Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pajero

• 21-02-2011 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭

Im looking for advice on what to look for when buying a pajero, mainly for pulling trailers. Probably a SWB manual commercial. Had two in the past. A mark 1, 2.5, with timing belt, never gave any trouble except for 2nd gear was hard to select. Also 2.8 with timing chain. Gave lots of problems, with timing chain, overheating and hard on diesel.

What should I look out for in any of the above, or the 3.2 DID. Does the 3.2 have a dual mass flywheel. Also does the diesel pump on common rail engine give trouble.

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Do a search, loads of threads on here about them.

I have said on here before that the fuel pump on the earlier 3.2s can give bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Yes they do have a dual mass, yes they do break, usually followed shortly by the timing chain guides. Get an automatic, no dual mass, no timing chain issues and a better tow'er and offroader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Isn't the 2.5 harder on diesel than the 2.8?

Rust on the ladder frame is a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Common problem with the 2.8 is the injection shaft seal.

Its a big issue as it involves removal of the pump, its not complicated, just a **** load of hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Bgarvanman

I have replaced 5 dual flywheels in the last 6 months, in the 3.2 DiD's including one in a newer 07 common rail model ! so it looks like mitsu decided not to change the DMF !! instead they issued a ECU software upgrade.

I had a 04 3.2 DiD and really liked it, best jeep on the road for road holding better on diesel than a cruiser and bags of torque, but replaced the DMF twice !! i did do a lot of heavy towing, also 02-05 ish models had a recall on rear Diff half shaft seals.

DMF costs €1200+vat plus labour clutch is bout €350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Frank_Leach

Just bought a 1999 Pajero s.w.b. 2.8td. She's a beauty, plenty of poke in the turbo. I drove it easy mostly though, from Sligo to Dublin...about 20 euro for the trip. 130 miles..whatever that works out at. I thought it was alright for what it is..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

Just bought a 1999 Pajero s.w.b. 2.8td. She's a beauty, plenty of poke in the turbo. I drove it easy mostly though, from Sligo to Dublin...about 20 euro for the trip. 130 miles..whatever that works out at. I thought it was alright for what it is..

there is no possible way you done 130 miles on 20 euro. double it at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 urtooky

41 or so to the gallon !???????

I don't get that from my Vit

I reckon there was a drop in the tank when you started out, that's not there now.

there is no possible way you done 130 miles on 20 euro. double it at least.

There was very little in it...i put 40 in which brought her just below the 3/4 mark...drove her at around 60 constant back to bublin, she was just below the 1/3 mark, so roughly 2/3 of 40 euro....more like 25-30 euro, and closer to 30. Apols for inaccurate guess there lads..

I am told they arent too bad on juice if you drive them easy...the turbo just begs to kick in though, it is chomping at the bit in 3rd gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Your mpg is way off, you need to fill the tank and then refill to see what you used..
    Mine would have used at least €32 for that journey

One thing...
    I changed the oil in it, and it may be my imagination, but seems a bit stuttery in low gears and low revs. I put in 15w 40 diesel oil from aldi, 15 euro for 5 liters. Was chatting a mate tonight who has an x5 and he said he put 5w/40 in his x5 and it cost 55. Am i with wrong oil?

One thing...
    I changed the oil in it, and it may be my imagination, but seems a bit stuttery in low gears and low revs. I put in 15w 40 diesel oil from aldi, 15 euro for 5 liters. Was chatting a mate tonight who has an x5 and he said he put 5w/40 in his x5 and it cost 55. Am i with wrong oil?

change that cheap ****e out and get some decent oil to see if that makes a difference, did you change the oil filter aswell? air filter?

Any particular brand ypu recommend? Also..whats the best ratio for the 2.8 version? Is 15/40 ok?
    I changed oil filter and air filter. And diesel filter. I over filled the oil slightly though. One thing i notice...when starting her up in the morning, she is sluggish to stary and farts a belch of blue smoke out. Grand on open road, but in low revs a bit groggy. I will change oul and filter again today, subject to recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Sluggish to start could be knackered glow-plugs. Does it start easier when the engine is warm?

id say 10w 40 would be better. sounds like your glow plugs are fecked, more so the connecting piece of aluminium between them has corroded and has fecked up the circuit. try cleaning that first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭broro22

Use only 10w40 semi syn 15w40 is the wrong oil for 2.8

Chances are your glow plugs are gone. Take off aluminium strip connecting the the plugs to one another.

Take a jump lead from battery + and touch off the top of each plug individually there should be noticeable spark if not the plug is dead this will only tell you if a plug is completely dead they may still draw some current and not be working fully but its a good indicator. (Be careful not to touch off engine or anything else metal or there will very noticeable sparks, some smoke and a lot of swearing:D)

Even if only one seems gone replace them all

broro22 wrote: »
    Use only 10w40 semi syn 15w40 is the wrong oil for 2.8

Chances are your glow plugs are gone. Take off aluminium strip connecting the the plugs to one another.

Take a jump lead from battery + and touch off the top of each plug individually there should be noticeable spark if not the plug is dead this will only tell you if a plug is completely dead they may still draw some current and not be working fully but its a good indicator. (Be careful not to touch off engine or anything else metal or there will very noticeable sparks, some smoke and a lot of swearing:D)

Even if only one seems gone replace them all

Thanks lads...will change to 10/40 and a new filter tomorrow. What about these glow plugs, they easy to change?

Not difficult loosen the four 8mm nuts onthe top of plugs slide the aluminium strip out from under the nuts (it's slotted) then unscrew the plugs you'll need either a 12 or 14mm deep socket and an extension then replace in reverse order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭bren11

Thanks for your advice. I have purchased a 99 2.8 with about 100k miles. Its a good tight jeep. Have arranged for full service with new filters, 10w 40 semi synt oil for engine, and a gearbox oil change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Good luck with your purchase

bren11 wrote: »
    Thanks for your advice. I have purchased a 99 2.8 with about 100k miles. Its a good tight jeep. Have arranged for full service with new filters, 10w 40 semi synt oil for engine, and a gearbox oil change.

Assuming shes a manual make sure to use castrol synthrax or equivalent in both gear box and transfer box.