Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheamus Push

• 22-02-2011 10:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭

Sheamus is a two time WWE champion current king of the ring and was just in the main event at ec on Sunday but two of the last three weeks on raw he has been beaten by Mark Henry and one was a squash match and he himself is a glorified jobber. With wrestlemaina on the horizon and with the exception of maybe a match with Morrison there is nothing else for him. Is his push coming to an end after only a 18months or so…………… images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ6LJ6d72_gNk56h-9mvsx12anf4sWap2CXH3hLmP0_2dSU_PFi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭rude awakening

Source: Rajah.com
    http://rajah.com/base/node/21867

One of the reasons for WWE curtailing the push of Sheamus in recent weeks is because Kevin Dunn, the organization's Executive Vice President of Television Production, is not a fan of his.

Several months ago on an episode of Monday Night Raw, Sheamus was booked to cower away in fear from The Nexus. This reportedly led Dunn to brainstorm the "King Sheamus" persona, including outfit, as means to mock him.

It's been noted over the years that behind Vince McMahon, Dunn has the biggest say in the company's creative direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Dunn, the real man behind calling wrestling a dirty word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I think a move to SD in the draft is best for him he can tag with Drew for maybe a tag title reign or feud with the likes of Del Rio, Drew, Christian, Rey, Taker and Edge for the World Title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Smoshi

Its shocking that something as petty as "i don't like your look" can derail a talented performer like Sheamus.

Maybe its just me being biased. being irish & all. But Sheamus losing to a joke of a performer like Mark Henry is shocking.

They could at least have used Sheamus to enchance performers like Jogn Morrison or Daniel Bryan. Guys who have ability & are capable of good matches (unlike Henry).

I'm sure Henry is a model company man - but its obvious he'll never draw money. Sheamus has a unique look & is very marketable IMO.

Hopefully a move to Smackdown! or maybe even winning MITB will revive his career.

Heres hoping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Surely if Dunn does not like him on Raw, he still will not get anywhwere with SD. Same company afterall.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Or it could simply be part of the standard WWE set up of push, crash, push, crash to make sure the persons are dedicated to stick with WWE in thick and thin even when not pushed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Nody wrote: »
    Or it could simply be part of the standard WWE set up of push, crash, push, crash to make sure the persons are dedicated to stick with WWE in thick and thin even when not pushed.

They gave him that lousy cape & crown get up thats like a anchor for anyone trying to go anywhere.I know wwe try to test people but Sheamus has been a 2x WWE Champ he's not exactly fresh off development.Vince constantly having his mind made up by people like Kevin Dunn makes me nearly welcome HHH taking over creatively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

is he still buds with hunter? i was looking forward to their feud once hhh returned but now he has taker to feud with there isnt much left for sheamus on raw maybe jomo again, daniel bryan or i guess a feud with mark henry - a move to smackdown is the better option for him

he worked very well in the ec raw chamber match

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Nody wrote: »

I'd say its mostly this tbh, at the moment he is being used to elivate others using his main event status something they continue to establish by having him involved in matches like the chamber and probably the MITB match at mania. I doubt too many want Henry going over him but Im glad the WWE used Sheamus in such a manner with Morrison and it's probably just to forward a storyline for MITB between Henry/Sheamus (plus Bryan and Morrison whynot)
    gimmick wrote: »
    Surely if Dunn does not like him on Raw, he still will not get anywhwere with SD. Same company afterall.

Possibly but moving to SD's main event scene or the tag division with Drew could be considerd a demotion in itself by the WWE. Considering the repitition of the Celtic connection name during the rumble I can really see this being a likelyhood and tbh in the long term would be good for Sheamus
    GTR63 wrote: »
    They gave him that lousy cape & crown get up thats like a anchor for anyone trying to go anywhere.I know wwe try to test people but Sheamus has been a 2x WWE Champ he's not exactly fresh off development.Vince constantly having his mind made up by people like Kevin Dunn makes me nearly welcome HHH taking over creatively.

