Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

License from Another EU Country

• 22-02-2011 4:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭

My apologies first and foremost for asking this, I know very little about driving/licenses as I don't drive.

My good lady holds a full driving license from Poland. Can she drive on that here or does she need to sit and pass the Irish test first? She's lived here almost seven years but we're only thinking about getting a car now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

She needs Togo to your local tax office and exchange it for an Irish licence. She cannot drive in the polish one because she has been living here for mire than 1 year.

It must be a full driving licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Phew! Thank feck for that, it would have made things really REALLY difficult otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Yeah, when the guards look at it they'll probably tell you to change it, but you don't have to, and you can't get any points on other eu licenses :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Not wanting to stirr things up but Crasp probely was going by this link
    http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/DrivingLicences/Pages/ExchangeForeignLicence.aspx

Which I have used in the past to make sure all my drivers at the time had full licences not lucky bag ones which I quickly caught in time.

Well I can tell you from personnel experince that a lot of companies including the one I'm with at present are starting to refuse other EU licence,Especially if there former eastern european countries due to fake ones knocking about.
    I arranged all my drivers to have full Irish licences over five years ago and it's company policy, Recently someone I know told me that their company brought this policy in only for some of their drivers to leave I wonder why.:rolleyes:
    As I pointed out in the link it states that drivers should exchange there licence if resident in our country for more than one year,At present the system is a <SNIP> farce and yes I have seen it with my own eyes guys with licences for everything not even competent to drive out the gate never mind around our main roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭izzyflusky

She can, and no need to exchange it. My dad holds a spanish licence, been over here for about 7 years and no problems at all. He's been stopped plenty of times, gotten points as well due to speeding as any other national would.

It expired a few years back, he didn't want to get an irish one because in Spain they look like cards now and he wanted one so he was given a receipt in the tax office, it was stapled onto the expired one and that was that. He could get the proper one whenever he was over there or just get a new one here if he changed his mind, don't think he even bothered though which is stupid...but anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

In Poland you HAVE TO get 30 hours driving lessons before you do the test and complete a course which takes about 2 weeks i think -2 hours a day. So it would be crazy if using polish license wouldnt be legal here. ;)

softmee wrote: »
    In Poland you HAVE TO get 30 hours driving lessons before you do the test and complete a course which takes about 2 weeks i think -2 hours a day. So it would be crazy if using polish license wouldnt be legal here. ;)

30 hours are you for real:rolleyes: jaysus some of the driving I have seen from so called professional drivers from that country who could not reverse never mind drive forward using the gears and mirrors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

30 hours are you for real:rolleyes: jaysus some of the driving I have seen from so called professional drivers from that country who could not reverse never mind drive forward using the gears and mirrors.

- yes - i am sure they cant use gears.. :rolleyes: