Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Big Irish Gun Dealer Closed!!

• 22-02-2011 10:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Hi Guys, just heard today that Tim Landers in Tralee has closed his Gun Room for good - sad, was a nice guy with good selection and decent prices. Sign of our times and new legislation that is killing dealers here. Hope that this is not a trend!. Uk is now probihited from shipping gun accessories, especially scopes and the US is now even worse. I ordered and paid for a Nikon scope from the US last month - was contacted by 'Homeland Security' from their Customs Base in New York - my scope has now been seized - $580 later. Just thought that I would pass the message on so be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Lousy news :( And not good for yourself with the scope either.
    I've a bad feeling that this isn't the last story of this kind that we'll see - and in a few years, if things start to improve, it may not be as easy to reopen these businesses as it was to let them go to the wall :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

was talking to a good few dealers and trade is well down also policys of garda supers and DOJ arent helping either,not many dealer taken trade ins gun rooms are full.sad to say there will be more to fallow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

:( sad to hear it, but i checked on their facebook page and its only the gun department that is closing, the rest of the shop is staying

Seeing similar stories in several places meath :(
    We need something like airguns being deregulated the way airsoft is to get these guys back into the black. When every customer has to go through the licencing process and sales take months to complete and firearms get used for decades before buying new ones, it's just not the kind of market that takes knocks very well; and we're in the middle of the most unmerciful knock in history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Hi Guys, just heard today that Tim Landers in Tralee has closed his Gun Room for good - sad, was a nice guy with good selection and decent prices. Sign of our times and new legislation that is killing dealers here. Hope that this is not a trend!. Uk is now probihited from shipping gun accessories, especially scopes and the US is now even worse. I ordered and paid for a Nikon scope from the US last month - was contacted by 'Homeland Security' from their Customs Base in New York - my scope has now been seized - $580 later. Just thought that I would pass the message on so be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sad to hear of any business closing.
    But if he had such good prices why did you not buy your scope from him.

I have bin in landers a few times and I always felt like I was putting him out when asking about anything. I certainly never felt comfortable asking about rifles and I was never shown the gun room. I also didn't find his prices all that good either.

In my mind a good shop will be approachable and will usher you to the gun room without having to ask and will engage in conversation about guns and hunting apparel at the drop of a hat.
    There are several places around like that and these are places that I am happy to recommend and spand money in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Bummer. It's a bit ridicules that their exporting but not selling these products online to here. And a pity good dealers are closing there doors.
    Hard luck on your scope. The worlds gone mad!

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    In my mind a good shop will be approachable and will usher you to the gun room without having to ask
    Whatever about the approachability - and that's a given, it's a basic standard for anyone running any kind of shop really - not every RFD is allowed to have an open gun room. We've heard from some who were prohibited from having gun rooms open to the customers by the Gardai as a condition of their RFD licence. I don't know if that's the case with Landers, but it's something to keep in mind, that depending on what district they're in, RFDs can run into hassles the same way people trying to get firearms licences can run into them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Longrangelad

Only reason that I ordered the Nikon from US is that I couldnt source it in Ireland. I have used a Nikon lens on my camera for years and love the quality - had it in my head to buy a scope, but, unfortunately, it didn,t work out.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

Just wondered why was your scope seized as I often get scopes from the US
    Did you get a friend to buy it for you and then post it ?
    If so it could be seized as you need a export licence to send scopes from the US.
    I usually buy from www.theopticzone.com and it takes them about 4 weeks to get the export licence.

Only reason that I ordered the Nikon from US is that I couldnt source it in Ireland. I have used a Nikon lens on my camera for years and love the quality - had it in my head to buy a scope, but, unfortunately, it didn,t work out.!
    just out of interest was it a hunting or tactical scope like the monarch x, because i thought it was only tactical gear that wasnt allowed and that hunting scopes were ok, whats the story with getting your money back aswell, is it possible? and hardluck aswell, i'd hate it to happen to anyone

might be worth trying these guys
    http://www.uttings.co.uk/Category/766/riflescopes/?manuf=161&gender=&sort=Sequence&price_min=0&price_max=0
    dont know if they will post to ireland but if they dont you could get it posted to a friend in the uk and collect off them some time or get them to post it

