Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning up to vote in a wedding dress...

• 28-02-2011 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭

Okay, this might be a small thing in the overall scheme of things but did anybody else cringe at the sight of that woman in her wedding dress casting her vote in the West of Ireland on Friday? Surely this was nothing more than a publicity seeking stunt by her?

I mean, she could easily have gone to the polling station on Friday morning before she got into her wedding garb as it wouldn't have taken very long. Instead, she chooses to turn up at the polling station complete with bridesmaids and photographers, and oh yeah, RTE just happened to be there! What are the chances of that happening??? (without a few phone calls being made beforehand....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

So what? Get over it. The election was last week:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Okay, this might be a small thing in the overall scheme of things but did anybody else cringe at the sight of that woman in her wedding dress casting her vote in the West of Ireland on Friday? Surely this was nothing more than a publicity seeking stunt by her?

Where have you been? They do this every election, every single election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

and nuns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I can't get over it. I'm a sad git. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

It was a morning wedding. Do you know how long it takes the typical woman to get ready on her wedding day? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,326 ✭✭✭paul71

Victor wrote: »
    It was a morning wedding. Do you know how long it takes the typical woman to get ready on her wedding day? :)

Does any man who has not been father of a bride? Who the hell would want to hang arround a house through that?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Photo Op christ every woman i know wants to make the local rag in some shape or form on her wedding day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I agree with victor it takes women half ages to get ready on their wedding day.

But talking about cringing. There is something undignified about these middle aged politicians being bounced about on peoples shoulders after geting voted in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The "it takes ages to get ready" thing is guff, the bride could easily have gotten her hair and make up done but gone to vote in ordinary clothes. It was just attention-seeking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Happens every election. Think there were two this time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

phasers wrote: »
    The "it takes ages to get ready" thing is guff, the bride could easily have gotten her hair and make up done but gone to vote in ordinary clothes. It was just attention-seeking.

So actually make things a little more difficult for herself just so she wouldn't be seen to draw attention to herself. Thats such an irish attitude..... look at yer wan showing off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Come on now, if I was getting married on an election day, I would turn up to vote in my tux. It makes a decent photo for the album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

They clearly ring RTE before they're going..sure why not..

As well as nuns, they always show some very very old person voting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

It's not just for the photos, it is a memory that can be talked about for years to come. If they have kids it will become "the day Mammy and Daddy were on the tele". If an opportunity arose for any bride across the country to show everyone how beautiful she looks on her wedding day she will take it, its not just the election day it is also her wedding day, let her have it :)

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Barf. Sorry, but barf.

Yes, let's educate the plebs in how important it is to vote. I fear for anyone who was on the fence about voting being impressed enough by that to take themselves down to the polling station.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I missed "the farmer carrying the neighbours to the polling station on the back of the tractor" photo this time round.

There's always one. Anyone else see it ?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

maybe it was a shotgun wedding as she was up the poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

I also think it's symbolic to see a bride at the polling booth. A marriage is a new beginning for a couple, and an election, especially at a time like this, can be a new beginning for the country.

I'd love to see you analysing poetry :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭county man

I mean, she could easily have gone to the polling station on Friday morning before she got into her wedding garb as it wouldn't have taken very long. Instead, she chooses to turn up at the polling station complete with bridesmaids and photographers, and oh yeah, RTE just happened to be there! What are the chances of that happening??? (without a few phone calls being made beforehand....)

It was but so what?If she wants to show off I say let her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

They also show pictures of the party leaders voting for themselves every time:D

I was bending the ear off anyone who would listen (or had no choice to :o ) on Friday giving out about that - WHY do they insist on doing that every time? We know they vote, FFS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Not always. :)

Although he's no longer party leader, Ruari Quinn said he gave his number 1 vote to Kevin Humphries.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Anyone mention the story of the fellow hoping to be first to vote at his local polling station, only to meet a young lad voting on his way to the airport from which he was emigrating.