes :o

what is mifi? and i presume the gps on the ipad is no better than the iphone, other than the larger screen and therefore larger area thingy
    Without going too off topic:
    http://three.ie/products_services/broadband/mifi.htm

O2, Vodafone and Meteor have their equivalent too. Nope no difference on GPS except bigger screen on the iPad will mean better experience.

i mainly use the gps to check i am where i think i am - like the other nite, i was going to a train station i have used maybe a handful of times. i am standing there, where i remember the door being and no door. i was like wha? so i gps'd myself on the phone and discovered the bright sparks had moved the door round the side!!!:D

one more question, if i get the wifi only version, can i thether it to my 3g phone (android) and use it?

ok i see now that i can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭MCD.

I just picked up a first gen one on adverts for a solid 290 with a griffen leather case and a warranty up til December.

Happy enough. When ye factor in the case it's not a bad deal at all. Being completely honest the lack of camera isn't a factor I dont video chat really, if I'm away at all I'll bring my mbp which has a camera. The fact that it's lighter and slimmer, again not an issue it's slim enough and I like a bit o weight in my electronics.

All that craic with full hd, who gives a fiddlers? 720p will do fine over airplay.

Now, that's all well and good but I fookin' know that as soon as I see the new one I'm gonna be hit with buyers remorse, but sure I've waited a year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

If you do a bit of travelling the 3G version is probably worth it as you can stick a vodafone sim in it and roam cheaply on the live apn. Handy when waiting around in airports etc and cheaper than paid wifi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭gingernut79

I want one. I'm telling myself its a birthday pressie for hubby so I can put sheet music on it (for him) but it would secretly be for me :D