Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First race!

• 02-03-2011 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Hi guys,

I'm planning on doing my first race this weekend or next (depending on bike service!) as an A4. I'm really looking forward to it eventhough I don't have specific racing wheels and tyres etc and am just trying to find my feet with it. My question is really, if you have raced before, do you remember your first race and how did it go, was it good? Bad?

Just curious I guess!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

billaustin wrote: »
    My question is really, if you have raced before, do you remember your first race and how did it go, was it good? Bad?

In my first Club race I was coming down the final straight in the bunch (back of the Airport in 1989) when with 200m to go cramped a calf violently which resulted in me pulling off to the left and ending upside down in a ditch

First open race in the first mile guy in front of me fell and brought me down (with about 30 others) spend the next hours riding around on my own with various other crash victims/dropped riders etc

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

billaustin wrote: »
    My question is really, if you have raced before, do you remember your first race and how did it go
    Oh yes

That's the problem with this internet thingy - these things are now there forever, and for anyone to see ...

Good luck in the race billaustin, whenever it is - you will find a lot of posters here have only taken up racing in the last year or two, and I can't recall seeing anyone expressing regrets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

''non. je ne regrette rien''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I crashed into a ditch. It didn't hurt. I now believe myself to be invincible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭billaustin

Lol I've done my fair share of crashing too, thanks Beasty for the good wishes, I'll probably try my hand in the A4 race in Navan on Sunday, should be a good indicator of how far behind I am!

Thanks again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭teufelswerk

Must have been a 20k jaunt as an Under 12 back in 1998/9. Had a lovely pair of Spinergys on that day, they were the business. Anyway I hope that your race is less hyperactive, might not be though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Mine was a DWCC training race a couple of years ago. I was super nervous at the start but eventually got comfortable in the bunch. I was doing OK, never in danger of winning the thing but then on the last lap, half way up Dorey's Forge I got a cramp and had to stop. I never got back on to the bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Report of my first race. Have had 2 races since & while I haven't contended, I'm definitely hooked. I'm hoping that my racing career didn't peak at the very beginning though. Good luck with your own first one!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Lumen wrote: »
    I crashed into a ditch. It didn't hurt. I now believe myself to be invincible.

That was your second race. In your first you got spanked by Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

el tonto wrote: »
    That was your second race. In your first you got spanked by Tom

Doesn't count as it was a pre-season non-league race.

And I prefer to think of it as "dragged Tom's sorry arse to the finish line before he stole the only glory I'm ever likely to see".

It's OK, I'm over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

And I prefer to think of it as "dragged Tom's sorry arse to the finish line before he stole the only glory I'm ever likely to see".

It's OK, I'm over it.

I bet you'd count it if you'd won.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

It's OK, I'm over it.

Was it this one (6:10 onwards)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL3jQmkj3uI&feature=player_embedded

I remember carrick wheelers hamper race in early ninties; muck and rain, from the small bothareen before u turn back onto main road to carrick, the dash into carrick , wet road , and a crash right in front of me : John Dobbs of Wexford wheelers hitting the tarmac, bunny hopping over Johns Rear wheel and escaping the crash, myself.

John was injured blood everywhere, but no way were the medical people permitted to cut the new gear off him to get in to see the leg injuries !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭8kvscdpglqnyr4

It's easy for me to remember my first race ... it was last Sunday! Absolutely brilliant experience - I think I'm hooked! I only joined a club last October so cycling in a group is relatively new to me so I was nervous!

There were over 100 riders in the race which really surprised me - I didn't expect so many. About 50/50 split between A3/A4 riders ... I'm A4 obviously. The lads in the club were saying to ride in the top third of the group to avoid any trouble ... great advice! And you get a much better feel for what's going on too.

If you're towards the front of the group, you can watch for any break aways and jump on if you feel you have the legs.

The first 15km were very steady ... the pace was very even and was easy to keep with the group and get comfortable.

