Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrested

• 01-03-2011 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

Long story short, I was arrested last night and brought back to the garda station and was in a cell for a while and was eventually let go.
    However I was told I was not being prosecuted and they would contact me today (unsure why)
    Let me add I was quite intoxicated and vaguely remember being asked to come in wednesday night at ten pm (unsure why and think its quite late)

Unfortunately I cant remember most of the conversation as to why I need to go back in or what will happen.
    They havn't contacted me today at all and unsure of what to do right now.

Just really need some advice and some knowledge of what will happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭John400

Don't go into the Gardai station unless they contact you to do so.

As regards the incident, you're small fry...nothing will come of it.

You were put in the cell to be given a bit of a fright, jarred or not.

Keep stum, say nothing to nobody and don't do anything unless they contact you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Personally, I would give the station a quick ring just to see what the craic was and if there will be any follow-up/anything you need to do. More than likely, it was just to put the wind up ya but sure theres no harm in giving em a quick ring.

This happened to my bf awhile back (although he wasnt kept in a cell at all), he couldnt remember much of the conversation other than it was a dispute over a taxi fare. Turns out he had been told to call back there with the fare by a certain time on a cetain day, and when he didnt (because he couldnt remember in the stupor he was in) the Guards called to our gaf angry and banging on our window threatening to lock him up and take him down the station.

Nothin a quick phone call wont sort out. They probably wont come looking for ya if there wasny money or anything involved, but again, no harm in checkin if you dont remember much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭James400

Azureus wrote: »
    Personally, I would give the station a quick ring just to see what the craic was and if there will be any follow-up/anything you need to do. More than likely, it was just to put the wind up ya but sure theres no harm in giving em a quick ring.

This happened to my bf awhile back (although he wasnt kept in a cell at all), he couldnt remember much of the conversation other than it was a dispute over a taxi fare. Turns out he had been told to call back there with the fare by a certain time on a cetain day, and when he didnt (because he couldnt remember in the stupor he was in) the Guards called to our gaf angry and banging on our window threatening to lock him up and take him down the station.

Nothin a quick phone call wont sort out. They probably wont come looking for ya if there wasny money or anything involved, but again, no harm in checkin if you dont remember much.
    Seriously disgaree!

OP, do not ring the Gardai under any circumstances. If they have an issue with you they'll be on to you...otherwise don't get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

James400 wrote: »
    Seriously disgaree!

OP, do not ring the Gardai under any circumstances. If they have an issue with you they'll be on to you...otherwise don't get involved.

I'm sure you're right, but just for future reference can I ask why this is?
    Obviously I wouldnt wanna suggest hassling the Guards, but surely a phonecall wouldnt lead to anything but peace of mind? (Im aware im probably being naive as hell here, I'm-thank god-not very familiar with this kind of thing other than the above example, and he got in trouble for not contacting them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

However I was told I was not being prosecuted and they would contact me today (unsure why)
    Let me add I was quite intoxicated and vaguely remember being asked to come in wednesday night at ten pm (unsure why and think its quite late)

Unfortunately I cant remember most of the conversation as to why I need to go back in or what will happen.
    They havn't contacted me today at all and unsure of what to do right now.

Just really need some advice and some knowledge of what will happen

I'm guessing the time corresponds to the start of the arresting officer's shift in that station.

Why call you back? - Possibly to issue you with a formal caution (instead of a prosecution) when you're sober enough to understand it. That's a mechanism by which your conduct is formally recorded and can be used in evidence in the event of you ever being arrested on future charges.

I think James400/John400 is wrong in his advice. I do suggest that you attend as requested, but phone first to check.

If your conduct while intoxicated lead to an arrest, I suggest you make a point of staying sober for some time to come!!

Be at peace,

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

They told you come back at 10pm as they work shifts and the cops that arrested you would be back on shift again to night at 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

I can't see what harm would come from ringing them to check, James400? If you can't remember what they told you, ring them up and ask.

