Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plans for the Last Weekend?

• 26-02-2011 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭

Well lads? What are you all up to for the last weekend of the stalking season? Somehow slept through my alarm this morning, so missed a session, and I've work this evening. Going to get out tomorrow and monday though. Everyone else looking forward to a good one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

couldnt get out today, but will be out tmw evenin, and do all day monday.
    lookin forward to it. one more to fill the freezer would be nice.

fu%k the ireland match is on tmw evenin, what to do....sky+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Was zeroing the rifle the other day and got a tip to try the back of the hill on one of my permissions (which typically I just use for rabbits) as it's apparently had a load of deer on it lately. Had nothing yet this season, so would be nice to close with a good one. Heading out tomorrow morning, want to watch the match. Can put in a full day on monday though.

weather like today would be great, bit of luck you will knock one,
    stay off the gargle tonight, dont want to miss that alarm again

I was sober. That's the worst part. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I was out this morning on a far I got permissiom to shoot on last week, nothing was seen save a rabbit. But i did get to walk over the groung and found nice little palces to sit and view the fields from.

I'll be out on Monday for a last try so here's hoping we can get one.

was that the one you posted last week with the heard of bucks, looks a great spot. someting to look forward to for sept

That's the one, looks good alright and got to see more of it. There's a lot of land ajoining the forests. I'll be back on monday.

plenty of time to suss it out over the summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Well lads? What are you all up to for the last weekend of the stalking season? Somehow slept through my alarm this morning, so missed a session, and I've work this evening. Going to get out tomorrow and monday though. Everyone else looking forward to a good one?

please do post a picture and report of your kill IWM,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Dusty87 wrote: »

Give me a shout Monday.

Might go for another bambi in a place you and I both know ;) Ssssh
    It's a secret!
    50/50 Split if you help me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

i shall be introducing one shot one kill to the wonderful world of deer stalking in the morning at half 6
    lets just hope we get one of those reds i saw on tuesday morning on the way to work
    will be a good end to the season for me and a good introduction for him if we do

daithi55 wrote: »
    i shall be introducing one shot one kill to the wonderful world of deer stalking in the morning at half 6
    lets just hope we get one of those reds i saw on tuesday morning on the way to work
    will be a good end to the season for me and a good introduction for him if we do

Good to see you showing the new lads the way of stalking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Give me a shout Monday.

Might go for another bambi in a place you and I both know ;) Ssssh
    It's a secret!
    50/50 Split if you help me

im bringing out daithi for a shot. Im curious to where your talking about. Did you get new permission around my townsland? Thats all i can think of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

daithi55 wrote: »

lookin forward to it dont really know what to expect

curiosty??????????

Will of course if I get one. I'm hoping yer man wasn't talking bollocks about that spot. Haven't seen deer on it in years.

im bringing out daithi for a shot. Im curious to where your talking about. Did you get new permission around my townsland? Thats all i can think of?

dusty if ya want to go with tack theres no hassle
    can meet ya next season or during the summer for a few bunnies

Arrived at the farm on top of the hill a little later than planned this morning, about ten past seven. Was a damn sight colder and a lot windier than I thought it would be, so I was feeling a bit rough. Parked the car behind some bushes, got out and loaded up. I had a borrowed pair of Zeiss 10x42s to try out (Which I think I'll be buying - wow! Nothing like this glass out there) so looked over the bushes and down the hill towards the trees to see what I could see.

There's a couple of fields of rushes and boggy ground between the trees - which separate the farms from the reservoir - and the fields, which are home to sheep or cows, depending on which farmer they belong to, but they were fairly empty this morning. Anyway, immediately I discover yer man from the last day wasn't talking out his arse. While it may not have been "walking with deer" there was a nice big hind down in the first field at the bottom. (If you're reading this, cheers for the tip!) She was alone but looked to be pregnant.

As I said, it was blowing a fair bit, so I reckoned my best bet was to get in close to the hedge (which also has a stream running under it) and use the noise to cover my approach. Took me a while to cover the seven hundred yards or so downhill to get to the next field over, and as I climbed into the hedge between the fields to sit and watch for a few minutes, I couldn't see her, and figured she'd probably moved off into the forestry with the daylight.

I wandered into the first boggy field and carefully made my way to the next hedge, where there was a gap I could look through. As I got to it, a woodcock burst from under my feet. Never even saw him while moving up. A quick scan of that next field showed nothing visible, so I moved back over some of the bog to the drier ground to make my way right to the next field over. Was navigating a chunk of nasty grabby ground when I look up and that hind had just stepped out from behind a bush (I think she'd been lying under it after feeding, which is why I couldn't see her while glassing), and there's me stuck in a Twister position, one leg over there, the other behind me and me precariously balanced while I look for somewhere useful to put it. She's looked over to see me, and I'm frozen, trying not to spook her. She's a big animal, very big for a sika hind, and I'm keen to get her, but she gives one rough bark and trots off, disappearing down a ditch and into the forestry, before I can get the rifle to bear.

Ah well, I thinks, and heads over to have a quick look around. There's the sign of movement, hair on the fences and tracks in the mud, but I figured she wasn't coming back in a hurry. Decided I'd have a quick walk to familiarise myself with the ground, as it's a long time since I've been down this far on the farm. Usually shoot rabbits up at the top of it. Walking back up that ditch to the next gate, I flush another woodcock! Wish I'd been here a month or two ago with the shotgun now. Oh well, another thought for next year.

There's a second broadleaf treeline at the top of the next field, out of the weather, with good views of quite a lot of the land the deer are on. There's some more over to the right, too, but there's a house about half a mile that way, so I'll probably confine my efforts to these couple of fields. I'll attach a few photos below. Might build a blind here for next year, with a decent rest. It's a big field, so shots could be quite long. There's certainly a three hundred yard shot down into the bottom corner, and if the deer are in the next field, it's longer, but there's nowhere closer to build a blind. I've no intention of taking a shot beyond three hundred yards, but I expect they'll be feeding in that field earlier in the season next year when there's plenty of light to shoot them.

So no deer this morning, but lots more information on the land, a decent prospect for this evening (if I get out after the match) or tomorrow, if I don't go anywhere else, and certainly a good spot for next year if it still has the deer on it, which it should, as it's not hunted that much. Photos below, taken from the treeline of the biggest field.

Image0039.jpg?t=1298799709

Image0040.jpg?t=1298799709

Figured I owed you lads a hunting story even if I didn't have a deer to show for it. :) Maybe tomorrow. Certainly next year if not.

lookin forward to it dont really know what to expect

curiosty??????????

:D ya know now mate
    will post a few pics later and write up a story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Tikka Jim

I was very late heading out this morning, I was bringing a friend out for a shot, he was late showing up.
    Just as we got to the permission I spotted a herd of 10 legging it up the field like they were in the grand national. Grabbed the phone and got a couple of pictures as they crossed the road.

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/7wrhfluuIl1HY8mL6LuH2w?feat=directlink

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/4QjdKaer_hEMdzhPHBqAOg?feat=directlink

we went on to another permission later on. No shot but a lovely morning to be out, nice end to a great season.

College reading week, so I'll be out again tomorrow now. Pushing it right to the end. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I was out this evening, I saw a medium sized herd of deer close to darkness.

The light bet me. 7-10 deer, hard to tell.

I did not want to fire not knowing if they were male or female.

I might try again tomorrow.
    It did not bother me not getting one.
    It was pleasure enough having 2 hours of brilliant stalking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

was out this morning 4 a few hours of my lastday of the season,a lovely morning it was got 1 cock missed another was a long way off doh:rolleyes: got a rabbit that was covered in fleas,and 2 pigeons with crops full of clover,setp seems like a lifetime away now:(.................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

was hopeing to get out but the inlaws put a stop to that,had them for the weekend so that put a stop to that,only good thing I have one permission that will be a section 42.

Sadly, no deer today either. I was sitting watching a field with some adjacent woodland when the farmer's son turned up in the tractor to spread fertiliser, but these things happen. Should have had a bunny gun with me today though, beautiful evening for it and would have had half a dozen without any real hassle. What really makes stalking special is the experience of the environment. In the last two days, only counting animals I would shoot under various circumstances, I have seen rabbits, pheasants (cocks and hens), woodcock, foxes, pigeons, deer and an assortment of corvids. The fox was bothering a sheep (in broad daylight) so I know where my hunting is going to take me over the next while. Got someone who wants to go hunting, so methinks I have a new lamper. :p Evenings like this evening also make me want to pick up a little CZ in .17 HMR for bunnies, so watch this space... If this season has taught me something it's that I need to get more reactive with my shots. If the gun were in my hands and ready more and I were prepared to take shots instinctively that I know are well within my comfort zone, I'd have shot about five deer this year, rather than none (not counting the one I missed), so for next year, it's practising snap shooting in various field positions and states of readiness. I'll get practice on a summer's worth of bunnies.