There was one climb about 20km into the race last Sunday ... about 4km of a steady drag which allowed 10 of us to get away. That was some buzz!! I went over the KOH in 4th place and not even sure if I was doing the right thing. We stayed away for the entire race which I was thrilled and completely surprised with. All 10 of us worked hard together ... although when I got to the front I was finding it difficult to judge the pace as I was creating too much of a gap. I was more concerned with slowing others down. But the other riders were quick to tell me what to do.

One key piece of advice - know where the finish line is. The race I was in was supposed to be 61km. However, it finished after 52km. The 9km roll out from the registration point to the start line was counted as part of the race. I was so gutted as were others in the breakaway - I barely noticed the sprint and didn't get to take part. 4 of the 10 were unaware the race was finishing and we all thought we had another 9km to race! I crossed the line talking to another rider and not even out of breath.

I can't wait to race again - I'm literally counting down the days until my next race. Bring it on!!!

First race summary:
    Overall position: 8th
    Avg Speed: 38kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

From what I can remember of my first club race there were only a handful of us there (small club) and it was short (essentially someone just nominated a finish point several miles down he road on our training ride and shouted "go"). During the sprint at the end the pedal of one rider connected with the spokes of my front wheel. One half of my brain thought "Oh, that's not good" and sat back to watch the outcome. Thankfully the responsible half of my brain caused me to veer away before my wheel disintegrated. I didn't win the sprint but my heart certainly got a good workout!

In my first open race, a mass start one if I remember correctly, way back in the days of A, B, and C cats, I seem to recall within the first few miles looking at a speed of 30mph showing on my speedo and wondering why a significant proportion of the group were disappearing up the road regardless. Again, one half of my brain thought "Oh, that's not good" but all the other half could come up with was "Go legs, go!" which my legs duly ignored. It was an inglorious start to a short and inglorious racing career. The two halves of my brain still won't talk to each other to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

My first race was an U16 event, which I cycled all the way to and home from (about 40km ach way). There were about 25 of us and it was an important enough race so all the big guns had shown up. It was strung out from the beginning, and basically how it went was that about 4 guys got off the front, and then more and more began jumping away and making the bridge up to them (about 15 seconds gap), until eventually the front group was bigger than the rear one, and obviously had all the stronger guys in it. I figured I had to go, and to my surprise made the gap with relative ease. I was even more surprised when people began dropping off the front group like flies. Eventually three of us came to the line, and I came third :pac:

The main advice is to keep your nose out of the wind until you absolutely have to (i.e. you're in a break...or off the back!). And if you get someone shouting at you to go "up, up, up", tell him where to go, don't let them intimidate you into doing their work. Don't let people bully you full stop, because they will try, or they certainly did to me when I was racing. Stay up around the top third of the group but away from the front 5-10, and if you do end up near the front then do your turn and drift back, don't make any unexpected and drastic manoeuvres that could cause a crash. Don't make any moves in the first 10 kilometers unless the race is going away, it's just the nervous energy talking, and you'll regret it later. Good luck!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Not my story, but back in the late 80's, a gang of lads on my road joined the local cycling club (think it was Lucan). Anyway, a friend of mine, in possession of a brand new racer, decided to join up too and showed up for his first race. Off they went and he was doing grand until he hit a bump and his pump fell off the bike. Realising that his Da would murder him when he got home if he lost it, he stopped to retrieve the pump. He rode like the clappers to get back on, but eventually the bunch receded into the distance. After toiling along for a bit he realised he was utterly lost and started looking for a way home. Then he turned a corner and spots the finish line up ahead and the marshalls waiting with a flag. He starts to speed up, thinking that maybe he's going to get a jammy win until he spots the bunch.... coming in the opposite direction.

