Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Child benefit reform

• 24-02-2011 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭

Why are the very well off entitled to child benefit,why is it seems to be "impossible" to means test or have a cut off point in income,is it another vote costing measure?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

[shit stirring]
    Why is anyone entitled to child benefit? They made the decision to have kids, why should I have to pay for that?
    [/shit stirring]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

They were just talking about this on Pat Kenny's show.

Michael Noonan said: No change for two years, then lower it for higher earners and raise it for lower earners.
    Brian Lenihan said: It was a tough decision not to tax it for higher earners.
    Joan Burton said: They wouldn't change it (I think, I'm not sure on that because someone was moving around the house at that point.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

[shit stirring]
    Why is anyone entitled to child benefit? They made the decision to have kids, why should I have to pay for that?
    [/shit stirring]

Oh hush you infertile whiner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If you earn over 50 grand a year you should get half the current rate, if you earn over 100 grand you should get none.

I don't know how you deal with knackers having ten kids for the money though, maybe cut them off after the third one or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

phasers wrote: »
    I don't know how you deal with knackers having ten kids for the money though, maybe cut them off after the third one or something

Jaysus you don't have to castrate them! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Jaysus you don't have to castrate them! :eek:
    It's the only way they'll learn :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

This has come up before. Like many things in modern Ireland it is a leftover benefit from a bygone era, which for the majority of people is no longer needed.

Originally, men went out to work, and the woman stayed at home with the kids. For a lot of families, a much greater percentage than now, when the man got paid, there was a very real chance he would arrive back at the house having spent it all on drink and they would have no money to put food on the table.

The child benefit, was brought in as an allowance for women who had children so that worse case scenario, she would have money which could be used to feed the children.

When it was brought in, it was thought that women across all class divides could suffer the same situation, so the child allowance was brought in for everyone.

Now however, women get a better time of it, and there is more help for most people. In my opinion, it should be cut for everyone, except the very needy, and then a higher amount given to those who really need it.

How you class the very needy, I will leave to those in power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

wear a condom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Penny for da baby, boss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

phasers wrote: »

The child benefit is only about 40 euros a week. Those that scrounge off the social welfare(as in welfare scroungers, not people who got let go last year:cool:), are not doing it for the child benefit, its for all the other benefits which add up. I could be wrong but some benefits increase if you have kids, rent allowance goes up if you have more kids etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Give them butter vouchers.