Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pics from Sally Gap

• 27-02-2011 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭

I snapped a few pics today on the Thinkbike spin and promised some of the Dundrum girls I'd post a photo for them as their cameraphone was acting up.

great day for it today and very busy with roadies everywhere, although we were lucky with the strong tailwind helping us up the hill from Brittas to Sally Gap.

Pics are here ignore the short video if youre on a slow connection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

poochiem wrote: »
    although we were lucky with the strong tailwind helping us up the hill from Brittas to Sally Gap.

Although paid for it with headwind from cross roads to kippure and again on decent into glencree but yeah good first visit of the year to the Gap of Sally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

all those gorgeous women i want to join that club straight away :D:D.ah i'm way to old buy great photos anyway thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Looks like a nice place for a jaunt, must put on my list of things to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Looks gorgeous indeed!

Are these spins open to all? Are they every Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Did you pass me today, I thought I saw someone snapping pics as I passed up around there.

I had a boards kit on, black bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Did you pass me today, I thought I saw someone snapping pics as I passed up around there.

I had a boards kit on, black bike.

yep I rem passing a boardsie alright in fact i think i have a pic of you on the laptop but as fr.dougal would say youre either very small or far away :)

That's me alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

buffalo wrote: »
    Looks gorgeous indeed!

Are these spins open to all? Are they every Saturday?

Yes they are open to all but at this stage would be more of an intermediate level (great improvement by all our beginners this year), our road spins are actually on a Sunday and we leave from the shop in rathmines at 9.30 am but will get earlier as weather improves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

poochiem wrote: »

Shorts and SS Jersey! Hardcore.

daragh_ wrote: »
    Shorts and SS Jersey! Hardcore.

That's all the gear I have :D

Truth be told I was overheating for much of the day anyway, only coming down off the Sally Gap and from Ashford when wet was I cold.

The temperature is supposed to drop a degree every 100m ascending but I find that I'm pumping sweat by the top of Sally Gap! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Still, was pretty cold up there yesterday morning. We were there around 11 and I was freezing, despite leg warmers and my winter jersey.

Did get to sit outside for a coffee in enniskerry though :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I wore the same (S/S and shorts) and got ridiculed for it. Up hill was grand but the downhills were ferociously cold, the wind was atrocious, had to peddle all the time on the downhills to keep moving as the wind would literally push you back, couple of sidewinds as well where I felt my rear wheel slip as well.

Glad I wasn't the only one attempting it. I eventually gave in and put on a L/S under my S/S, after this I was given a gilet and a skullcap from Cadex out of pity as darkness descended around Laragh. Thanks again for those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Were you guys at the cafe at Laragh around noon as well?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Not the sally Gap but from earlier in the day, only time I remembered to take out my camera:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Yes they are open to all but at this stage would be more of an intermediate level (great improvement by all our beginners this year), our road spins are actually on a Sunday and we leave from the shop in rathmines at 9.30 am but will get earlier as weather improves

Ah, I'm usually out with Orwell on Sunday, but often other activities interfere. It'd be perfect to have a Saturday option as well as or instead of Sunday - looks like a nice crew!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Was up there yesterday on a day off and on the road from Sally Gap to Kilbride there was a girl with a very nice Cervelo machine getting what looked like publicity pictures. Not sure if it was her or the bike they were taking pictures of but you couldn't have gotten a better day for it.

Just a couple of pics from this morning's thinkbike ascent to Sally Gap...it was too wet and cold for fingers and lenses to operate but the capuccino in Glencree was never as welcome
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_reynolds/sets/72157626211447216/