Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the police everywhere lately

• 27-02-2011 2:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭

Have you met many checkpoints recently?

I have been stopped 3 times in the past 6 weeks in the Laois area, Have you been stopped more regularly recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

The weather got better, happens every year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

I heard they are checking diesel vehicles to make sure they are not using red-diesel.. I have seen and heard of them doing this a lot the last few weeks actually:eek:..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Its about 3 months since i seen a checkpoint and about a year or more since i was actually stopped at one. Donegal area.

jamesr123 wrote: »
    I heard they are checking diesel vehicles to make sure they are not using red-diesel.. I have seen and heard of them doing this a lot the last few weeks actually:eek:..

That would be customs accompanied by AGS me thinks :)

Back to the OPs question, haven't noticed any more than usual in Cork City, in fact I haven't seen a checkpoint in 2011 to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I was stopped once in Co. Westmeath last year, and once in Co. Galway 2 years ago.
    In Westmeath he looked at my discs and told me to go, in Galway he brethylised me, never bothered looking at discs and told me to go. I was never asked for my licence.
    Beside I've never been stopped anywhere else, including Mayo where I drive the most.
    And I really drive a lot including evenings and nights.

For comparision when I spend 1 month in Poland recently, I was stopped twice, and during each checkpoint everything was checked. They keept me over 10 minutes each time. I was also stopped in Germany on a way back to Ireland. They started searching my car...

So pretty much I find Ireland as a country where roadside checks almost doesn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I drive maybe 1500kms per week and so far this year I have only seen 1 checkpoint on the N18. It was a GTC/Customs checkpoint. I stupidly stayed in the left lane behind a guy in a UK reg car so the Garda ended up questioning him in front of me for 5 minutes. Long time when you are on a dual carraigeway FFS!

I agree with the idea that the Garda are allergic to the rain so they will be out in numbers when the days get longer and the weather gets better.

I'm sure their quotas on speed detection are down now considering the nuisance that are the "Go Safe Cameras" so they won't be out as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I have only been stopped once so far this year- at a customs/garda checkpoint.
    They were looking for commercials with rear seats.
    Didn't look at tax, insurance, diesel check or anything else. Just rear seats.
    I have a crew cab, commercial tax band, but doing the football run with three kids in the back. The Customs guy just looks in the back and says "they are factory fitted, that's grand"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

6 years of driving and stopped once at a checkpoint. And thats with 5 years of driving through town a half three in the morning at weekends coming from work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its that time of the month and the weather is decent so beware for the next two days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭tankbarry

they are doing alot of breath testing lately in Waterford. 2 weeks ago they were checking tax , insurance and other things on a big road behind my house. they took 2 trailers and 4 cars off people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Trapster's been dinging in my pocket all week in Cork. Gards are hitting the Bloomfield Interchange (A well known money making spot with little or no safety issues) nearly every day, and the Rochestown road. They've been catching people coming out of the tunnel too - which IMHO is bad form, you actually have to slow down when you hit the roundabout 100m away, being 10kph over the limit there isn't really a safety issue either. Seems now that the good weather's back, they're all out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

They are on the 3 lane N7 Northbound near the petrol station setting up a speed check point

BE WARNED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

i dont have an issue with speed checks but up in the big smoke (south side) their latest fetish is hiding in bus shelters at night......some one is going to flatten one of these lads as they attempt to stop them imho. I ride my bike around a bit a see this first hand ad naseum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Stopped maybe 3 times last year AGS and Revenue this year I have already been stopped twice at least. Remember there is an election just happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Good few checks in wexford around oulart and ballycanew/ thursday wednesday lunchtime and afternoon but on back roads leading to Main arteries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

I think there is bound to be a drop in gardai out there a huge amount of them retired last year and there were very few replaced, I have seen a van in Glanmire opp GRANDONS but then thats a regular spot as every second person gets caught its nearly impossible to slow to the correct speed coming down that hill without endangering yourself or others, :mad::mad::mad: got caught twice in 1 week last year so now i crawl and have nearly been killed with fellas flying up behind me and nearly blowing me off the road, who makes these speed zones anyway and how often are they revised?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

cordub wrote: »
    who makes these speed zones anyway and how often are they revised?????

Yer man from AA was on the wireless talking about this.
    Apparently it is the individual local councils that decide the speed limits, not the NRA. Seems ludicrous sometimes where the 3 lane N4 at Lucan is 80kph and a small borreen in the middle of nowhere has the same limit.

And an official safety camera parked on the Cork side of Fermoy this afternoon, at the entrance of a farmers gate under some overgrown trees. This one was blue. Not really visible to the public, you'd want to know what to be looking out for. So much for 'We'll make these visible, and put them in dangerous spots'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Saw loads of Gardai out last night driving around Dublin, one checkpoint in Blackrock before Maxwell Motors heading southbound, and a fair few marked and unmarked cars elsewhere around the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

The weather got better, happens every year.

Thats the sum of it. You never see a gard in a raincoat or freezing his nuts off on a frosty morning.

There's an urban myth which says the hand held guns don't work in the rain. I don't know enough to comment on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭letsbehonest

In the last week I have seen them carry out a speed check on the Cashel bypass last Sunday afternoon. Then there was one on the Ulingford bypass at around 2am carrying out a speed check.
    On Wednesday I saw them seizing two cars in Mitchelstown.
    On Thursday I saw them carrying out a speed check on both sides of the Watergrasshill bypass and also there was a speed check near the silver springs hotel near the Opel garage and at the exit of the Jack Lynch tunnel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Drink driving checkpoint on the North Strand Road a few saturdays ago at about 2am in the morning.

Went past a checkpoint being set up on the N4 outbound not far past Kilmainham.

That's it so far this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

There's an urban myth which says the hand held guns don't work in the rain. I don't know enough to comment on it.

I don't think it is a myth, particles between a radar gun and its intended target would surely have an effect on its accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Came across a good few arund about new years, havnt come across any in a while.

Seeing loads of speed camera vans around though, spotted one on Saturday morning at 6.45 on the N80 actually, odd time and im sure they caught loads at that hour and on the stetch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

In the last week I have seen them carry out a speed check on the Cashel bypass last Sunday afternoon. Then there was one on the Ulingford bypass at around 2am carrying out a speed check.
    On Wednesday I saw them seizing two cars in Mitchelstown.
    On Thursday I saw them carrying out a speed check on both sides of the Watergrasshill bypass and also there was a speed check near the silver springs hotel near the Opel garage and at the exit of the Jack Lynch tunnel!
    the southeren gardai mustnt have had so many retirees so lol sem to everwhere in Cork !!!! will have to behave on the road !!:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I think I saw my first ever speed trap on the M50 today - three speedies and two squad cars lined up in the hard shoulder of an on ramp (N7 > southbound M50, IIRC). I saw one or two lads standing outside the cars, but didn't notice anyone specifically holding a speedgun.

Hopefully it was a training exercise, something to do with escorting a dignitary or some kind of sting operation or something, if it was an actual speed trap I'll be well disappointed.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Police in Ireland? I hope not because they have feck all power to do anything...they should go back to the north/UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

What is going on?

I have been stopped 4 times. Three times by the Gardai and once by Customs + Gardai. All in the Dublin area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

They also stop people in cork city centre.....:) especially outside the gates of St Finbarrs Cathedral at night, and at nearby Wandesfort quay a few times this year. My NCT had expired and they just moved me on. There is usually a bike speed-trapping at the railway bridge on the lower glanmire road and even on the south mall...at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Drove from Cork to Dublin and back today and saw 5 speed checks on the M8/M7 altogether

G Luxel wrote: »
    They also stop people in cork city centre.....especially outside the gates of St Finbarrs Cathedral at night

That's actually a really dangerous place to stop people. Cars coming from either College Road, or from Proby's Quay are usually flying around the corner by the Cathedral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

That's actually a really dangerous place to stop people. Cars coming from either College Road, or from Proby's Quay are usually flying around the corner by the Cathedral.

Thats there fault for driving fast!!!

Well, by flying I mean about 20mph, but it's still impossible to stop there because that particular section of road is so small that if there's 2/3 cars waiting to talk to a Gard, it'll only take someone rounding the corner at 10mph to have a rear end crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I was only thinking today that there's way more Gardai on the roads lately. I've driven from Dublin to Cork the last 4 weekends in a row and in the last 2 weekends I've seen loads more Gardai with speed cameras than I ever have, it felt like they were every few miles today on my journey back to Dublin. No checkpoints though. I've only ever been through a checkpoint 3 times all for tax and insurance in 12 years of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

And an official safety camera parked on the Cork side of Fermoy this afternoon, at the entrance of a farmers gate under some overgrown trees. This one was blue. Not really visible to the public, you'd want to know what to be looking out for. So much for 'We'll make these visible, and put them in dangerous spots'.

It's probably a Garda one, only the GoSafe ones are claimed to be highly visible. Either that or it's a survey van.

Nope, this wasn't a Garda one. This was the shiny new ones with stickers all over. Just buried in a hedge on a stretch of road which isn't dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SimpleOrder

this happens every single year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

do they not come out in feb/march coz all the cars reg'd the previous jan will be out or nearly out of tax in feb/ march - timely reminder or a easy fine...

anyway - this week is the 20th anniversary of my driving ( legally ) and despite covering an awful lot of mileage in that time all over the world and at all times of the day and night - I have only ever been breathalysed once and that was the year I spent in Aus !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

Cabaal wrote: »
    Police in Ireland? I hope not because they have feck all power to do anything...they should go back to the north/UK.

Is this what your thinking about Police in Ireland!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPISMWa0SMU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

im just waiting for a letter from the guards with points for me cos they're out in force in cork the last month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Hogzy wrote: »
    Drove from Cork to Dublin and back today and saw 5 speed checks on the M8/M7 altogether
    Did Cork - Dublin Sat and return yesterday and didn't see a single check!
    Nope, this wasn't a Garda one. This was the shiny new ones with stickers all over. Just buried in a hedge on a stretch of road which isn't dangerous.

By IFI in Cobh this morning (blue one). Also blue one heading out of Bandon towards Clonakilty Friday afternoon. While the new vans are supposedly 'highly visible', sticking a blue/red van in a 'busy' background (such as parked cars, etc) makes them very hard to see - only saw the Bandon one as I passed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

Last time i was stopped i was stopped 3 times within about a mile and a half of each other on the south link, merchants quay and mc curtain street in cork. Stopped at each and every one. Even after explaining i'd been stopped at the last one. None since tho, and this was a couple months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Havn't seen a checkpoint since before Christmas.. Seen one new speed van on the Belgard road.. There used to be a speed van on the N4 every 2 weeks but again havn't seen it since Christmas.. If anything i have seen less presence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 MorganG831

Mate move to Wales, No cops here