Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Self Coached Triathlon Warm Weather Camp

• 28-02-2011 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭

Grand Caneria Training Camp 19th April - 26th April

I can't afford a training camp with pro coaches, meals etc, etc... So what I've done is booked flights, a weeks accommodation and bike box for €220 from Knock (would have been €450 from Dublin!!) There will be myself, my OH's bro and a mate of mine. Two of us doing Galway 70.3 and one doing Ironman UK.

So over the next few weeks i need to put together a training schedule. I am not a coach so any input here would be greatly appreciated. A lot has to be taking into consideration: Volume, intensity, key sessions, rest/recovery etc.... We will have access to a 25m pool, a running track, a beautiful beach with great sand dunes apparently and of course great cycle routes with hills if you want and long flat (TT) sections.

I would like two swim sessions per day as I have some catching up to do in that discipline, a morning and evening session perhaps, one pool based and one OW perhaps.

Thanks to Cunavalos for his advice and input already, he gave me loads of info on the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

€220 for the whole lot!

That sounds great, something I might consider doing next year. I don't really have anything to offer i'm afraid. Maybe 2 swims a day might be pushing it a bit. I know you've had some shoulder trouble recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

I had been onto Cunavalos myself too. Got great info from him and the areas sound great but the flights were all over 220 for me unfortunately! Im now heading to south spain this Saturday myself. No accom as of yet but there's lots of options! Not quite going to be as warm as you'll get it but i cant wait none the less! Enjoy!

On the training front, how many days are you going to do 2 swims a day? If you arent used to that kind of volume id be a little concerned. From my own experience i got some shoulder problems when jumping into much bigger swimming than i'd have been used to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

I'm off to that part of the world in April too but the week before you guys. I'm hiring a bike over there. I'll be training on my own though as I'm going with my OH and some family. Would love to see the info that Cunavalos shared if you don't mind.

Cracking idea by the way El D. You teachers have it tough - skiing and now a training camp :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭El Director

Cheers guys. I will PM you the info he sent me P.

On the swimming front I am definitely up for changing it around. The two swim sessions wouldn't be both tough going. I was thinking something along the line:

Morning Focus Swim Fitness; Long Swim

Evening Focus Drills/Technique; Swim starts-sprint/chest high etc...; Drafting; Sighting etc, etc.....

But like I said this may not work out so I am open to suggestion.

Looking forward to it actually and it is perfect timing because it will be nearly May when we get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭hunkymonkey

Would think that's unusual to go for a WWT week and have the focus on swimming, unless your swimming is very poor. The main benefit with a week in the sun at this time of year would be to increase your bike mileage at zone1-2 intensity. Doesn't need to be too scientific, just once ya get out for 3-4hrs per day with a run off every bike for between 30-45min. The fourth day is usually a good day to have an easy day, focus on swim/run. Then get a good last two days.*
    Swimming can always be done when at home in a pool, make good use of the weather.*
    So in short, if it was me (approx)
    Ya can swim every morning before bike
    Day 1 cycle 3hrs & 30min run
    Day 2 cycle 3.30hrs & 30min run
    Day 3 cycle 4hrs & 30min run
    Day 4 swim/run approx 90 min for both.*
    Day 5 cycle 4hrs & 30min run
    Day 6 cycle 4.5hrs & 30min run

Not knowing where ya are training wise, it's hard to say anything else. Having too much intensity on a training week can have ya whacked when ya get back and negate the effect of going away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

And the benefits of high volumes on swimming for non competitive swimmers are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

By no means an expert but would have to agree with hunkymonkey, surely the idea is to get loads of time on the bike with the good weather.

Otherwise your as well off taking a week off staying here and training and taking a holiday some other time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

3-4hrs a day on the bike... doing what? All easy?
    Where does the end of April slot into your yearly plan?

That volume of easy work on the bike would be great, back in Dec/Jan if it was consistant and not just for one week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Also, run off every bike? Why?

mloc123 wrote: »
    3-4hrs a day on the bike... doing what? All easy?
    Where does the end of April slot into your yearly plan?

That volume of easy work on the bike would be great, back in Dec/Jan if it was consistant and not just for one week.

Cheers MLOC and good question. The end of April would be the end of my first build phase so I will be including race pace stuff.

I think what I will do is, once I come up with a schedule I will post it here and let ye tear into it and see what ye think. One thing I will say though is that this will be a training only week, I am going and just want to focus completely on that so I intend in getting a lot of all 3 disciplines in! I will be taking a rest/recovery week when I get back and taking two rest days before I go out there.

Also thanks to Needs Training for PM(ing) me a schedule for a WWT week by a well known coach, I will use this as a template.

