Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ed Byrne calls his son Cosmo

• 23-02-2011 11:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

Holy God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ElleEm wrote: »
    Holy God.

Cosmo will get more laughs than his dad ever did, especially when he starts school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I always knew he was a douche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Bet he'll never be as funny as this Cosmo

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR5XA8KhTT-i2IVonz4iitOPZAemXYsz42wqhkrqEeV1UtHkQUf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Gone Fishin

What a pillock! Someone should tell him that even if he calls his kid a stupid name, he still won't be funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

What a pillock! Someone should tell him that even if he calls his kid a stupid name, he still won't be funny!

I know! I can't stand him. He was just being interviewed on This Morning, and when they asked what he called his kid, he said "Cosmo", and I was waiting for a sh!t joke to follow... but it didn't! I even got the impression that the presenters wondered if he was taking the p!ss or not. He then went on to say his wife had come up with a few ridiculous names but they chose Cosmo as it sounded "cool".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

He's gonna call the next one "Razor".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Or Politan. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

I can see this child being used in a lot of jokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Cosmos kinda cool...wouldn't name my kid that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭nix84

I think it's time laws were brought in about what you can and cannot name your child. I'll grant ya, it's not as bad as some, but still.......

http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art7400.asp

Cosmos kinda cool....

For a cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

My friend has son called Cosmo and honestly never thought there was anything odd with that name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

At least the kid will have an interesting name.

If I could relate my name to Seinfeld I would be quite happy, love that show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Jaysus – it’s not that bad.
    I think Ed Byrne is as unfunny as the next man, but ye all come across like a bunch of conformist knobs.
    Maybe we should all just call our kids Dave or Mary – would that make ye happy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Jaysus – it’s not that bad.
    I think Ed Byrne is as unfunny as the next man, but ye all come across like a bunch of conformist knobs.

Mary is a terrible, terrible name.
    The minute the child is born their name makes them sound like they are 65 years old.

ye all come across like a bunch of conformist knobs.

I am all for unique names, and encourage them! I wouldn't see myself as a conformist at all, but I just think Cosmo is a ridiculous name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm not a fan of all these crazy names, I like quite plain names for kids but I don't think Cosmo is that bad at all. I'm surprised it's being seen as such an unusual name.

Someone at work is having a baby and Cosmo is one of their possible names. I also know another woman whose grandson is called Cosmo.

watna wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of all these crazy names, I like quite plain names for kids but I don't think Cosmo is that bad at all. I'm surprised it's being seen as such an unusual name.

Someone at work is having a baby and Cosmo is one of their possible names. I also know another woman whose grandson is called Cosmo.

I'm really surprised by that. I really like different names, but the interview with Ed Byrne was the first time I'd heard someone saying they had named their child Cosmo. It must be more common than I thought!

I think it's an old school English name. One of the survivors of the Titanic was Sir Cosmo Duff-Gordon who was a Baron and he was born in the late 19th century.

EDIT: It appears his father was also called Cosmo and his father would have been born in the 1840s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

At least he didn't call him Dick.

stimpson wrote: »

He should have called him Father - with his middle name being Dick. That would have been even better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

stimpson wrote: »

"Hello ed, yes, I would be delighted if you call your son after me, i'll even throw in a free christening..."

"NO!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Cosimo De Medici born Sept. 27, 1389 died Aug. 1, 1464
    Very influential powerful man.

Ed Byrne born 16 April 1972 died on stage many times
    Mildly funny man.

Imagine how mildly influential his son will be :D

Who cares what anyone calls their kids, is there a list of 'approved names' that boardsies favour ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

ElleEm wrote: »
    I am all for unique names, and encourage them! I wouldn't see myself as a conformist at all, but I just think Cosmo is a ridiculous name.

The Sunday Times film critic is called Cosmo Landesman. Sure it's an unusual name - but to call it ridiculous? I been reading his film reviews for the last few years and I've never once thought 'What a ridiculous name'.
    Calling a kid 'Hatstand' or 'Froggy Monster' is ridiculous. Calling a kid Cosmo is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I just assumed it was short for Cosmopolitan.

Ed is a well known Sex and the City fan/alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Ah, it's as pretentious as fcuk.

Pathetic, shows him up as an aristo-wannabe...

Same as any middle/working class eejit that calls their kid things like 'Jasper' 'Horatio' and 'Socrates'

Foolish and embarassing. Why not just call the poor thing 'My Parents are aspirational knobheads'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

According to this article, it's just a nickname. His real name is Luke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

Ed (38) recently tweeted about Luke/Cosmo: "Something I have learned about very young babies, they sleep, cry, s**t, piss, eat and stare, they don't laugh at all."

That's because you're just not funny Ed......