Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bought a heap - options?

• 22-02-2011 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

hey all. bought an avensis yesterday and today it turns out to be a heap. new gear box is needed and no way am i paying for a new one when the seller said everything was in perfect order.bought it privately and i know where the fella lives so what are my options with regards to gettin my money back? contact guards and take a spin out to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Email details to Caveat Emptor and he'll sort you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Gardai won't be able to do anything for you.., however, as you only bought it 24hours ago then as an act of good faith he should refund you the cost of the repairs if not a full refund..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

throw the gearbox through his living room window, with a note attached, "everything isnt in perfect working order now is it?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

sounds to me you just found out why he sold it ..sold as seen sorry to be no help you have nothing to lose by asking him for your money back but i dont think you will have much luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

hey all. bought an avensis yesterday and today it turns out to be a heap. new gear box is needed and no way am i paying for a new one when the seller said everything was in perfect order.bought it privately and i know where the fella lives so what are my options with regards to gettin my money back? contact guards and take a spin out to him?

You have no options to get your money back unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Why didn't you bring whoever diagnosed that its a "heap" today, with you yesterday, before you parted with your cash. You're on your own. You have no comeback.

If you take the advice of others and throw the gearbox through his window or some other equally insane act, you could get a conviction for criminal damage added to your woes.

You asked for your options:
    1. Go and fix it.
    2. Try and sell it on possibly to a breakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Why didn't you take it for a good drive and check it out before you bought it? It was handly ingeniously disguised if you noticed it almost straight away.

The guards won't do a thing it's a civil matter no concern of theirs. If you ask him for money back and he tells you to hump off then I'm not sure you have many options. Maybe some civil action if you can prove he knowingly sold a faulty car that wasn't fit for purpose. I wouldn't hold my breath though.

What makes you think it needs a new gearbox? Anyway, no chance of a refund really. Put it down to experience. There is no legal way to get this sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Out of interest, how much did you pay for this car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

By any chance did you purchase it from a 15 year old kid?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Plug wrote: »
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Why do you know a 15 year old kid who sells Toyota Avensis's with broken gearboxes privately to easily lead buyers?

It would make a great thread if you did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Why do you know a 15 year old kid who sells Toyota Avensis's with broken gearboxes privately to easily lead buyers?

It would make a great thread if you did
    Click me.

How did I miss that :D

I was right though, it made a funny thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭pepe the prawn

Thats private sales for you. In hindsight you should have taken someone with mechanical knowledge and experience with you, because buying privately means sold as seen, buyer beware, caveat emptor etc.....

Better still, you should have bought from a reputable garage/car sales, you would have a warranty now to cover any problems with the car.

Garages get a slating on plenty public forums for being overpriced moneygrabbers, but guess who foots the bill when the car packs up while under warranty........ :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭johnbobtheslob

just got word back its only the release bearing in the box not as bad so but still i've to pay to fix the bloody thing. did knock a couple hundred off so not as bad. now just waiting to see that miserable piece of vermon round the place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

but guess who foots the bill when the car packs up while under warranty........

I dunno...the buyer? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

just got word back its only the release bearing in the box not as bad so but still i've to pay to fix the bloody thing. did knock a couple hundred off so not as bad. now just waiting to see that miserable piece of vermon round the place :)
    You bought a used car as seen, I really don't understand why you're trying to blame the seller for this.

hey all. bought an avensis yesterday and today it turns out to be a heap. new gear box is needed

Clutch release bearing by any chance?
    If I was you I'd leave the seller well alone, perhaps you should establish the facts before making a fool of yourself.

RoverJames wrote: »
    perhaps you should establish the facts before making a fool of yourself.

Our James knows how not to beat about the bush and tells it like it is:D

well what james said is very true he has wasted our time with this post and seems to know as much about cars as he does about the space shuttle,. release bearings in the gearbox .. can i get my money back..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Jaysus, don't go so hard on the lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭funkyouup

dharn wrote: »
    well what james said is very true he has wasted our time with this post and seems to know as much about cars as he does about the space shuttle,. release bearings in the gearbox .. can i get my money back.. op is a right plonker

Was someone holding a gun to your head forcing you to post in here? If so im sorry i wasted my time posting this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's crap when it happens OP but that's how it works when you buy a car privately.
    Hopefully you'll get this back in shape and one lesson learned when buying the next one. There are many pitfalls out there.

ya got rap on the knuckles from mod, probably was a bit hard on him alright so i withdraw my criticism no need to kick a man when he is down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,650 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

but guess who foots the bill when the car packs up while under warranty........ :rolleyes:

Actually it's not the garage that sold the car, it's effectively an insurance scheme. In order to protect the brand, any franchise dealer who sells a secondhand car is compelled by the distributor to buy a warranty from a third party or to lodge an amount of money with the distributor to cover any potential repairs. This means that the buyer is protected even if the garage goes bust during the period of the warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭pepe the prawn

coylemj wrote: »
    Actually it's not the garage that sold the car, it's effectively an insurance scheme. In order to protect the brand, any franchise dealer who sells a secondhand car is compelled by the distributor to buy a warranty from a third party or to lodge an amount of money with the distributor to cover any potential repairs. This means that the buyer is protected even if the garage goes bust during the period of the warranty.

This may be the case with some franchises, but certainly not all of them. Toyota, Nissan and Ford franchised dealers all provide an in house warranty covered by their own garage for the sale of second hand cars, unless otherwise decided by the dealer principal. For sometimes troublesome and expensive to repair cars like Renault, they may choose to but a warranty from an external warranty company such as Mapfre Assistencia, the reason being that while parts and labour might be more expensive than Toyota or Mazda, the individual dealer won't have to cover the extensive bill. But this is only in some cases. And they're certainly not compelled to buy a warranty from an external company, maybe only in the case of a financially fragile dealer, but not all of them.
    For example, if a Toyota franchised dealer sells a second hand Renault to a customer, why would they lodge an amount of money with the distributor to cover any potential repairs?? It is the dealer who profits from the sale of the second hand car, not the distributor. So why would the distributor cover the repairs of a second hand car?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

So why would the distributor cover the repairs of a second hand car?
    I think that with the Toyota Approved Cars scheme you can get warranty work done in other Toyota dealers.

This wouldn't apply to most second hand car purchases though where you could only get warranty work done through the dealer you purchased from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

My golden rule about buying second hand cars privately is to save enough money in the difference to pay for any possible repairs. You buy a car from a dealer and maybe only get a three month warranty. what's the benefit of paying the extra if something goes wrong after six months?