Would think that's unusual to go for a WWT week and have the focus on swimming, unless your swimming is very poor. The main benefit with a week in the sun at this time of year would be to increase your bike mileage at zone1-2 intensity. Doesn't need to be too scientific, just once ya get out for 3-4hrs per day with a run off every bike for between 30-45min. The fourth day is usually a good day to have an easy day, focus on swim/run. Then get a good last two days.*
    Swimming can always be done when at home in a pool, make good use of the weather.*
    So in short, if it was me (approx)
    Ya can swim every morning before bike
    Day 1 cycle 3hrs & 30min run
    Day 2 cycle 3.30hrs & 30min run
    Day 3 cycle 4hrs & 30min run
    Day 4 swim/run approx 90 min for both.*
    Day 5 cycle 4hrs & 30min run
    Day 6 cycle 4.5hrs & 30min run

Not knowing where ya are training wise, it's hard to say anything else. Having too much intensity on a training week can have ya whacked when ya get back and negate the effect of going away.

Thanks for the input HM. My swimming is poor enough tbh. However swimming won't be my main focus, I was thinking of a 1.5hr session in the morning and a 30-45min session in the evening, but reconsidering now.

As regards running off the bike, I do plan on doing it but not on every bike ride.
    kennyb3 wrote: »
    By no means an expert but would have to agree with hunkymonkey, surely the idea is to get loads of time on the bike with the good weather.

Otherwise your as well off taking a week off staying here and training and taking a holiday some other time.

Thanks KB, I will spend plenty of time in the saddle for sure. As I am used to being up at 6 I will continue with this so as to make full use of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

Mid day naps will come in handy with such a high training volume ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭hunkymonkey

From the original post, it looks like the OP isn't following any specific training plan til now (or else following one badly, as he aint doing any swimming). Not sure of his standard and whether he’s done a half IM before, but would have thought he wouldn’t be asking a question (no offence ED) for plans if he had. So keeping it simple is the main thing with a plan for a week like this. All ya have to do is turn up, the less thinking the better.
    He is going for a week’s training with a guy who is training for an IM, so having a plan that sits in the middle for them will work. He mentioned his A-race is in September, four months from this date. If he’s trying to do like most triathletes and peak numerous times during the season, it won’t work (only for the ‘lucky’ few who know how to plan). Most triathletes just enter a bunch of races and by the time September comes around, they are no more interested in racing. This can be seen every year in lost sheep, Kenmare. The people who originally enter is different from those who do it, as a high % transfer or don't show up as they realise they have run out of steam by the start of August. I presume it will be similar for half- IM Galway.
    As for not running off the bike, that’s just a 'lazy' attitude. He's not training to be a cyclist, its triathlon. Again all too often people go with the easy option, everyone is tired when finishing a bike. The easy option is to skip the run. If it’s non-negotiable, then it just gets done, no thinking.
    The run should be easy, you will learn certain things, such as pace & relaxation.
    Having gone warm weather training every year since 2002 with a range of differing abilities, I've seen what works, and what doesn't and the pitfalls people fall into.
    A week like this suits very few people as increasing the volume significantly will only lead to an overuse injury (good luck with the 2 swim sessions a day, especially since ya haven't being doing any) Remember you'll have to look elsewhere for medical advice re shoulders on your return, as it ain’t allowed on this forum J
    Normally for people going on a week like this, the safe thing is to increase the bike once they are biomechanically sound. All too often I've seen people hammer the first two days and then be blitzed for the rest of the week. The purpose of the rest day four is to come back strong for the last two days. Not taking into account the heat which will be in > 15oC from here, so that has to be taken into account. If he’s under 25, he can come back quicker from making mistakes i.e. recover quicker.
    Again a week like this shouldn’t be rocket science, making sure you don’t come back injured is top priority, safely increasing time on the bike is the key to week like this. The more experienced, the more you look at your limiters and if appropriate work on them e.g. hill work, but not to point that it compromises your recovery. You know it’s working correctly when your undercarriage is sorer than your legs, so pack the industrial strength sudocreme J
    Theres lots of other factors that are of importance while on a week like this e.g. nutrition, recovery etc

From the original post, it looks like the OP isn't following any specific training plan til now (or else following one badly, as he aint doing any swimming).

Don't remember saying that I haven't done any swimming. I have a plan alright and was following it to a tee until a shoulder problem put paid to swimming for two weeks (fine now) a cold stopped me and I had a ski trip last week. So all in all 3 weeks of swimming missed, not detrimental to my season or anything, just anxious to make up for it.

Not sure of his standard and whether he’s done a half IM before, but would have thought he wouldn’t be asking a question (no offence ED) for plans if he had. So keeping it simple is the main thing with a plan for a week like this. All ya have to do is turn up, the less thinking the better.
    He is going for a week’s training with a guy who is training for an IM, so having a plan that sits in the middle for them will work.

I haven't done a HIM before but I am confident that I can do the distance and I will be aiming for a time of around 4:50. It was really idea's of key sessions and any advice or tips from athletes that have done a self coached trip like this before, basically trying not to make the same mistakes as others before me.