Reverse win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

My first race was the Beechmount Cup in the 80's now replaced by the Cycleways Cup which is on this weekend. It was over the old Hill of Tara circuit of 20 miles (race was just under 100k). We did 3 laps C's as we were referred to then, the B's did 4 and A's 5 (yes that was 160km) I had never even ridden a club race so a few of the lads reckoned I wouldn't finish it. Petrified might be the best word to describe the first lap but when I found my legs I managed to get away with a group 2nd time over Tara. Really felt this was going to be a great debut and with a little smug grin hammered into last lap. Worst case scenario 12th :cool:, actual scenario puncture :mad:. Couldn't believe it and of course no such luxury as a team car for C riders in those days. (not that i would have crossed the gap :pac:). In the end fixed the puncture and rolled back to the start finish line with my tail between my legs.

Regarding the length of races at the moment, it seems they are a little too short. It is an endurance sport so A4 should be racing for at least 1 and 1/2 to 2 hours (60 to 80 km) A3's 2 to 2 and 1/2 hours (80 to 100km) and so on. Sorry for straying off topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Loved reading the posts. Great gas.
    Was going to do my first race in Banteer in 2wks but have being considering the race in county Limerick on Sunday as it is a 50k separate A4 race.
    Only problem is the big bloody climb in the middle of the circuit.

Might as well pop the cherry at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

ROK ON wrote: »
    Loved reading the posts. Great gas.
    Was going to do my first race in Banteer in 2wks but have being considering the race in county Limerick on Sunday as it is a 50k separate A4 race.

I believe the race in Banteer has been called off so maybe you should give Limerick a shot. Please double check the cancelation just in case I heard wrong.

...but have being considering the race in county Limerick on Sunday as it is a 50k separate A4 race.

Go for it ROK ON. When you're starting out there will be races where you'll get spat out the back on the climbs, but the experience is worth it. Might as well get comfortable riding in the bunch sooner rather than later.

One tip, if you do get dropped on a hill, work your arse off to get back on. Sometimes the pace slows a little after a climb. Find some fellow dropees and try work with them to get back up. If you suceed, you're sorted for another lap.

fondriest wrote: »
    I believe the race in Banteer has been called off so maybe you should give Limerick a shot. Please double check the cancelation just in case I heard wrong.

hey fondriest: how u doin.....!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

I've yet to do an open race but am thinking of starting in a couple of week, just wondering whats the standard of A4 like compared to club league racing (particularly aimed at any of the other swords lads out there!). Obviously there is a bigger bunch so that might help but involves been more careful.

Seeing the clips from today definitely has me interested. I figure i may as well give it a lash and use it for fitness even if it involves getting dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

I'd like to race too, but all this talk of crashing seriously puts me off.

Plus, my triathlete bike-handling skills would probably mean I'd cause the frickin' crash in the first place.

Honestly now, what is the likelihood of hitting the tarmac in one of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

@kenny- it depends on the race and your league and group but I would say A4 is between semi-limit and semi-scratch in the Orwell/Lucan/Tiernans/Usher/UCD league. The bunch being bigger (and more dangerous) is the main difference.

@nvm2- your chance of crashing is not that high. Maybe 1/100. Of course if you do enough races it will happen eventually. I have raced quite a bit for two years and have not crashed yet in a race. Racing in a club league first is a very good idea to get the hang of racing in a bunch (which is very different than just riding in a bunch.)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Nwm2 wrote: »

Honestly now, what is the likelihood of hitting the tarmac in one of these?

I'd definitely try club league racing first to get the hang of things

I can only recall one rider falling in the Swords League last year (nearly 20 races with up to 70 or so in each race), and that was as a result hitting a pothole

1st race today. Cycling Pursuits Cup, Broadford, Co. Limerick.

Was in a large bunch of a4s. Recognised some guys who IMHO were too experienced for the category. But what do I know as a noob. Met about 5 other virgins so nerves settled. Perhaps too much.
    Pace was savage. Started toward back and that was mistake. Moved up but dropped back again.
    After 8k I think of 17k circuit took a corner too gingerly and was dropped tried to sprint back on but with climb coming up it was futile.

Hit the 4k climb. Tough rose from 5 to 7%. Then hit 9 for a fair while.
    Running a 39/25 was a dumb move. Shudda brought the compact.

