Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long does butter last?

• 27-02-2011 1:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

Okay, so I think we would all agree that it's been a great day for Irish democracy. Joe Higgins, Shane Ross etc.

So I invested in some posh granary bread from Lidl and am looking forward to eating it with some Heinz beans. Those of us who didn't lose the run of ourselves in the boom years can still afford these luxuries.:pac:

I have some butter in the fridge which has been there for quite some time. It doesn't look discoloured in any way. Is it safe?

I will be discounting the opinions of Flutt,Pauleta,Melakalik and MickyDoomsux before ye even bother lads.

So, should I play it safe and just have the beans and the bread? Or should I slather the toast with the rancid butter and come back next week and play for the car?

AMC

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Have you... you know..... checked the date on the butter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Maybe your chocolate might know ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

its fine. if theres green fluffy stuff growing on top of it dont eat the top layer, but scoop it off and bobs your teapot.. butter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Okay, so I think we would all agree that it's been a great day for Irish democracy. Joe Higgins, Shane Ross etc.

So I invested in some posh granary bread from Lidl and am looking forward to eating it with some Heinz beans. Those of us who didn't lose the run of ourselves in the boom years can still afford these luxuries.:pac:

I have some butter in the fridge which has been there for quite some time. It doesn't look discoloured in any way. Is it safe?

I will be discounting the opinions of Flutt,Pauleta,Melakalik and MickyDoomsux before ye even bother lads.

So, should I play it safe and just have the beans and the bread? Or should I slather the toast with the rancid butter and come back next week and play for the car?

AMC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭noxqs

Wrapped butter has a shelf life of several months at refrigerator temperatures.

-> From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butter#Storage_and_cooking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Store it in a bog and it will last a few hundred years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Is it butter or "spread"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Store it in a bog and it will last a few hundred years.

Explains Twink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Till the tub is empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

It depends, where's the butter from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Aah fcukit I'm going for it. If I don't post in the next hour would somebody PM The Master and ask him to clean things up. It's been both an honour and a privilege knowing you weird AHers. I would like Drav to say a prayer at my funeral or at least try and get off with my sister.

AMC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Aah fcukit I'm going for it. If I don't post in the next hour would somebody PM The Master and ask him to clean things up. It's been both an honour and a privilege knowing you weird AHers. I would like Drav to say a prayer at my funeral or at least try and get off with my sister.

AMC
    The Master is your domestic partner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

I take it you have never seen 'Last Tango in Paris '

The beans are great. Admittedly the toast will be judged by historty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

How long does butter first? That is the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Nice body. Butter face...

Delicious. Absolutely delicious. The purple ones taste like fire...ooohhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

Delicious. Absolutely delicious. The purple ones taste like fire...ooohhhhh

thought i told you to not be chewing at your sebaceous cysts.

The Master is your domestic partner?

Pffft. If he was my domestic partner the butter would never have gone out of date.

Nah. He's my common-law drinking partner. In the event of my death, my bottle of 18 year old Bushmills reverts to his parents, which neither of us is happy with. We wanted Drav and Rose to look after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Beans on toast?!?!

I'm so hungry now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Cosimo Salvatore

That's deep man.

Either food poisoning takes a good while to kick in or butter lasts an amazingly long time without going off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I must venture out for beans now.

Damn your chocolate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭starling.

Check the best before date :)

(Though I find sometimes my butter goes a little off before then, it gets kind of a darker colour from being exposed in the fridge. :( )

Do you have some free government cheese to make a sandwich out of it? :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Do you want a really fine sample of butter ?

http://www.leinsterleader.ie/news/local/3_000_year_old_butter_found_in_kildare_bog_1_1937050
    AN OAK barrel, full of butter, estimated to be roughly 3,000 years old has been found in Gilltown bog, between Timahoe and Staplestown.

The amazing discovery of the barrel, which is being described by archaeology experts in the National Museum as a "really fine example" was found by two Bord na Mona workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

AMC

Drav needs to start his eulogy with the line

"I can't believe he's not better"

has to be done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I actually know the answer to this but my opinion wont be taken note of so i shant share it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

I had beans on toast there. A grand Sunday dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

Top notch thread in my book. That was a less mind-numbingly boring 14 seconds. Thanks for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Don't worry man, unless there is a class of a culture on the top, you are good to go.

Now in the off chance there IS a bit of 'bloom' on the butter,don't panic.

Skim off the 'bloomy ' bit and when you are thinking about boning your girl, tip the butt. into a saucer and wave for about 4 secs.

LET IT COOL!!!!

Drizzle the result onto her eager growler and 'follie it in' as they say.

Not too hot mind, their giblets are tender.

Ok horse?

In to the conkers as we say:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

How long does butter last? Until the cows run out of course!