If it's in any way serious then you're better off knowing when they want to see you rather than having the Guards arriving at your door thinking you've deliberately avoided them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

If this is your first offence and it's of a minor nature it is most likely you are being called in for an adult caution. This means you'll be warned about your behaviour by a senior guard and that'll be the end of it provided you don't get in trouble again.

You don't have to accept it if you believe you were in the right but that'll mean going to court and explaining to a judge. You can ignore the guards too but the result will likely be the same and you'll have to go to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

if you were intoxicated while this conversation took place i wouldnt bother pursuing the matter. To the best of my knowledge (which is unprofessional and not direct advice - check the statuetebook) there are limitations on what you can agree to while under the influence. In either case you can (correctly) inform them if they ask that you were too drunk to remember the details of the conversation, or whether you were meant to return. That you only really recall that they would be contacting you - and thats all thats really important. IMO

It seems strange that they would release you while still intoxicated enough to forget the details of such a conversation - if it was important, that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭James400

face1990 wrote: »
    I can't see what harm would come from ringing them to check, James400? If you can't remember what they told you, ring them up and ask.

If it's in any way serious then you're better off knowing when they want to see you rather than having the Guards arriving at your door thinking you've deliberately avoided them.
    Disagree.

If the OP is such a threat to national safety they'll be on to him in double quick time.

The OP is small fry because there's much bigger fish out there in terms of the law.

Say nothing, don't ring anybody. If the Gardai think the OP is that important they'd be on to him by now anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭kevin99

I would call back to the station at the requested time tonight.
    They asked you to call in and so you should.
    They may caution you over your behaviour.
    Don't disrespect the arresting garda or gardai by not turning up.
    I presume you provided them with your contact details.
    So if you act the smart ass and do not turn up they may very well arrive at your home in the wee hours of the morning looking for you.
    If you were drunk in a public place you are in breach of the Public Order Act.
    I am sure nothing more will come of it, but just drop in as asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭LickLickLick

Thanks everyone for the replies.

I'm really in two minds about it, On one hand If they ask me to go in (which i'm pretty sure they did) then I should do just that, on the other hand I don't want to go looking for trouble for myself and also was told I would be contacted on tuesday.

As they said they would contact me, Why havn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭stuckin

I was arrested a few years back, for political related events, I was brought to the garda station, put in a cell for a couple of hours and then given an "adult caution" as was mentioned by someone else earlier on. Basically they give you a verbal clip round the ear and set you on your way.

To be honest, I'd contact them myself if I was you. Provided you're polite and understanding of the garda, they treat you with an element of respect. But if you act the bollocks, give cheek or rub against them the wrong way they can make life hard for you. Don't give them any reason to get annoyed with you.

From the sounds of it he just wants to give you a warning.

The better way to look at it rather than simply getting away with it, is what would happen if the garda were serious about it and came looking for you afterwards and you didn't bother to show up or contact them. If I was a guard I'd be more annoyed by that than anything else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Don't under any circumstances contact them. The Gardaí have rapists and murderers to catch, one lad with a few too many whiskeys in him is not top of their priorities. I know of a few lads who spent a couple of hours in a cell for drunk and disorderly. My dad (Ex Guard) used to tell me that the Guards used to do that to scare the crap out of young lads so they won't act the eejit again (90% do cop on) They really couldn't care less about you mate, you're completely in the clear. Unless you're dealing with a new Guardí who has no cop on and has nothing better to do. Then you're screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭LickLickLick

Thanks everyone.

I went along at about 7 and dropped in, just for peace of mind.
    They just went through my details I had given them and explained again I was given an adult caution and will not be contacted again.

I'm glad I went in as I wouldn't know what was going on.

Appreciate all replies

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Graces7, your post added nothing to the thread so was deleted.

OP, as your issue has been successfully resolved I am locking this thread. I would prefer if others did not use it as an opportunity to vent against the Gardaí.

Maple.