Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I put up L plates?

• 24-02-2011 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭

I got my learners permit last week and have just sorted out insurance so I'm ready to start driving. I will at some stage have to drive unaccompanied.
    I know a huge amount of learner drivers, some have L plates up, others don't and they always drive alone.
    Would I be drawing attention to myself if I drove alone and had the L plates up, or would I be better off not putting them up?
    No one I know has ever been stopped, never mind prosecuted driving alone with or without L plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I got my learners permit last week and have just sorted out insurance so I'm ready to start driving. I will at some stage have to drive unaccompanied.
    I know a huge amount of learner drivers, some have L plates up, others don't and they always drive alone.
    Would I be drawing attention to myself if I drove alone and had the L plates up, or would I be better off not putting them up?
    No one I know has ever been stopped, never mind prosecuted driving alone with or without L plates.

Yeah, when you get your full license!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You know the answer to this question, you passed your theory test.

You're just looking for people to say don't bother and to agree with you to justify your decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You know the answer to this question, you passed your theory test.

You're just looking for people to say don't bother and to agree with you to justify your decision

"Boardsies made me do it." does not hold up in court\against a Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

You just passed your theory test. Your main priority now should be to learn how to drive, not how to best avoid getting caught driving unaccompanied. You are not in any way prepared to be driving a car out on your own.
    Get lessons and practice with an accompanying driver who has held his/her license for 2 years or more.

You face a court appearance and up to a €1000 fine for driving unaccomp, and up to another €1000 for driving without "L" plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭augmented reality

I definitely won't be driving alone until I've plenty of practice with my parents and lessons done so I'll have Plates up for that.
    I would rarely be driving alone, maybe after I've a lot of lessons done and feel ready for the test, but I'd try to avoid it unless completely necessary, I meant these times when I was talking about the L plates.
    I suppose I'd be better off just leaving the L plates up and be honest with the Gardai and do it as seldom as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Offence or not*, L plates are meant to be displayed for a reason! If I see a car with L plates, I allow a greater distance between my car and it. I also make allowances for any silly mistakes or dodgey manouvers. I am a lot more patient too. Regardless of the law, or getting caught, or whatever, there is an actual need to display them. Thinking otherwise is just silly.

*yes, it is an offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭matt70iu

Well to be blunt... the guards do not inforce the L plate or provisional rule, as long as one doesn't drive like an ****! As long as you don't break speed limits and are just going about your daily business.

On the other hand... If you are a little boy racer who goes racing after a few drinks with the lads in your white starlet with no L plates, you'll be taken to the cleaners for everything. No L plates, provisional with no fully licenced driver, the works.

Moral of the story... your better off passing your test, getting your full licence and avoiding the shaking knees coming up to Garda check points!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I definitely won't be driving alone until I've plenty of practice with my parents and lessons done so I'll have Plates up for that.
    I would rarely be driving alone, maybe after I've a lot of lessons done and feel ready for the test, but I'd try to avoid it unless completely necessary, I meant these times when I was talking about the L plates.
    I suppose I'd be better off just leaving the L plates up and be honest with the Gardai and do it as seldom as possible.

See, sounds like you'd just be doing it for the sake of it, not out of any necessity. Grow up a little, you're going to be in charge of a very dangerous vehicle, so start acting responsible. It won't make you cool, so wise up. We all had to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Keep them on for at least the first 6 months, so people will give you more room.

One piece of advice is that if someone tail gates you, take the foot off the accelerator, and let the car slow down by itself. None of this "tapping the brakes" sh|t, as you'll just get rear ended.

the_syco wrote: »
    Keep them on for at least the first 6 months, so people will give you more room.

One piece of advice is that if someone tail gates you, take the foot off the accelerator, and let the car slow down by itself. None of this "tapping the brakes" sh|t, as you'll just get rear ended.

Agree, Just drive at a pace you're happy with and don't play silly buggers with the white van drivers who will no doubt be riding your exhaust pipe!

Work on your confidence, get lessons, put in for your test and you'll be fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

'Should I put my shoes on after my trousers or before'

'Should I brush my teeth'

'Should I wear L Plates as I am a Learner Driver'

The only difference is you can't be prosecuted for not being able to dress yourself or not brushing your teeth. Moreover if I see you walking around with your trousers on your head because you couldn't get them on over your shoes I know you're a mentaller and can act accordingly.

Wearing your L-Plates similarly allows me to give you the extra space and time on the road, and to anticipate the potential for some lack of ability on your part, which you are entitled to and which allows us all to avoid avoidable accidents. Not wearing your L-Plates is illegal for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

It's up to you if you want to risk it, wouldn't encourage you to as you WILL be in trouble if you get caught

But I did it..

I dont know if the system has changed or anything, but when I learned to drive in 2008 from the day you got your learner's permit there was a 6 month period you had to wait out before you could apply for your test. So that meant waiting six months before applying, then waiting another 4-5 weeks for a test date.