the get up and use of the Gimmick so far might not be ideal but he always has being the current king as backup to be used for a push. Him moving to SD and the King Sheamus push restarting wouldent be a surprise after mania for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭pbffan

Trips retiring won't help either :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

pbffan wrote: »
    Trips retiring won't help either :(

never know if Sheamus was to be drafted around Backlash (cant remember what they stupidly renamed it as) time he could have a quick goodbye to Raw post mania feud with HHH where even if he lost it would be high profile enough to atleast make him seem important as he debuts on a new brand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

There are very few people who have ever debuted and maintained a strong push for their entire career. Even Cena stalled for a bit. If Seamus was to remain at the top we would all be quite sick of him rather quickly.

He still gets TV time, he is still described as a threat, he won KOTR very recently. I would not worry even slightly for his progress. He will be champion again a number of times.

Look at Kane for example. He has been up and down more than a prostitute and has had an extremely long career in both the mid card and main event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭TheBigEvil

scon86 wrote: »
    Sheamus is a two time WWE champion current king of the ring and was just in the main event at ec on Sunday but two of the last three weeks on raw he has been beaten by Mark Henry and one was a squash match and he himself is a glorified jobber. With wrestlemaina on the horizon and with the exception of maybe a match with Morrison there is nothing else for him. Is his push coming to an end after only a 18months or so…………… images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ6LJ6d72_gNk56h-9mvsx12anf4sWap2CXH3hLmP0_2dSU_PFi

Have to agree, couldn't believe he got pinned again by Morrison and then lost to Mark Henry on Raw.

Mental that they give him a run as two time champ, and now the KOTR and looks like hell have a lame match at WM, probably against morrison or henry.

Not happy he's being pushed out of the mix

http://www.lordsofpain.net/news/wwe/New_Feud_for_WrestleMania_Sunny-HOF_MVP_Competing_in_Tournament_More.html

Says here that he could be facing Daniel Bryan at Wrestlemania for the U.S title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

I'm pretty confident he will lose to triple h between now and mania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Has he dirtied his bib with management ? Its crazy that he is jobbing to guys such as Mark Henry etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Sheamus has just got lost in the shuffle a little over the last few months. They really should have brought HHH back for the Royal Rumble and have their feud end then. He has dropped down the card recently but he still has decent exposure every week on Raw. I think it's a case that he has worked a program with every major babyface on Raw - if anything he is a victim of Orton and Cena hogging the main 'face slots on Raw.

A post-'Mania move to SD makes a lot of sense. He would have a lot of fresh opponents over there - Rey, Kofi, Edge, Christian and maybe 'Taker if he hangs around. I also think that he would get more of the focus on SD, allowing his character to develop more (similar to how Punk gained true acceptance during his SD run). For a guy who has been in a top spot for 18 months and had 2 WWE Title reigns we still no very little about Sheamus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Sheamus is suffering from getting the WWE title prematurely. His push didn't warrant a title run at that stage and now it is harming him. Sure Lesnar and others won a title early in their run, but they were very over with the crowd. Sheamus was still gaining acceptance.

A run on Smackdown would be great for him as he can expand as a character. I think he would be a great face too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I agree , he was given the title far too early. All of the current crop of main eventers apart from Sheamus worked their way up through the secondary belts and became established stars before they were given a wwe or world title. Sheamus now finds himself in the position that if he was to win anything other than a wwe or world it would be considered a major depush. A move to smackdown and a feud with fellow celt Drew McIntyre may help.

Its kind of stupid of them to make him "earn" it now after he's already been champion twice. Especially seeing as he's way better in ring & on the mic now that he was during his title reigns.

Its also a dumb move to demote him after fans were accepting him as a main eventer. WWE needs all the main event guys they can get, and demoting a guy who was there for really no good reason is beyond me.

The only time they've ever blown a good investment like Sheamus in recent times is Jack Swagger. Another guy who has all the tools, but the lost interest in.

IMO WWE needs to cop on. Triple H won't be wrestling for much longer i wouldn't think. Taker has to have only about 2 good years left in him. Edge is talking about retiring in 2012. Mysterio might be gone as early as late this year.