Anyway picked up three guys on the climb. Hoped we wud stay together but I dropped them.
    Lovely descent on great roads with great marshalling. TBH I recovered rather than going for it.
    Circuit complete. One guy got back on with me and we worked for 1/3rd of a lap. But I accelerated away so was on my own again.
    Climb for second time. Felt ok. Hit new HR max 1st attempt (194). This time worked a rhythm at about 178-80.

Faster descent. Hit the village. Final circuit. On my own but guys behind me. Going like crazy. Punctured front after 2nd corner.

Jump off for quick change. Trying to not miss the guys coming behind.
    Just off bike fiddling with canister and hammer cramps badly. Doubled over. Did some stretches.
    Change tube. Inflate. Feck up with canister. Dropped guys pass. Only get half air in. Semi rigid at least not flacid.

A1 and 2s drive past.

Then my group passes. Between cramp and botched change I have lost about 20m.

Limp home on underinflated tyre.

Fun while it lasted.

Lessons.
    1 after 8k at 46k ave spee

d I was going as well as I could.
    2 learn to stay up the bunch. Slow corner only myself to blame.
    3 slow climber but effort wud indicate I was trying my hardest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

nice one, well done for the effort.

never raced myself, and I get nowhere near those HRs (of course its indiviudal, about 166 and I am almost on a flat out sprint, only just got a computer in the last week so we will see what it shows as time passes)

did u map the ride, wld be interested to look at the profile of the ride.

Lessons.
    1 after 8k at 46k ave speed I was going as well as I could.

Well don ROK! I've been waiting for you to finally get down to racing. A guy with your competitive outlook should get a lot out of the whole experience. You're also dead right in assessing every race in terms of lessons learned - that's what it all about in the first year I think (and the second for me). It's as much about not making mistakes as it is about having the legs sometimes.

46kph is a savage pace for the bunch to start at? Was it A4 only at that stage? Were there lads trying to get off the front? or maybe a few beasts just drilling it after a long winter on the turbo? For comparison the A3 race I did yesterday only averaged a fairly sedate 39kph for the first lap.

Well done ROK ON

As you said, and was re-iterated by Tom. that pace was savage. I don't think there will be many A4 races going off that fast - it may be that some of those pushing it should really be in A3

One area I found very difficult last year was cornering - if you're somewhere near the back going into the corner much more effort is required to get back on coming out. It's also difficult to practice corners at speed, as you will not have marshalls looking out for traffic when training. There is definitely a knack to it (it's not one that I've got yet either)

Thanks Tom.
    Phone died before finished post. Meant to say that the distance was no bother but pace was pure hell for me.
    After about 40% of lap 1 I simply could hold on despite going flat out.
    On the climb I was in the red but not dying. Training must be working. While I picked off a few other blokes I was never fast enough to get back on.
    Tbh I recovered rather than drilled the descent.

After lap 1 my avg speed was just over 34.5k with avg hr of 178. That is me at my best and that includes a climb.
    Me at my best is still bottom 10% of field so there is a lot to improve - mainly trying to deliver speed out of my most intense ever effort.

The short time I was with the bunch it didn't seem scary but it was maybe 10-12mins?

This was a tough course for me with a savage climb. I hoped to do a flat race in Cork next week but it has been cancelled.

Glad I did it. Not unenjoyable. Having a tough time recently and today was a great way to just get away from the troubles of life.
    Training has been hit and miss. Now I have a slightly better idea what is reqd.

Great circuit, very good roads. Marshals very good and encouraging.
    Other riders friendly. Two guys behind me stopped and asked if I needed help with puncture. I felt guilty as on lap 1 I picked off a guy on the descent who had a puncture and felt glad that another guy was behind.
    Schadenfreud is not good for karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭cantalach

Well done, ROK_ON!

Hitting a new max HR bodes well too. One thing that, in my opinion, is essential for racing is sheer bloodymindedness. Some people aren't dropped until they're dropped and others are dropped as soon as they think they're dropped. The former will often beat the latter even with inferior ability.