By the time I had got my learner's permit, I had already been out driving quite a little bit with my girlfriend's parents in empty business parks and the like... and was fairly comfortable with the basics, albeit still very much learning. After 2 months of having the permit, I had put in 10 lessons and a free pre-test chucked in which I passed and was very comfortable in the car now, capable of driving on my own and I decided I wasnt going to wait for another 5 months to be able to drive on the road by myself as I travel quite a lot between Dub/Kildare/Belfast and was sick of buses. I drove all over the place, didn't have L Plates up as I thought that would increase the chances of being caught. Kept to all speed limits, didn't drive like a knob and had fully comp insurance in my own name.

6 Months came up, I got my test date about 5 weeks after and passed first time. Doubt I would have if I hadn't been out getting the experience of driving alone.

I don't really condone what I did, did it cuz I was living in a city away from home with no relatives or friends with full licenses that could take me out. I needed driving experience, and I wasn't going to keep spunking out money on lessons just to get a drive about in the car.

If the 6 month waiting period is still in place, it should be removed and minimum lesson requirements put in place.. like a certificate from your instructor saying you are ready to take the test or something along those lines. The waiting period does nothing but encourage people to go out and drive on their own like I did, but luckily I could drive....

EDIT: Yup, just checked..six month rule still in place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

A Garda who pulls someone on a learner permit where there are no L Plates displayed is far more likely to issue summons' than where L Plates are displayed. Reason :-

a) L Plates not displayed is a deliberate attempt to conceal the offence of driving unaccompanied. Gardai institutionally hate that kind of thing.

b) L Plates not displayed increases the risk of an accident. Gardai institutionally hate that kind of thing.

c) Deliberately breaking two provisions of the Road Traffic Acts indicates scant regard for the rest of them. Gardai institutionally hate that kind of thing.

d) Prosecuting for two summons is far more productive than prosecuting for one summons. Gardai institutionally love that sort of thing.

Actually I jest somewhat on the last point. Moreover its not the gardai you have to be concerned with ultimately its the Judge.

And whilst I wish you no ill, genuinely, if you choose to drive around unaccompanied and without L Plates whilst on a learner permit, I hope you are detected and have the book thrown at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

maximoose wrote: »
    It's up to you if you want to risk it, wouldn't encourage you to as you WILL be in trouble if you get caught

But I did it..

I dont know if the system has changed or anything, but when I learned to drive in 2008 from the day you got your learner's permit there was a 6 month period you had to wait out before you could apply for your test. So that meant waiting six months before applying, then waiting another 4-5 weeks for a test date.

By the time I had got my learner's permit, I had already been out driving quite a little bit with my girlfriend's parents in empty business parks and the like... and was fairly comfortable with the basics, albeit still very much learning. After 2 months of having the permit, I had put in 10 lessons and a free pre-test chucked in which I passed and was very comfortable in the car now, capable of driving on my own and I decided I wasnt going to wait for another 5 months to be able to drive on the road by myself as I travel quite a lot between Dub/Kildare/Belfast and was sick of buses. I drove all over the place, didn't have L Plates up as I thought that would increase the chances of being caught. Kept to all speed limits, didn't drive like a knob and had fully comp insurance in my own name.

6 Months came up, I got my test date about 5 weeks after and passed first time. Doubt I would have if I hadn't been out getting the experience of driving alone.

I don't really condone what I did, did it cuz I was living in a city away from home with no relatives or friends with full licenses that could take me out. I needed driving experience, and I wasn't going to keep spunking out money on lessons just to get a drive about in the car.

If the 6 month waiting period is still in place, it should be removed and minimum lesson requirements put in place.. like a certificate from your instructor saying you are ready to take the test or something along those lines. The waiting period does nothing but encourage people to go out and drive on their own like I did, but luckily I could drive....

EDIT: Yup, just checked..six month rule still in place

Does anyone know what would happen if someone driving on a learner permit unaccompanied had a crash? What would the insurance company do - pay out even though the policy holder was breaking the law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

lizt wrote: »
    Does anyone know what would happen if someone driving on a learner permit unaccompanied had a crash? What would the insurance company do - pay out even though the policy holder was breaking the law?
    do they pay out if you are speeding?

Same thing, breaking the law does not invalidate insurance.

Well insurance companies have an obligation to pay out to the third party. Have heard of instances where the third party has been over the drink drive limit and the insurance company have refused to pay out, even though their client was in the wrong. Bit of a gray area!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

matt70iu wrote: »
    Well insurance companies have an obligation to pay out to the third party. Have heard of instances where the third party has been over the drink drive limit and the insurance company have refused to pay out, even though their client was in the wrong. Bit of a gray area!
    the insurer will always be liable for 3rd party damage. Once the policy is valid (you hold, or have held, a licence/permit for the class of vehicle you have insured) then they cannot refuse to pay out. If they do they should be pursued through courts as this is in breach of contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Insurance companies may be obliged to pay out in various circumstances, but they wouldn't be giving very low quotes for insurance afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Max Power1 wrote: »
    do they pay out if you are speeding?

Same thing, breaking the law does not invalidate insurance.

That's grand, I just didn't know!