U.K. Dealers cannot legally ship scopes to Ireland. Sportsman Gun Centre told me that the DTI have regulated new legislation as of Sept. 2010. The bigger UK dealers will not do it as their licence could be revoked - spoke with some guy (Andy, I think) before I ordered in the US who says that they can not ship to Ireland. Scope was seized by 'Government Agents' at New York - not the liability of the Dealer who shipped from the US - no money back!!!!!

hardluck longrange lad
    some government agent probably has a lovely nikon scope on his rifle now so:mad:

is there anything stopping say my brother or sister posting me a scope from england as a "gift" or could that be seized also

Not sure about the 'gift bit' but I think that it has to be Government Legislation so maybe you need to check it out - any, am trying to forget about the whole experience!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Sparks wrote: »
    Whatever about the approachability - and that's a given, it's a basic standard for anyone running any kind of shop really - not every RFD is allowed to have an open gun room. We've heard from some who were prohibited from having gun rooms open to the customers by the Gardai as a condition of their RFD licence. I don't know if that's the case with Landers, but it's something to keep in mind, that depending on what district they're in, RFDs can run into hassles the same way people trying to get firearms licences can run into them.

I am not expecting a revolving door but once a potential customer shows an intrest in purchasing a rifle would it not be in his best intrest to show what you have. Not a yes no answer without so much as I have this or that that might suit you. 3 separate times I looked in there and was un satisfied each time. That's not including the times I was in there getting bullets and apparel. And another occasion looking at a scope.

Like I said there are plenty of welcoming RFD's out there that I do spend my money in one of which is not to far from landers. And would be subject to the same rules.

theres nothing worse than an unfriendly dealer alright, there are 4 dealers around me and 3 of them are great and helpful and friendly, and one is full of sh**e and has a poor knowledge of guns and hunting and is more interested in selling clothing and fishing equipment and is pricey aswell to round it all off, unfortunately he is the nearest to me so i end up going there at times when i'm stuck:mad:

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    I am not expecting a revolving door but once a potential customer shows an intrest in purchasing a rifle would it not be in his best intrest to show what you have. Not a yes no answer without so much as I have this or that that might suit you.
    Aye, that's the way it should be - I mean, look at what it was like for Coronal over in Germany when he went to Frankonia. If an RFD here can't do that - whether by choice or because the local Superintendent bans him/her from doing so - how are they meant to compete with the 'net?

Don't know Mr Landers that well - have been in a couple of times and found him ok. Am not really comfortable discussing other people on a forum - was just my opinion that he was ok. As I work as a sales rep, based out of Dublin and cover most of the Country, I automatically call in to Gun Dealers just for a browse. I have found some good and poor ones as in any business. Personally, in all my travels, I have never encountered a dealer as professional and oblidging as John O'Malley at Island Sports in Castlebar - stumbled accross him by accident and will be giving him the little business that I can. Purchased a Tikka T3 from him before Christmas and found both he and his wife to be a pleasure to deal with. Better if we have nice things to say about people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

Maurice Allen of Newtownbutler Co Fermanagh closed his gun room a few months ago. Know of another dealer who is not far behind

i wont knock anyone in public but i will mention people who i'm happy with, one of the friendliest around me is jim Barry in newtown outside nenagh, he hasnt the biggest selection of rifles but has a good few shotguns and will let you test them out on his clay grounds, and paul o halloran in drangan and sean in stakelums thurles have always been very accomodating and friendly so i couldn't say a bad word about them

Great to hear that - we need that kind of positivity in a tough economic time like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

I have called into Landers in Tralee numerous times, taught he was a friendly chap knew I was after my first gun and didnt fill me with tales or lies either. Left me and a mate in the gun room a few times and even left us handle and have a good look at some unreal dear and atique side by sides. Sad to hear the gun sales is gone, was a sound chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

been to landers a few times, but never bought anything bar a few bullets, for the same reasons poulo said..

Give all my business to knocknagoshel now, nice friendly lads in the shop and all the guns on display for all to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

Sad to hear anyone of them closing,

In fairness I was only ever there once and that was last year looking for a stalking rifle, I must say I got a great impression off him.

I asked had he any Tikkas in stock, he showed the one he had but it was not the model I wanted. He then talked to me for about 40 mins in the gun room looking at different rifles which he ended by advising me not to buy anything or rush into it!

