Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hunt and horses

• 02-03-2011 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

what is landowners experiences and thoughts on these hunt people trespassing on farmers land without permission. :mad:

damaged walls and fences continualy :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

GY A1 wrote: »
    what is landowners experiences and thoughts on these hunt people trespassing on farmers land without permission. :mad:

damaged walls and fences continualy :mad:

i dont know how or why ye put up with it? No hunt within 50 miles of me but if they came through our place i'd lose the canopy there'd be slaps for sure:rolleyes:
    You spent all your time fencing,builing walls gates pillars, keeping the place tidy, fertilising, chain harrowing, re seeding, rolling and for that crew to tear the place up in the middle of winter.... i dont think so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

yes exactly
    what do u do when these certain so called elite people constantly trespass on your land without permission, and after being instructed not to invade your property,
    this is still going on, breaking wire fences and walls :mad:

are these people completly ignorant or when will it stop :confused:

target practise next ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

target practise next ;)
    Just don't make loud noises that may frighten the horses... :pac:

Have a tractor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

the_syco wrote: »

Have a tractor?

and she back fires, alot;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

The 'Local Hunt' went through a local farmers land a few years back. He has a big flock of sheep and the land is low lying with trenches full of water. Of course the dogs sent most of the sheep into the water and they drowned. A lot of those that did survive either died later from shock or aborted.
    What makes it worst that those in charge had to make their way to his house to tell him about it. They were his neighbours. Most of them are (sorry were ) involved in the building trade at the time. Our new ruling elite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

I’m not in a hunt but have two that go through my place and they always seek permission and take down and return fencing after they finish. We accommodate them by having stock elsewhere, I’m lucky in that their route means they can stay on farm roadways for the most part but damage to the land is negligible IME

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

An old farmer i shoot bunnys for is fairly sound as regards let people shoot etc. A couple of years ago a hunt asked could they go through, to which he said yea just close gates etc. They went through a ditch, and didnt so much as pull a branch back across it, to which the neighbours cattle got in and made **** of the place. I wouldn mention the word horse hunt in the same sentance now to him. He is stil ok wit me and others shooting but has told us if we see horses to ring him. The same hunt does go by my uncles house too sometimes but not often. One year they did the same with ditches but i think the farmer in the field next to the uncle lost the rag over it and they take a different route now when in the area, which most of the land is owned by people in the hunt in fairness to them. Stil block the feckin road though with the horseboxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

they used to come thru our place, always asked first in fairness but called a halt to it last year, fcukers used to come along to a strained fence and just cut it where ever they fancied and 2 years ina row they never even fixed it, i wouldnt mind but it was a few neighbours involved, jaysus hard to believe lads can be such assholes, anyway last year i told them to stay out and you know well the fcukers are giving out about you..they wont be getting back in either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

yes exactly
    what do u do when these certain so called elite people constantly trespass on your land without permission, and after being instructed not to invade your property,
    this is still going on, breaking wire fences and walls :mad:

are these people completly ignorant or when will it stop :confused:

target practise next ;)

Are they some club, if so - can you report them to guards? Do you have it in writing that they dont have permission?

They called to our place once, years ago. Horses, hounds everywhere, lads with slashhooks breaking down dicthes and fences before em. One neighbour just got his gun, starting shooting the dogs as they come through the ditch onto his land. 6 dogs later, the hunt was called off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

Anyone clear on the insurance implications.

There was a locally organized fundraising hunt a couple of years back and they wanted to cross my land. I wasn't keen but it was for a good cause so I was nearly going to give permission.
    Rang my insurer (FBD) and they said on no account let them on without a letter of indemnity from the hunt. FBD said to send them a copy of this letter before they would give the OK
    I asked for this letter from the hunt but they never came back to me.
    Probably had no insurance of any kind.
    I mean if a horse stepped into a hole where I had pulled up a fencing post and injured someone I would probably be liable.

In fairness, they do ask for permission to go onto land, around here anyway. The problem is when they 'rise' a fox. Try telling a pack of dogs they dont have permission to enter your land.

One time around here, they 'rose' a fox and the dogs gave chase. The fox bitch took them away from the den and down one side of the dual carriageway for about a mile. She then crossed the road and made her way back up the other side of the road. Of course they had to call of the dogs or risk causing a serious crash on the road.
    'Cute as a fox' - they say. It was an old relative that told me that. He got serious joy outta that one. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

No hunt around here. From my perspective they should ask all landowners in an area. Just as Pakalasa said, once they rise a fox, who knows where it's gonna head. They should stay out of land they're not welcome one. If I came across damage on my farm and knew who done it I'd not be impressed to say the least.

I’m not in a hunt but have two that go through my place and they always seek permission and take down and return fencing after they finish. We accommodate them by having stock elsewhere, I’m lucky in that their route means they can stay on farm roadways for the most part but damage to the land is negligible IME

Even still do they not cut up your ground though? Reseeded ground etc big heavy lump of a horse with some big lard arse above on him travelling at pace across your ground would test any establishing sward!!:p

Are they some club, if so - can you report them to guards? Do you have it in writing that they dont have permission?

They called to our place once, years ago. Horses, hounds everywhere, lads with slashhooks breaking down dicthes and fences before em. One neighbour just got his gun, starting shooting the dogs as they come through the ditch onto his land. 6 dogs later, the hunt was called off...

Thats the spirit pump them full of lead ... fair play to him:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Registered hunts have insurance and often have folk repairing damage after the hunt. I know of one hunt in Galway that have the lads following the hunt and fixing the stone walls as they go along. This and insurance is covered in the sub/cap. Riders also have their own insurance (extremely stupid if they don't. There are also designated gate closers.

Hunts generally have meet cards that they should give to landowners whose land they have permission to cross. Riders should behave with courtesy and stick to the headland etc

If a person has any problems with a hunt report it to the master or secretary, it may not be a regular who is acting the tit and may not report any damage or behave recklessly. There is also the HAI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Bodacious wrote: »
    Even still do they not cut up your ground though? Reseeded ground etc big heavy lump of a horse with some big lard arse above on him travelling at pace across your ground would test any establishing sward!!:p

Preconception much?

If a rider has any sense they stick to the headland and should have permission to be there in the first place. They should also have the cop on not to go onto the land or do fast work if conditions do not permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭marknjb

the hunt was stoped in our area years ago because of the damage they did
    they had no problem tearing up fields and ditches but if u went down to shoot on their land (gentry in their own heads) u would be run fairly lively
    one old lad stood up on a ditch and told them he would shoot the dogs as they came out. he would have too

Preconception much?

If a rider has any sense they stick to the headland and should have permission to be there in the first place. They should also have the cop on not to go onto the land or do fast work if conditions do not permit.

No headlands on reseeded grassland.

No preconception either, always had horses and have many friends that still hunt and have been on manys a meet during my college days in the UK and boys hollering to each other to "slow down you're cutting up the ground just doesn't happen!"

Do however agree with your point in previous post that according to the boys it is often the visitor/guest to the hunt that acts the maggot the most

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

my animals are housed five/six months at great expense to preserve the ground, no way would I let the unspeakable in pursuit of the uneatable (Wilde) onto my land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I don't allow the hunt onto my lands, though during the winter they chanced their arms and entered and pretended not to know they were on land where they had no permission to be. They do be out in the area every year so their excuse was poor.
    They came in a way that they thought they would get away with, when I had stopped them, a few of them continued on which didn't impress me one bit, maybe it was to look for some dogs but they had been told they were to leave.
    When it comes to fencing holes they don't leave the ditch in the same condition they found it, this is what we found fro past experiences.

My land is not for galloping horses on, especially when the ground is wet after a lot of rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

This is a vid I found on youtube. Doesn't look like they had permission from this farmer. Landowners&Hunts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

kfk wrote: »
    This is a vid I found on youtube. Doesn't look like they had permission from this farmer. Landowners&Hunts

fecking hell, hes telling them to leave and they are still at it, thats some cheek

'Wannabee Gentry' at the end of the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

pakalasa wrote: »
    'Wannabee Gentry' at the end of the day!
    Now you're talking ! If someone had an attitude like that in my place they wouldn't be sitting so comfortable going out ! Jumped up baxtards:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

Its ironic that this video from is used on this thread, because the makers of this video have no problem tresapassing onto anyone's land or even breaking and entering into anyone's property. They dont mind going into anyone's farm and releasing animals or damaging property. They object most ways of farming animals and are not friends of the farmer.
    I am not a big supporter of the hunt but farmers should definitely not be supporting or giving publicity the makers of this video. Go to there web site and look there policys on farming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

yessam wrote: »
    I am not a big supporter of the hunt but farmers should definitely not be supporting or giving publicity the makers of this video. Go to there web site and look there policys on farming.

Agree with the above comment as much as the Louth voter turn out...

...110% :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

same here, they stick to farm roads when wet.
    not allowed to run in a field, all horses have to walk on headlands.
    for the last few years they have put up proper openings in the eletric fences with handles where they cross boundries.

alot of it comes down to the hunt master and how much control they have over the hunt
    a few of the main lads in the local hunt would be farmers or from farming families and very understanding of the concerns of land owners

Its ironic that this video from is used on this thread, because the makers of this video have no problem tresapassing onto anyone's land or even breaking and entering into anyone's property. They dont mind going into anyone's farm and releasing animals or damaging property. They object most ways of farming animals and are not friends of the farmer.

I don't support the makers of the video. I cant see the problem giving it publicity on the F&F Forum, I think most farmers on this forum are clever enough to know who is and is not their friend. I thought it was worth sharing the link to show the arrogance and cheek those hunters had. A friend of mine told me years ago that a hunt came through his land. They knocked the gate entering the property, cut down sheep wire along the way and poached the place to bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

I don't support the makers of the video. I cant see the problem giving it publicity on the F&F Forum, I think most farmers on this forum are clever enough to know who is and is not their friend. I thought it was worth sharing the link to show the arrogance and cheek those hunters had. A friend of mine told me years ago that a hunt came through his land. They knocked the gate entering the property, cut down sheep wire along the way and poached the place to bits.

I agree with you 100% as for highlighting the arrogance of some people. I just don't trust the makers of the video. They will not produce something if its not showing the country side in a negative fashion.
    I would not be surprised if they staged this.

I agree with you 100% as for highlighting the arrogance of some people. I just don't trust the makers of the video. They will not produce something if its not showing the country side in a negative fashion.
    I would not be surprised if they staged this.

Thats a very good point. Thinking about the video now, it is hard to imagine that the hunters would be daft enough to force their way on to a farmers land with a camera pointing at them.

I remember reading about the hunts before, that it was very difficult for anyone to bring a case against them because some many of the hunters were solicitors, barristers and judges.