Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a good end and an even better start

• 27-02-2011 2:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭

a good end to my season as i bagged two red hinds
    and a good start to one shot one kills stalking

i had told one shot one kill a few weeks ago that id bring him shooting deer as hes looking to start stalking
    after trying to arrange a stalk over the last few weekends but having no luck due to work etc
    we finally got to go this morning

id spotted 3 reds on a permission i have as i was going to work on tuesday
    and texted him to let him know
    i prayed all week that they would be left alone as they were only about 400 yards off the road and god knows who might disturb them
    drove by again during the week and no sign of them

so anyway i met him this morning in town around half six and ditched his car and went in mine
    drove to a small let i have and got out to have a look after a quick scan and saw nothing we went to where id seen the reds
    we could scan the valley from the road and could see nothing i was kind of annoyed as its usually a good spot
    so on we went to another bit of land ive permission on
    and walked it, this is usually a good spot to and still no sign of a deer
    i was getting annoyed now as he had come an hours drive and we havent even seen a deer at this stage

so on we went to the other side of the valley where the reds were
    as we walk in from where the car was we disturb about 25 hen phesants and they start going everywhere
    i thought to myself any deer within 2 miles has heard all the commotion
    so we walk along the bottom of the valley along the edge of the forest and get to the end of it and still no sign of a deer
    was well annoyed at this stage but didnt want one shot one kill to know :p
    so we head back up the hill along a track where the trees are cut down under the electricity wires
    i hop the fence and turn to grab the rifle off one shot one kill
    as i turn around my eyes focus in on a horse shaped object in a gap in the ditch back down in the valley
    heres my 3 reds just at the edge of the woods
    i grab the rifle and throw it up to my shoulder to have a look

next thing i spot a herd of about 15 fallow in the next field behind the reds
    the deer werent here when we scanned the valley from the road at the other side
    we quickly scarper back down the valley and make our way around the outside of the woods cross a drain and find a suitable gap in the ditch

as i peer through the gap heres my 3 reds grazing at the forest edge
    i study them for a second before shooting the one nearest to the woods
    it drops on the spot
    the other two run away from the woods as they see there friend in a heap on the ground
    next thing the one i shot gets back up and follows the 2 that are now running around us in a U shape to make it back to the forest
    they cross the drain and run about 50 yards and stop for there friend
    im observing the one i shot first so i can put a second one in it
    as soon as they stop i nail it with a second and it drops to the ground
    after inspecting entry and exit wounds there both bang on grazed the heart and lungs it was just a hardy deer

the other two run and stop for a second to steady themselves as they
    approach a gap in a ditch to cross it
    as they do i shoot the second, on inspecting the shot after i notice its slightly forward and i clip the shoulder and also find bone buried in it lung
    the deer makes it into a small woods and cant go any further
    it just stood there
    i give it one in the back of the head to finish it off

on grollaching them i show one shot one kill how its done and what to look out for
    a short drag of about 350 yards has the two deer in the farmers yard
    i did this to give him a taste of what its like
    ya wont always have the farmer collecting the deer for ya
    and the reds are about the same size as your biggest fallow buck

we clean up and go for a coffee in the shop
    as we wait for the farmer to get up and open the gates so we can drive in and collect the deer
    we call back around ten and meet the farmer in the yard
    and have a good chat with him as we load them
    as were leaving the farmer cracks a good joke of having two less to feed

we forgot the cameras so could only get a pic in my garden

[IMG][/img]P4110002.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

realy nice finish to the season.

well done. did one shot one kill do the grolick for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Very nice. Those red hinds are big beasts. Lovely animals and nice to see lads to helpful to new guys to the game. I've enjoyed the hospitality and patience of a couple of real gentlemen this season and I hope I can repay the favour down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    realy nice finish to the season.

well done. did one shot one kill do the grolick for you.

no i did
    there tricky enough to do for a first timer
    ya nearly have to climb into them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

i have one thing to say

it was some morning great crack and a very worthwhile experiance

i didnt do the grollock for two reasons
    1. my heart was racing after our 200-250 yard sprint to get a second shot of before we lost the red in the threes.

2. i was nervous cause i had never seen it done infront of me before so it was got to watch and learn also i was a bit gob smacked with what was after happening

infainess id say we were out for about 30-40 mins before we hit the permission were daithi toom tbe reds then about 20 min walk before we spotted them back down the hill crossed the drain and from here i would say definitly about 3-4 mins includind our sprint and it was all over

then an all new experiance started for me

daithi very kindly offered for me to take a deer unfortunitly i had to decline because i was in the womans car for starters and all with out experiance in skinning and butchering i thought it would be best to leave him and let daithi get full advantage
    after all it was his shot and gun

i have to say thanks very much daithi it was a great morning

started to look like we werent gonna get a shot but ended up been a very good morning

oh ye the drag wasnt that tough but tough enough to make ask for a small break and to give me great respect for how hard it could be after a quick look around i realised it definitly could of been an awfull lot worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Fair play lads. Met daithi the other day, an absolute gent. You were in good hands one shot. Glad ye got somethin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Well done lads.
    I'll never forget my first deer.

I had a great day myself, not as good as yours though.

I had one of the best stalks of my life, but the light bet me.
    I went to one of my favourite spots (where I got my Sept 1st deer)

While I was out, I saw a huge Cock phezzie, walked around to a little pond on the edge of the wood and up rose 2 Mallard. I tried to get a pic but the camera phone was not quick enough.

I crossed through a marsh and got on the right side of the wood.
    Just as darkness was falling I caught a glimpse of movement.
    I glassed the field and here was a herd of deer.

It was 5 past 7 at this stage and light was fading fast.
    The deer were 300 yards off.
    The high side of the wood is a grain field and made stalking very hard across open ground. However as the light was fading fast the deer could not see me either.

I stalked to within 100 yards and then glassed again. No sign.
    I stood up to hear a Doe bark.
    Then I saw 7-10 deer burst through the ditch.

At this point is was 7:30 and I decided to call it a night, Maybe a season.

All in all I was happy out, not a shot fired, soaked to the skin; but full of the joys of nature

Here is a pic of the Pond and the wood.
    attachment.php?attachmentid=149787&d=1298838578

I 'll be back 1st of September to see how my 4 legged friends are getting on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭clivej

Well done lads. :)

One shot you'll be ready for next saeson. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

fair play guys, great day and great end to the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Fair play lads. Met daithi the other day, an absolute gent. You were in good hands one shot. Glad ye got somethin!!

your right he is a seriosly sound lad and a good laugh told me a very funny story on callin foxs today very very funny
    clivej wrote: »

hopefully now gonna put in a bit of effort now and trysort out permissions early as it might have grown on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

hopefully now gonna put in a bit of effort now and trysort out permissions early as it might have grown on me[/QUOTE]

It defo will grow on ya. Its a wonderful sport. The thrill of the chase (stalk), pitting your skills against a truly magnificant clever animal. The rush you will get around the time of the shot and for a long time after. Just do the animal justice. Learn all you can about quick clean dispatch. Pratice like hell till you can put the bullet exactley where it needs to go. Learn quickly how to clean out, bleed and manage the dead animal to get the best meat. Use the correct equipment, ie suitable calibre, good bullet, properly zeroed scope. Enjoy and be safe.

your right he is a seriosly sound lad and a good laugh told me a very funny story on callin foxs today very very funny

hopefully now gonna put in a bit of effort now and trysort out permissions early as it might have grown on me

what was the story was talkin for hours with ya lol

clivej wrote: »

and may return the favour lol