He mentioned his A-race is in September, four months from this date. If he’s trying to do like most triathletes and peak numerous times during the season, it won’t work (only for the ‘lucky’ few who know how to plan). Most triathletes just enter a bunch of races and by the time September comes around, they are no more interested in racing. This can be seen every year in lost sheep, Kenmare. The people who originally enter is different from those who do it, as a high % transfer or don't show up as they realise they have run out of steam by the start of August. I presume it will be similar for half- IM Galway

I have two A races this year, one on the last weekend of June and one on the first weekend of Sept. Actually very very similar to last season. I planned to peak on those weekends last year and I can honestly say that I did. So I know how to do it and there is no reason why I won't this year. It is probably true what you say re 'most' triathletes, but not all.

As for not running off the bike, that’s just a 'lazy' attitude. He's not training to be a cyclist, its triathlon. Again all too often people go with the easy option, everyone is tired when finishing a bike. The easy option is to skip the run. If it’s non-negotiable, then it just gets done, no thinking.
    The run should be easy, you will learn certain things, such as pace & relaxation.

I will run off all long bike rides for 20/30 min easy pace. After TT's or power or strength sessions off the bike....well I haven't decided, probably will and use them to practise transitions.

Having gone warm weather training every year since 2002 with a range of differing abilities, I've seen what works, and what doesn't and the pitfalls people fall into.

Please, if you have time, enlighten me, this is exactly what I was looking for.

A week like this suits very few people as increasing the volume significantly will only lead to an overuse injury (good luck with the 2 swim sessions a day, especially since ya haven't being doing any) Remember you'll have to look elsewhere for medical advice re shoulders on your return, as it ain’t allowed on this forum

The overuse type injury is something that concerns me, so I will have to be careful.
    Normally for people going on a week like this, the safe thing is to increase the bike once they are biomechanically sound. All too often I've seen people hammer the first two days and then be blitzed for the rest of the week. The purpose of the rest day four is to come back strong for the last two days. Not taking into account the heat which will be in > 15oC from here, so that has to be taken into account. If he’s under 25, he can come back quicker from making mistakes i.e. recover quicker.

I have been increasing the bike miles since Christmas and biking is actually going really well. I'm 30 now but recovering has never really been a problem. The heat though could be a problem, 26 degrees this week there.

Again a week like this shouldn’t be rocket science, making sure you don’t come back injured is top priority,

+1 100% agree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hey ElD just my 2c here. I think 2 swims a day is overkill dude. Going from 0-3 swims a week to that is madness. I was in Lanza at this time last year for a week and while it was a holiday I did a long easy swim everyday varied between the pool and the beaches. I basically just enjoyed the novelty of swimming OW in the sunshine. No sets, and the only focus on long easy strokes. It was my biggest swim week by far but also the most enjoyable one. I doubt I'd have felt that way if I had done precribed pool sets and brought fins! As a result I had a thirst for swimming when I got back and put the energy into drills and technique in the pool.

I brought my runners too just to get a few runs in and learned that the few runs I did in the heat took more out of me. So no way would I be looking at clocking up run mileage on a WW camp. Running would be very very specific.

I do wish I had brought my bike though. Nice roads, sunshine, wind, hills. I'd love to be going on a WW camp to get cycling done and to practice bike nutrition in the heat.

First and foremost, train with purpose, then enjoy it. You want to get back with a whole bunch of learning and energy on board to reap the benefit :)

Hey ElD just my 2c here. I think 2 swims a day is overkill dude. Going from 0-3 swims a week to that is madness. I was in Lanza at this time last year for a week and while it was a holiday I did a long easy swim everyday varied between the pool and the beaches. I basically just enjoyed the novelty of swimming OW in the sunshine. No sets, and the only focus on long easy strokes. It was my biggest swim week by far but also the most enjoyable one. I doubt I'd have felt that way if I had done precribed pool sets and brought fins! As a result I had a thirst for swimming when I got back and put the energy into drills and technique in the pool.

I brought my runners too just to get a few runs in and learned that the few runs I did in the heat took more out of me. So no way would I be looking at clocking up run mileage on a WW camp. Running would be very very specific.

I do wish I had brought my bike though. Nice roads, sunshine, wind, hills. I'd love to be going on a WW camp to get cycling done and to practice bike nutrition in the heat.

First and foremost, train with purpose, then enjoy it. You want to get back with a whole bunch of learning and energy on board to reap the benefit :)

Cheers MCOS. Ya I won't be doing that now and you are right. While on holiday in Cyprus last year I just loved swimming, concentrating on long, easy strokes and nothing else and I was looking forward to pool sessions when I got back and it was that that set me up for good swims in my last 3/4 races. Totally forgot all that :o cheers for reminding me. This kinda gives me a new perspective. Any long(ish) run will be done in the cool evening and in Z1/Z2, but there will only be a max of 2, I'm actually looking forward to track work.

Cheers again man.