I don't know how it would suit you given the location, but there's a race starting in Clonard next Saturday that might be ideal for a confidence builder. It's a nearly totally flat out-an-back course. I think it's about 70km but the easiness of the course makes that fell shorter. No corners to worry about except the roundabout at the halfway point and no climbs to split the bunch. The A4s stayed away lasy year (blorg won) and it's a good one to get the feel of moving in the bunch and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

Well done ROK ON. Delighted to see you made the plunge. The pace from the off was pretty hot-are you sure you didn't go off with the A1's??? Getting dropped is the best possible motivation for upping the ante in training so keep it up.

A tip on cornering at speed-lean all of your weight on the outside pedal. Really press down on it-make a conscious effort to do it. Lean the bike into the corner while keeping your body upright (you will turn sharper with less chance of the bike slipping out than if you were leaning your body with the bike). I'm still surprised at how gingerly experienced cyclists go through corners. Practice it and you will move up in the bunch rather than back through corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

+1 on all the well dones ROK ON :D

You've the focused look of bloody minded determination licked - A4 victory is just a matter of time...

bsn5335-124.jpg

(not my photo BTW - wish I could get ones that good!)

Cool photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Well done ROK ON! That was a fine "lump" in the middle of the course to have to negotiate three times.

3-300x139.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

lescol wrote: »

3-300x139.jpg
    Christ ROK ON you really picked an easy circuit for your first race eek.gif
    Ballsey is what comes to mind and well done on making the plunge (the photo looks great).Max 191 and average 178 shows you weren't holding back. As Tom mentioned earlier, ride that race in Clonard next week as it would be more suitable for a beginner and no big climbs.
    PS From the speeds it sounds like there were a few hairy A4's in the bunch but my hunch is that it was a DMS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭karlmyson

Well done ROK_ON, a great account. Heck of a course profile to try as a first race, chapeau.

1st race today. Cycling Pursuits Cup, Broadford, Co. Limerick.

Was in a large bunch of a4s. Recognised some guys who IMHO were too experienced for the category. But what do I know as a noob. Met about 5 other virgins so nerves settled. Perhaps too much.
    Pace was savage. Started toward back and that was mistake. Moved up but dropped back again.
    After 8k I think of 17k circuit took a corner too gingerly and was dropped tried to sprint back on but with climb coming up it was futile.

Hit the 4k climb. Tough rose from 5 to 7%. Then hit 9 for a fair while.
    Running a 39/25 was a dumb move. Shudda brought the compact.

Lessons.
    1 after 8k at 46k ave spee

d I was going as well as I could.

HI rok On,

yep I was there, and heres is the data : hope you can see this :

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/71590868

absolutly correct it did start off as 45/ 46 kmph . I was wearing a wexford wheeler jersy ( only one there ) and I was very near the front. three at max attempted to drive on, at the very front , however there was not enough coming through to maintain 45 /46 so there was a concious effort to slow down, by half wheeling and ducking in. it did eventuall slow as the data shows....

I raced in Summerhill ( mick lally ) the day before in Meath, and honestly this Broadford race was a hell of a lot more difficult. the hill blew me !!!

I went off the back climbing the hill first time, but as you can see, i floored it as much as possible on the descent hitting 58 kmph on all three descents. I carry 13.5 stone.

catching people and forming groups. we formed a small group after the first lap , a currow person , a killorglin, and one or 2 others, and we worked around , only for the group to drop me again on the second round the hill, again on the descent I caught a lone cyclist and we worked around the whole circuit on our own , only for me to loose my partner again !! on the hill, but i did catch him again on the descent, and we rode back in togather , never letting up on the way back as at least no more hills !!!

back tyre was in bits afterwards with slits and cuts etc: a Continental 4 season ,

holiday for me for a few weeks, then return to racing in april. These two races are my racing debut , first time racing in best part of 20 years !!! ( when i was 11 stone !!! )

P.S I declined the 1 minute handicap for vets > 40 !!

the

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

First race was in the Pheonix Park on the old circuit in the late 80's. Started at Ashtown Gate went up to the crossroads at the dog pond. Tight left onto Chesterfeld ave. Down to Pheonix monument. Left and all the way around back to Ashtown Gate. Flat and visciously fast. Started at 30mph and if you werent up to speed by the first corner it was over.
    I held on in the first corner, came out of it like a scalded cat. In the bunch down the main road only to find myself on the outside coming up to the monument. Had to take the long way around it and tagged onto the tail of the group. Buried myself and moved up the group to find myself at the front going past the start/ finish line. got swept up in the chaos of positioning for the tight left hander but stayed in the group.A long straight line back down the main road and screaming legs. Held on for dear life till the 3rd time to the tight left hander when my legs went 'sorry.....no more'.

I remember the first time a race was run up Kyber pass.
    Started at popes cross but went out to the Pheonix Monument and swung right down towards Parkgate street. Took a right at wellington monument and back down to take a right for the kyber pass.
    This is recollection of the day:
    I had rushed from work and forgot my drink bottle. I arrived just in time for sign on then promptly headed out at the back of a group.I believe the 'B' and 'C's started at the same time. Spotted a lad I knew from Hardings bike shop and scabbed a drink from him. Hung on for dear life and going up the kyber the 3rd time in some sort of group prob 2 hrs behind I decided enough was enough. Got to the top and tried to climb off but club mates tried to get me back on telling me there were only 3 'C's left. do one more lap and you will get a place and points.I got back on and cycled to where my kit bag was .I was not going up that poxy pass again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭cantalach

Fantastic photo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Class thread. Fair play to everyone having the cajones to get out there and take the plunge with racing, inspring stuff and I hope to join ye soon enough.

My plan at the start of winter was to get into a training regime and to be in fine fettle to start racing in March. Poxy work, college, and life colluded to get in the way of that so I've only been back on the bike recently. So, being undertrained and overweight means I thought I'd give the racing a miss altogether this year as by the time I get back into full fitness, it'll be late in the season.
    niceonetom wrote: »
    I don't know how it would suit you given the location, but there's a race starting in Clonard next Saturday that might be ideal for a confidence builder. It's a nearly totally flat out-an-back course. I think it's about 70km but the easiness of the course makes that fell shorter. No corners to worry about except the roundabout at the halfway point and no climbs to split the bunch. The A4s stayed away lasy year (blorg won) and it's a good one to get the feel of moving in the bunch and all that.

.....and then Tom goes and throws that post up and the head starts thinking crazy. It could actually be just what I need: go along, give it a lash, suffer from the pace, but catch the bug and then get motivated to cram in more training into the non-existent bits of time I might start forcing to be free.

What's the deal with this race in terms of time (this coming Saturday) and sign-up? I don't currently have any form of license (lapsed UCI non-racing license excluded) - would it be possible to get the credentials sorted in time or do I have myself a bona fide excuse lined up already?

one day licence on the day: might cost you 15 for the race and 20 for one day licence , but there is no committment to a big year licence.

i have asked a mate of mine to try racing later this year, once he gets his fitness up abit more, no point putting him in there to be blown away,

we will use the one day licence approach for him to try racing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

Well done man!Great to see you getting into the race and also analysing it theway you do. I remember that course in Broadford from the Vets champs a few years ago. I think it was 7 laps of that circuit... very difficult indeed.

I remember when I started racing I could only last for 30 miles not matter what happend. it took me 2 seasons before I was finishing in the bunch. But if I had have had the knowledge I have know it would have been 3 years before I finished in the bunch!!!

If I may give you a tip..a simple one... make sure your tyres are inflated to the correct pressure....it saves you watts galore!

Keep it up and enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

CheGuedara wrote: »
    +1 on all the well dones ROK ON :D

You've the focused look of bloody minded determination licked - A4 victory is just a matter of time...

bsn5335-124.jpg

(not my photo BTW - wish I could get ones that good!)

Deadly snap, agreed. Man on a mission!