He then took my number and said he would ring back when he fun out win the next model I wants would be available to order, but he wouldn't find out for 2-3 months! 3 months later he rang telling when he would have it available for! I ended up never buying anything from the shop!

I'm not saying what others said isn't true but I just wanted to share my experience with him which was very good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Personally I have to say I have always found Tim a sound man to deal with,and one who has helped immeasurebly with my ongoing saga..He has gone in my opinion above and beyond the call of a gun dealer here in this matter.Some I know would have procrastinated,stalled and excused and refused to take this on,and charged the earth for it as well.Tim didnt bat an eyelid on this,and has charged a honestly fair markup for his time and expense on this .I found his repair work second to none on antique guns too.
    I had no trouble ever going into the gun room for a look,once you asked him[ and he had free time and wasnt snowed under]and I found that if you wanted somthing a bit on the "wild side" you would possibly find it in his gun room.
    So I too will be very sorry to see him go,but I can understand why he is doing it too.The hassle is just too much in these days of ...Lets call it what it is,a DEpression!:(

@Longerangelad
    Sorry to hear about your scope,and the news is ..Dont try to get it sent as a gift either!! The Feds will do whoever it is who sent it as an "accessory to illegal arms export"And thats a Federal rap with a ten year free holiday at their Club Fed facilities!Seriously!:eek: If they do.Dont put any return addies on the package!!

Have a look at the mess Sabre Defence and Guy Savage, its owner is in at the moment with the Feds for somthing not of his doing to fall foul of them over there.:eek:
    Not to mind York guns UK is in in the US!!Which was IMO their own stupid fault!:eek:

These ITAR regulations are severly screwing up everything being exported and imported to and from the US re arms[Thanks to Billary Klintoon, Dubya,Obamalama and the UN:mad::mad::mad:]This was supposed to be military weapons and accessories.But the trouble is it is so broad a defination,it means the Feds can snatch almost anything now!Doesnt even have to be a "tactical" scope anymore.If they decide it has "military applications" or the manufacturing company has a military supply contract number[99.9% of them do] then it is "military equipment."Worse is,it doesnt even have to be ISSUED military equipment,it can be even a scope that was tested by a military branch and refused to issue or failed the test to classify it as military equipment!!!

I'll say it again folks,pay abit more and source ALL this stuff on the Continent of Europa!!It's the exact same stuff,somtimes even better,all cleared by the US state dept and free for sale within the EU with NO hassle from mr Fed Gov Goon.Bar gen 3 plus Nite vision and proper thermal sights,which are around 15k plus,and you wont be posting here looking for that stuff anyway!! Everything available in the US is pretty much available here now.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

the reason why his custom has fallen off never droped his prices down accordingly with the resession much of landers stuff is the same as if we were in the middle of the celtic tiger
    saying that I did buy three guns off him, was never refused entry to the gun room any time I asked,and both he and especially Robert were always up for a good chat if they weren't busy
    still does well out of fishing and other out door gear this has been coming with a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

Xplor.er wrote: »
    Maurice Allen of Newtownbutler Co Fermanagh closed his gun room a few months ago. Know of another dealer who is not far behind

Shame too. Absolute gentleman with a wealth of knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

sikastag wrote: »
    Shame too. Absolute gentleman with a wealth of knowledge.

He was a handy place to get import ammo from just over the border.

More will close.
    But that is with all Business, Change with the times and be successful, or offer a Unique service.

Lag behind, be no different than any other dealer and you will fail.
    No sense in 2 or 3 dealers in the same town or area selling the same products for similar prices.
    I'd go to a dealer more often if they had specials
    (god forgive me like Aldi)
    A lot of dealers do not treat a RFD as a Business, where Customer relations and enterprising skills are key to success

Duffy went bigger after going online.
    I'm sure he sells as much off the website as he does in store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

As the guys said its tims gun and ammo section that is closing his daughter is taking over the shop and i don't think she wants to deal in guns and stuff so you don't blame her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭fitzy700

sorry to hear about your scope being siezed
    but i would get back on to them i got a bushnell scope back
    from the states 2 weeks ago and had no probs only took 6 days
    from kansas city you must have came across a right one in customs
    :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭7.62 rule

The only way to get scopes safely from the States these days is if you mail yourself all the packaging seperately, ALL. Then get some one who's coming home to bring it with them as a used / secondhand bought item.

Before 9 / 11 you were able to buy all the parts for any make of gun on ebay, except the receiver which could only be sold if it was only 99% finished, ie needed filing work. So pre 9/11, all you needed was a good machine shop to get quality AR's off the net. Fecking crazy but true.

The shipping restrictions not only effect scopes, also binoculars and rangefinders.

Remember Kennedy was shot with a rifle & scope bought through the mail.

The first pair of round 50 mag Thompson submachineguns in Ireland were shipped straight from their factory via the US mail service.

So it might be a bummer getting stuff cheaper, but to my mind it was well about time they stopped selling all gun parts via the internet.

The other thing to think about is warranty, things can and do go wrong with the best of products, if you import a scope from the states you end up with zero come back if it breaks in transit or use.

Just my twopence worth.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Before 9 / 11 you were able to buy all the parts for any make of gun on ebay, except the receiver which could only be sold if it was only 99% finished, ie needed filing work. So pre 9/11, all you needed was a good machine shop to get quality AR's off the net. Fecking crazy but true.

Sorrry...Absolute Rubbish!!!
    You could NEVER buy a 99% finished reciver in the US on ebay or anywhere else for that matter without it coming thru a FFL transaction[Unless it was some sort of crooked deal!]. 99% means it is finished,bar 1% which proably means painting it..
    It was and still is;an 80% unfinished reciver.Which BATFE classify as a lump of metal.As it still requires some very extensive machining and drill work not easily done with your black&decker DIY drill.It used to be that the trigger pocket and selector sftey well were free.Now BATFE stipulated that they must be sold enclosed and raw.Now unless you have a CNC milling machine at home a specific drilling jig and some very awkward drill bits and an AR a upper to fit it to,as well as blueprints that are dead on accruate,you are not going to be making anything from this paperweight.In fact you could proably legally buy one and have it here,as the State Dept/BATFE /ITAR regulations dont cover them and allow their free sale internationally. Next,I'd like to see you get a complete upper, or the pressure bearing components out of the USA without flagging a whole load of 3letter agencies to finish out this project.

Nor does Fleabay sell live gun parts!! You can sell non shooting bits no problem or accessories but try selling a AR15 bolt or barrel and good luck to ya!!:rolleyes:
    Unless you are thinking of the German site EGun,and they WILL NOT sell you a complete upper,barrel, complete bolt carrier assembly,or any Pressure bearing parts for any firearm without a liscense or paperwork as they come under EU law.American websites wont sell you barrells or pretty much anything internationally without seeing some paperwork now as well from your end.Nor is it worth their while either in the beuracratic mess it involves.
    Also BTW this applied WELL before 9/11 as well.....:rolleyes::rolleyes:

The shipping restrictions not only effect scopes, also binoculars and rangefinders.

IF they are MILSPEC and currently in use by the US Armed services,under consideration or have a US Govt contract number.Nothing stopping you from buying civillian versions or scopes and exporting from the USA.

Remember Kennedy was shot with a rifle & scope bought through the mail

That was 47 years ago....What exactly is the revelance to the current discussion?
    The first pair of round 50 mag Thompson submachineguns in Ireland were shipped straight from their factory via the US mail service.

That was even LONGER ago!!And back then you could proably have sent a crate of guns and ammo to Ireland by mail without it being inspected.
    But the revelance again?????Actually a Limerick born emigrant who became a US Sherriff in New Mexico came home with a trunk of brand new Colt Thompsons literally first 100 serial numbers and wasnt stopped.
    That was then this is now!!!
    So it might be a bummer getting stuff cheaper, but to my mind it was well about time they stopped selling all gun parts via the internet.
    They dont as you describe it.....If you got the paperwork here for a specific gun and you can find somone in the US/EU who is willing to sell it to you.... away you go 100 legally to conduct a transaction .
    The other thing to think about is warranty, things can and do go wrong with the best of products, if you import a scope from the states you end up with zero come back if it breaks in transit or use.

And the problem is exactly..???If it is a non milspec or non contraband goods??Send it back..they will honour their warrenties no problem.:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "