Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Four out of five seats go to FG.

• 27-02-2011 3:39am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭

Though it was tentatively predicted, I really didn't think they'd pull it off. Was sure SF or Labour would win a seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Fantastic achievement for FG.

It was said last night that if they had run 5 candidates it would have been possible to get them all elected with good vote management.

calleary will feel pretty lonely, the spanner that he is.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

jmayo wrote: »
    Fantastic achievement for FG.

It was said last night that if they had run 5 candidates it would have been possible to get them all elected with good vote management.

calleary will feel pretty lonely, the spanner that he is.

Less lonesome than most of the rest of his erstwhile FF colleagues!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Someone will be along shortly to educate us all about Enda being the reason FG didn't get 5 out of 5 in Mayo ;)

Always liked Mayo people!

johngalway wrote: »
    Someone will be along shortly to educate us all about Enda being the reason FG didn't get 5 out of 5 in Mayo ;)

Always liked Mayo people!

I am now going to go through every one of your posts to make sure you aren't lying ;)
    Tehre was one or two Galway ones aorund here who were not of your disposition.

I have always supported fellow Connacht counties, bar Roscommon as I have only ever been caught speeding there and the roads are sh**e.
    Now that they have dione the right thing and brought in Ming, I have to change my opinion of them.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Roscommon as I have only ever been caught speeding there

How you manage that :P ive yet to find a straight stretch with no potholes

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    How you manage that :P ive yet to find a straight stretch with no potholes

Tarmonbarry to Strokestown
    Carrick on Shannon to Rooskey

I know usually the roads are dire apart form those two sections

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I think it would have been hard for them to get five seats, would have diluted the vote too far and allowed the Independent to sneak in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Roscommon..........roads.........

:confused::confused::confused:

Although I agree about Ming. Fair play to the Rossies for that.

Tarmonbarry to Strokestown
    Carrick on Shannon to Rooskey

I know usually the roads are dire apart form those two sections

Yeah, the roads in Roscommon are dire. But Mayo is not much better in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Something creepy though about the fact that 65 per cent of voters in the county voted for them!

Why is it creepy? Mayo has never been a SF or Labour county.

Because the percentage is way out of trend with the national figure, and will probably make Enda and the other TDs very arrogant in the county now.

The fact that even Labour and SF can't even get a decent vote there says a lot about the voters too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

The fact that even Labour and SF can't even get a decent vote there says a lot about the voters too!

Yep it does, mainly along the lines that we don't buy into their populist and unsustainable economic policies, or their association with bloodshed in the case of SF.

Avns1s wrote: »
    Yep it does, mainly along the lines that we don't buy into their populist and unsustainable economic policies, or their association with bloodshed in the case of SF.

Your county gave 4 out of 6 FF TDs for several elections in the past.

Wouldn't be too proud of that either!

Your point being? (in the context of this thread being about the election just gone)

That more than anywhere else in the country, Mayo voters seem stuck in their ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

That more than anywhere else in the country, Mayo voters seem stuck in their ways.
    How does a county who went from 4 FF 2 FG to 4 FG 1 FF in a couple of decades constitute a county "stuck in its ways"? :confused:

Over the past decade and a bit the electorate in Mayo has moved from predominantly supporting FF to overwhelmingly supporting FG. That sounds like they're 'stuck in their ways' alright! :rolleyes:

lugha wrote: »
    How does a county who went from 4 FF 2 FG to 4 FG 1 FF in a couple of decades constitute a county "stuck in its ways"? :confused:

Because they have decided to replace one of the civil war sides of the coin with the other - not very radical!

Bev Flynn being elected as an independent does not count as radical either.

One of those counties too where the young and more open minded have mainly left for Dublin or further away.

Ah, yes, because if you vote FG or FF, you're an uneducated hick. :rolleyes:

A minority of voters vote for these parties for admirable reasons, but you can't deny the majority over the years did so only because mammy or daddy before them voted the same way.

I know people who vote SF because their parents do...

I know there is a small group of SF/republican families outside of the North, but it pales in comparison to FF/FG in fairness.

Always boggles my mind why the counties must underfunded by successive governments vote overwhelmingly for the long established parties.

Believe me, with FG getting something in the region of 65% of the vote in Mayo, your theory of voting for the same parties as mammy and daddy is well shot down. You mentioned yourself about the breakdown of seats not even two decades ago.

If you want people to support the left, then you better come up with credible candidates, with credible and realistic policies, neither of which has been done in Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Though it was tentatively predicted, I really didn't think they'd pull it off. Was sure SF or Labour would win a seat.

76/166 = 45.78% ~ just under a half but not 4/5.