The only "new" main event guys this year are Miz & Alberto Del Rio. Getting only 2 guys up there a year isfar too slow IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

tbh 2 new main eventers per year is an astounding jump for WWE. I think they'd be in much less turmoil if Jeff Hardy wasn't the collossal fcuk up and was their big main-event face.

After making Punk and Hardy in 2009, WWE are doing good work. They could be doing much better, but on a whole it's light-years ahead of the stagnant 0/year in 2006,07,08. It was Cena/Batista/Orton/Edge and that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,108 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Henry is for the chop lads, I think WWE are giving him one final push to see if he can ever get over as a credible 'face' main eventer, which he wont and he'll be gone after WM.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Sheamus will be grand.

He is in the mid card now that's not a real surprise. It really doesn't matter what one guy reportedly thinks now, if Sheamus keeps up the work Ethic he will get a renewed push soon enough.

People always give out about Truth and Henry doing well in a match, but they provide some diversity to RAW.

Henry is for the chop lads, I think WWE are giving him one final push to see if he can ever get over as a credible 'face' main eventer, which he wont and he'll be gone after WM.

Henry's safe. He managed to fenagle his way into a 10-year iron clad money contract; and when that was finally up, he 'threatened' to go to Hollywood and he got a new one. He can certainly do it again! Smartest man in the business. Steak and strip-clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

Sorry to be off topic but talking about main eventers is that fella Jack Swagger still wrestling?

I only watched it now and again and I think it was when I was watching it for Bret Hart and they had this guy called Jack Swagger as champion. Is he gone now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

joe123 wrote: »
    Sorry to be off topic but talking about main eventers is that fella Jack Swagger still wrestling?

I only watched it now and again and I think it was when I was watching it for Bret Hart and they had this guy called Jack Swagger as champion. Is he gone now?

He's still around he won his first match in ages on Smackdown this week(feb 25th). He's been abysmaly booked & has been falling down the card consistantly(After losing his title to Mysterio at the MITB ppv he didn't even appear on the next ppv SummerSlam). Like Sheamus i'd love to know why.He improved but not enough for wwe to notice I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭rude awakening

Source: Rajah.com
    This is the second time they have done a piece on Seamus, so I'd say they are as surprised as everyone else,Contains Spoiler

King of the Ring winner Sheamus has lost his last 6 pay-per-view matches
    heading into his WrestleMania feud with United States Champion Daniel Bryan.
    So far this year, the former WWE champion has a win-loss record on television (and pay-per-views) of 1-8.
    RAW producer Kevin Dunn is reportedly not fan of Sheamus, despite Triple H being a strong ally of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Henry's safe. He managed to fenagle his way into a 10-year iron clad money contract; and when that was finally up, he 'threatened' to go to Hollywood and he got a new one. He can certainly do it again! Smartest man in the business. Steak and strip-clubs.

Agreed, he is safe as houses. He is also one of the most over midcard babyfaces they have so no reason for them to let him go go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭messi1985

poor sheamus.. after last nite i reckon alot of the positive views and opinions the big red fella was getting will be different.. fairly peeded off with what they have down.. sd only way now

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Thought this should be noted here. On his Creative Recall blog, John Piermarini (a former member of WWE creative) said...

- Sheamus is being humbled big time these last few months. My guess is that his head got a little too big the last year with his meteoric rise. I seen a change in him since the day he won the WWE Title, apparently I wasn’t the only one.

if Vince wants to deflate the career of Sheamus this is pretty much how you do it. He will learn his lesson real quick spending each week like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭TheEscapist

What's everyone talking about? Sure he just had two 'buried alive' matches on Raw in one night :pac:

If he's getting a big head, i understand the need to humble him a bit.

But why not use his star power & former WWE champion status to elevate guys that have a future? Instead of wasting it on never-will-bes like Mark Henry.

Could use him to elevate Daniel Bryan, or Kofi Kingston. Or they could just take him off television altogether.

I never understood the point of damaging your own guys in the eyes of the fans. Why damage his career when you could hit him where it hurts? His wallet. Taking him off TV would mean he wouldn't have to have transport etc paid for.

