Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wet gear

• 22-02-2011 9:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭

Hi
    Any recommendations on decent wet gear?
    Looking to buy today in limerick. Cheap as possible.
    Price etc.
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

Dr Nic wrote: »
    Hi
    Any recommendations on decent wet gear?
    Looking to buy today in limerick. Cheap as possible.
    Price etc.
    Thanks!
    "Decent" "Cheap".
    When it comes to wet gear you need to ask yourself if you don't mind letting in a little water after a few months.
    Wet Gear should be a once off purchase and last 3 or 4 years.
    Galvin Green/Sunice I've found to be the best.
    If you're just worried about throwing on some wet gear for a shower or two then there are all manner of tops like the Ping top for around 50 quid and that will keep you dry during showers.
    I found that the wet-tops are the most important. It needs to be 100% waterproof but light. The bottoms just need to keep out water.
    I've got the Under Armour wet/wind trousers for winter and they are great. No need for wet pants.
    In summary, if you're just after something to keep you dry in showers then a Ping G15 wet top (light and waterproof) is grand and about 50 quid.
    If you want to stand in the rain for 4 hours then Galvin green or Sunice top is the best and a normal pair of wet pants.
    To be honest, the shoes are nearly the most important wet gear. If your feet are wet then you're goosed.
    Enjoy the shopping and haggle like mad. The season for Galvin green tops is shortening. Come summer there will be no need for them.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

fairly long-winded there horgan

short answer: you may as well buy a pair of pyjamas to wear over ur golf kit unless you're willing to cough up for galvin green.
    nike etc are ****e in this regard

conno16 wrote: »
    fairly long-winded there horgan

short answer: you may as well buy a pair of pyjamas to wear over ur golf kit unless you're willing to cough up for galvin green.
    nike etc are ****e in this regard
    8)

Ya, I tend to ramble. My view is that repetition of a point eventually drives it home.
    I have multitudes of wet gear depening on the rain/showers and then throw in temerature/wind etc... I liked Sunice for not making me roast in my wet gear, but ya, Galvin Green is the dogs.

Yours in tending to rant when I really just should be trying to keep my replies to one or two lines because God knows I don't have all day to be spending on the internet,
    GSH.

do ye have the internet hooked up in those speed camera vans now horgan?

dont the gardai get free wet gear anyways - have you not tried it out down in the local course?
    you could glue on an adidas logo (or some other such brand) and most people would be fooled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Dr Nic

Thanks guys!
    How much is Calvin green?

calvin green is expensive, much like calvin clein
    a proper suit will set up back around 350 - 450
    i suggest you buy a top first and keep saving if you're currently experiencing some economic woes

conno16 wrote: »
    do ye have the internet hooked up in those speed camera vans now horgan?

dont the gardai get free wet gear anyways - have you not tried it out down in the local course?
    you could glue on an adidas logo (or some other such brand) and most people would be fooled
    Well, seeing as these days your smartphone can be setup as a wi-fi hotspot there is no need to get "hooked up".

I would also recommend, in no small way, to get socks such as the Footjoy thick golf socks. Having dry warm feet playing golf is essential.

Yours in toasty toes,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭big_drive

Around €250 for a jacket

I would also recommend, in no small way, to get socks such as the Footjoy thick golf socks. Having dry warm feet playing golf is essential.

this is true
    although i find ski socks are equally effective and an efficient use of existing resources

btw TK Maxx have been known to stock the odd calvin green suit
    usually in strange colours such as yellow and electric pink/blue though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Affordable and of decent quality I'd go check out elverys by the parkway and jjb in Childers road. Have bought wet pants from both. Elverys stock kartel wet gear for €36 in navy and black. Jjb stock slazenger for €40

dines08 wrote: »
    Affordable and of decent quality I'd go check out elverys by the parkway and jjb in Childers road. Have bought wet pants from both. Elverys stock kartel wet gear for €36 in navy and black. Jjb stock slazenger for €40

both are rubbish
    that 40 quid could be used as a first installment for calvin green golf gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Aesop

Check out the prices first online so you have an idea of what you can get.

http://www.onlinegolf.co.uk/Golf-Clothing/Golf-Waterproofs/sc1532.aspx
    http://www.golfstoreeurope.com/Categories.aspx?CategoryID=60
    http://www.golfonline.co.uk/golf-apparel/golf-waterproofs/c-86

After that...

Tom Murphy out at the Castletroy Shopping center has a very good range of wet gear (Galvin Green, Footjoy, Mizuno, Sunderland). Very very expensive though, Tom knows how to charge. Good range though (you'll get an idea of what you like) and you might be able to haggle him down a small bit.

Gleesons sports in town don't have as good a range (Stuburt, Footjoy, Ping) but do have better prices.

Let me know how you get on. I need to go shopping for waterproofs myself over the summer (best time to get them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Tom Murphy of the castletroy shopping centre is the most obnoxious c@&k of a man I have ever come across in my life. How he does any business with his sky high prices and arrogance is beyond me. I made the mistake of going in there after work one day in my work clothes. He took one look at me and made his mind up that I wasn't worth talking to. I was asking advice on new irons and had €600 in my pocket to buy some. He was the most ignorant person I've ever dealt with in terms of customer service. Never again would I even consider buying so much as a bag of tees off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Waesfjord

Dr Nic wrote: »
    Thanks guys!
    How much is Calvin green?

you can get GG at reduced price on the likes of Ebay, just need to be careful whoyou are buying off, their selling hostory etc.

Worked for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 fordbrian21

I have brand new wet gear for sale won it in a top golfer event,kartel same as wat Harrington wears very good stuff,180 euro a lot cheaper than galvin green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I have brand new wet gear for sale won it in a top golfer event,kartel same as wat Harrington wears very good stuff,180 euro a lot cheaper than galvin green

It's cheaper for good reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 fordbrian21

If it's good enough for harrington can't be tat bad

how often do you see harro out playing in the rain ffs..