Edit: Ooops, I didn't realise you were taking about the Bogland of Mayo.

Mayo people are very clanish (I can say this being of partial Mayonnaise blood), they vote for their own and when they see that the next Taoiseach of Ireland could be a Mayo man they'd naturally vote for him and his party in resounding numbers to guarantee that he will become Taoiseach. Mayo was never really a FG heartland until Enda Kenny came on the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

There is no surprise that FG got a big vote in Mayo.
    In any constituency were the potential next Taoiseach is running you will see a swing towards that party.
    There was a FG swing in 2007, with the potential of Kenny being Taoiseach, that gave FG three seats out of five.

On the SF and Labour thing.
    It was said on TV on Saturday night that for all their success Lab were still a Leinster and Munster party.
    They ended up with a seat in Galway East but with the exception of Michael D Higgins they have never fared well in Connaught and Ulster.
    Labour are traditionally a party of big towns and cities that has a core working class.
    This core working class is a lot smaller in places like Castlebar and Ballina than it is in Cork, Waterford, Dundalk or Athlone.

The same is true for SF.
    Apart from their united Ireland ideas they are a left leaning party that has a core vote in working class areas on big towns and cities.
    Mayo does not have that working class core and to be honest the people don't give a toss about a united Ireland it seems.
    Also I really wonder about their two candidate strategy, very odd.

A lot of us would say voting for shinners is creepy.
    Because the percentage is way out of trend with the national figure, and will probably make Enda and the other TDs very arrogant in the county now.

Oh so Mayo people should vote according to some national trend ?
    BTW Enda doesn't do arrogance or egostical.

No it might say a lot about the calibre of sf and Labour candidates.
    It might say a lot about the voters that they don't want to vote for a party that backs Garda Killers and talks fairytale economics.

No I wouldn't be proud of that or the votes that bev flynn got, but unlike some places Mayo appears to have decided to vote for people with better ethics and morals.

I think other posters have debunked this sh**e.
    I will just add how Mayo voted in an independent Jerry Cowley in 2002.
    Because they have decided to replace one of the civil war sides of the coin with the other - not very radical!

Bev Flynn being elected as an independent does not count as radical either.

Talking about arrogance. :rolleyes:
    People could also say that some who mindlessly vote for Labour or sf are based on their history are not open minded.

I love the way some party's supporters refer to ff and FG as civil war parties yet they hark back even further to 1916 and the like.
    It is the usual let us refer to history but no one else must.

Well how could they have voted for them as mammy or daddy did if as you claim above that the young have left ?

It might say a lot about the voters that they don't want to vote for a party that backs Garda Killers and talks fairytale economics.

No I wouldn't be proud of that or the votes that bev flynn got, but unlike some places Mayo appears to have decided to vote for people with better ethics and morals.

People could also say that some who mindlessly vote for Labour or sf are based on their history are not open minded.

I love the way some party's supporters refer to ff and FG as civil war parties yet they hark back even further to 1916 and the like.

Well how could they have voted for them as mammy or daddy did if as you claim above that the young have left ?

Good post.

A couple of additional points:

1. The FG team in Mayo dont do arrogance period!!

2. Jerry Cowley was elected in 2002 as you say and was promptly rejected by the electorate in 2007 and again in 2011 as he delivered sod all when in the Dail. This to me signifies a discerning electorate and should be complimented.

1. The FG team in Mayo dont do arrogance period!!

This is mostly true but I can tell you with insider knowledge that one of the Mayo FG team IS an arrogant ****er. :cool:

Name and shame, because I know them all quite well as I do Dara, and I couldn't in all honesty level an accusation of what I call arrogance at any of the 5.

In fairness, I have been reading your posts for some time and you're dyed in the wool FG - so maybe you can't see the wider problem here.

Love how you resort to broad terms about killers and economic fantasists too!

Just notifying that there is a danger in one party dominating a constituency so much, and how a minority of voters in the area may feel that they won't be adequately represented.

Who has better ethics or morals? Care to outline.

Finally, i'm not really talking about younger people when I mention voting trends - but those into middle or late age who vote the same way as parents/grandparents did. Everyone knows several families like this.

Name and shame, because I know them all quite well as I do Dara, and I couldn't in all honesty level an accusation of what I call arrogance at any of the 5.

Wow, you know them, and you don't who I'm talking about. Wow. I have this info from people working on the campaign. And they wanted this person elected but still found them unpleasant to deal with.

And Dara Calleary? Ack.

Wow, you know them, and you don't who I'm talking about. Wow.

And Dara Calleary? Ack.

No, I don't! Perhaps they save the arrogance for yourself!

Yes, that'll be it.