Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

next Gen Octavia revealed at Geneva

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

It looks like an angry A3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

Its like a mixture of A3 and Ford Focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Where's the boot??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Where's the boot??

It's the new Multi folding space boot, the outside looks small, like a normal car, but the folder space time inside means you can actually fit the entire universe in there* if you wanted to.

*Skoda do advise against this though for H&S reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I heard the concept has a boot vortex that takes you to another magical land.

The production model will only take two sets of golf clubs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

EPM wrote: »
    Ugh

Exactly my thoughts

On saying that though..!
    I do like the front
    The side view looks nice as well
    But the back of the car :eek:

Looks as ugly as a Prius

But as already said
    The production one will be different
    But by how much?
    I certainly hope it will be in production with final details before I will be changing again as I would NOT be ordering that yoke :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

I actually like the look of it.

Anything's better than the current bland fest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Strip away the concept car nonsense (wheels, lights, interior, rear end) and there is very little here to interest. Hopefully some of that chiseled surfacing will survive, or that revised grille, that would be exciting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Clamshell bonnet is interesting.

Fairly dull looking yoke to be masquerading as a concept car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Looks good I think. Sleek, clean lines and understated. Like the look of the front lights. Not sold on the hatchback look though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Reminds me of this...
    devalpine_04.jpg

I think Irish drivers like the fact that the current car LOOKS like a saloon even though it's a hatch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

They'll have to hit that with some serious blandifying for the Irish target market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Satanta wrote: »
    Looks good I think. Sleek, clean lines and understated. Like the look of the front lights. Not sold on the hatchback look though
    Yeah, what he said. They could do what the Insignia did, one car, 3 body shapes to keep everyone happy.
    Would be great if the production car looked similar.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Yeah, what he said. They could do what the Insignia did, one car, 3 body shapes to keep everyone happy.
    Would be great if the production car looked similar.

If they go and make the rear of it look as the Insignia is then I for one would run a mile.. The back of the insignia is vile it reminds me of the old Hyundai Coupe..
    Horrible :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

vectra wrote: »
    If they go and make the rear of it look as the Insignia is then I for one would run a mile.. The back of the insignia is vile it reminds me of the old Hyundai Coupe..
    Horrible :(

Which one though? As I said there are 3 distinctive back ends; saloon, 4door coupe and Tourer.

Opel-Insignia-OPC_1.jpg

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Which one though? As I said there are 3 distinctive back ends; saloon, 4door coupe and Tourer.

http://www.autodoom.com/gfx/Opel-Insignia-OPC_1.jpg

I only like the Tourer.
    Dont like the rest of them

Couple of pics That I saw over on Briskoda forum

p1050070f.jpg

p1050069.jpg

p1050068l.jpg

p1050067a.jpg

The pictures above and below have people in them so you can better gauge the scale of this car: that wheelbase is HUGE!
    p1050066s.jpg

p1050071l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I really like the side profile. Not too gone on the gaping jaw at the front though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

I like it, wouldn't say no!

Something says Yes to me and something just says no.. I think I would haver to sit on the fence until I actually see on in real life and drive it.
    At the moment I probably would consider one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

If it looks like that in real life then it will be a good looking car

Hopefully the many changes that are usually made between concept and production don't feck it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    It wont look like the above photos, Id bet my house (which I dont have) that it will look alot more plain.

no doubt, sure look at the alloys. You would NOT get them as standard on a Skoda!! 18 or 19"?? But still, you can get a set of nice alloys anywhere

Have to say, the more I look at it, the more I like it. Really smooth design, no sharp bits sticking out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DubDani

Looks nice IMO. The Vision D is showing the future design line Skoda wants to take on all models from now on.

The first car based on this concept is internally called "Global Compact Car" and scheduled to arrive in 2012. It will sit between the Fabia and the Octavia, and is expected to be 5 seater family car priced around 12-13000 Euro.

ando wrote: »
    no doubt, sure look at the alloys. You would NOT get them as standard on a Skoda!! 18 or 19"?? But still, you can get a set of nice alloys anywhere

Have to say, the more I look at it, the more I like it. Really smooth design, no sharp bits sticking out

In the UK the octavia vRS has 18's as standard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

DubDani wrote: »
    The first car based on this concept is internally called "Global Compact Car" and scheduled to arrive in 2012. It will sit between the Fabia and the Octavia, and is expected to be 5 seater family car priced around 12-13000 Euro.

Thats a very tight niche that the "Vision-D" concept will try to occupy.

The Fabia is roomy enough for a super-mini.
    The octavia is obviously a step up but its not exactly a huge car.

If its released in the European Market I think it may struggle from not really having any purpose.

Perhaps this may find more success in the Indian/Far East Market?

Also, it will be "uglied" in due course.
    Couldnt have the parent brand (with their increasingly irrelevent range of cars) put out of joint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The octavia is obviously a step up but its not exactly a huge car.

but the boot, the boot........

Is that an echo I hear :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

vectra wrote: »
    Is that an echo I hear :D

I think I just got a little vomit in my mouth.