Seems like a waste to me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭Rawm2008

He still gets paid when hes off tv, the way the downside garantee works no matter what they do to him hell get his full years wage at the end of the year in a lump sum,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Have to say that WWE are really undermining the new guys and the mid-upper card level.Sheamus who put HHH on the shelf is now jobbing to Mark Henry and will inevitably be buried by HHH at some point in some pass off angle.

Meanwhile Wade Barrett has been demoted in favour of CM Punk.The Nexus and Kane who buried the Undertaker are now involved in some 8 man tag at Mania.Its like the WWE have discarded the older fans who actually remember 5 months ago.

It does nothing for storyline continuation and I think it looks bad for creative and the roster if they are by-passing stuff.

King Sheamus coming out in a robe is fairly embarassing.Its like carnival wrestling and something out of the 80s.Its hard to imagine Sheamus get buried moreso than he was the last few weeks.While a once off loss to Mark Henry is credible,he was made look a total jobber even though his performance at Elimination Chamber was probably one of the best performances.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

http://www.wwe.com/content/media/pdf/SheamusMuscleFitnessCover.pdf

http://www.wwe.com/inside/overtheropes/news/sheamusmusclefitness

Sculpting a chiseled physique is all about intensity, and few Superstars are quite as intense as Sheamus, who graces the cover of the latest issue of Muscle & Fitness magazine. (VIEW THE COVER)
    In the issue, the two-time WWE Championand 2010 King of the Ring recounts his meteoric ascent to WWE Superstardom and the challenges he overcame as he began his in-ring journey.
    “I never gave up,” The Celtic Warrior told the magazine of his desire to become a WWE Superstar. “People laughed at me when I told them what I was trying to do. They looked down on it or whatever. But I’m telling you, this is the world to me. To be a part of the WWE, to go on to WrestleMania like we’ve got coming up in a few weeks – that’s everything.”
    The issue also sheds light on The High King of WWE’s rigorous training regimen, designed for him by WWE’s strength and conditioning consultant Rob MacIntyre: The Celtic Warrior Workout.
    For a detailed breakdown of Sheamus’ Celtic Warrior Workout and for more insight from the devious Dubliner himself, pick up the April issue of Muscle & Fitness, in stores March 15. To learn more about the magazine, visit muscleandfitness.com.

Reports say Shambo dropped the KOTR gimmick (and went back not looking like a knob) at a house show last weekend, maybe he'll drop it on TV tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Lads I may have missed a half hour of raw, did Sheamo win, or did they have the match at all and tone raw to 90 mins?

Xinkai wrote: »
    Lads I may have missed a half hour of raw, did Sheamo win, or did they have the match at all and tone raw to 90 mins?

He won the US title in a ~10 minute quite good match via pinfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Not sure if this topic is spoiler free -
    To be honest I thought Sheamus v Bryan for the title would have been the Wrestlemania pay-off, but now that they have given us this singles match and the title has changed hands, makes the possibility of a MITB match at WM slightly more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Not 2 weeks before WM dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

A Mania MITB is not happening.

Following last night's SD tapings:
    Sheamus beat Kofi. I reckon that either a Sheamus v Kofi rematch to unify the belts could take place at Mania. It would make sense to have Bryan drop the belt to Sheamus so it can lead to a Heel v Face match at Mania. No idea where that would leave Bryan though but I'm sure the likes of Kofi, Sheamus, Bryan and Drew will fit in somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

glenjamin wrote: »
    A Mania MITB is not happening.

Following last night's SD tapings:
    Sheamus beat Kofi. I reckon that either a Sheamus v Kofi rematch to unify the belts could take place at Mania. It would make sense to have Bryan drop the belt to Sheamus so it can lead to a Heel v Face match at Mania. No idea where that would leave Bryan though but I'm sure the likes of Kofi, Sheamus, Bryan and Drew will fit in somewhere.
    2 weeks to go, and I don't believe any of them have a match booked yet, so a four-way would make sense.