Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McDowells Chance??

• 24-02-2011 9:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

Is this McDowells chance to overtake Phil and Tiger in the rankings? Looks like Stricker is on the slippery slide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

He is already ahead of Phil in the rankings so he will go even further ahead this week.
    He isnt that far behind Tiger either so i suspect he may go to 3rd in the world come Suinday night. If he gets himself into the quarter finals he should do it i reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭TheDietShop.ie

My Mistake Phil seems to be in freefall aswel.

I still fancy tiger for a major this year and I guess the bookies do also:(.

Still nice to see the European tour cementing its place as the tour where the worlds best players play. Might be a bit behind on the prize money front but US based players are going to have to travel a lot more now if they want to pick up WR points.

Interesting times for golf!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

I see G-Mac is now the world number 3. Fair play to him, thats some year.
    Playing really well can leap you into the top 20 but to get to 3 is massive.
    A european top 3 then. How sweet is that.
    Rory had a shocker yesterday. Hard to know how long that will take to get over. 6 down after 9. Brutal.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

World no3 alright. Won't catch Kaymer even with a win. Great to see the European top heavy world rankings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

World no3 alright. Won't catch Kaymer even with a win. Great to see the European top heavy world rankings.

Can Kaymer overtake Westwood if he wins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

ThunderCat wrote: »
    Can Kaymer overtake Westwood if he wins?

Yes he can:

1. MARTIN KAYMER vs. 5. HUNTER MAHAN

Accenture Match Play Championship records: Kaymer is 4-3. Mahan is 4-3.

Justin Rose took Kaymer to the limit -- and more -- on Thursday as the world No. 2 won in 20 holes. Kaymer can overtake Lee Westwood if he gets to the title but Mahan could have a say in that. The American birdied three of his last six holes to rally from 1 down and dispose of Swedish veteran Robert Karlsson 2 up.

Source: http://www.pgatour.com/2011/tournaments/r470/02/24/match-preview-third-round/index.html#

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭TheDietShop.ie

I think from what I've read that if he wins or get to the final, depending on westwood he can get to number 1.

The top 10 has never been so tight.