Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First road race - advice please!

• 21-02-2011 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭

I'm going to take the plunge over the next couple of weeks and have a go at my first A4 road race (probably the Mick Lally race?). I've done a fair bit of mtb racing over the last couple of years and I'm reasonably hopeful of being able for the pace and if I'm not I'll just get blown out the back and my worries will be irrelevant!
    What I'm wondering about is where I should try to position myself within the bunch during the race, assuming there is a bunch? Should I stay close to the back where I'll be the least nuisance to other riders or should I try to stay in the middle of the pack? I have been riding a couple of times a week during the winter with a group but our road discipline would probably be a bit lax!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

you will find your level fairly quick. Forget about being a nuisance....just get stuck in, have a go but be safe.

if you make a boo boo the boys and girls will let you know!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭cormpat

Also, if there're any climbs in the route, try to position yourself at the front or as near the front as possible just before the climb begins as you can take it a little easier on the climb & end up towards the back of the bunch at the top of the climb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

stay as near to the front as you dare ,watch out for corners .like everything else in cycling the hot pace at the start will settle down soon enough after the start.
    the lads that go to race will soon show themselfs .don't be afraid to go with a break what have you to loose.
    remember it's not all about riding flat out use your head look around and see whats going on in the race.
    anyway besides all that enjoy it's the best sport in the world .;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Just to add look out for potholes, not always called. hit one and blow out and it can be very dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

Stay on the left of the bunch no more than 3/4 way back. The moves go up the right, which is constantly moving. The left side should give you a bail out if it's getting hairy.

Above all, act predictably on the brakes (emergency use only!) and your line particularly through corners. And be aware of those around you.

Best of luck and keep us posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭sbs2010

hi - I'm in same position as OP and also considering the Mick Lally A4 race. I've a couple of questions if anyone can help:

The race is 44km in Meath - I know there's a hundred variables but does anyone have a ballpark figure of what speed it might go at? I'm just trying to figure out if I might be able to keep up or if I'll be left on my own after 500m for a solo spin.

And secondly, - is there any support for punctures or do you have to fix yourself? If thats of dopey question, sorry - but I've never raced before so have no idea how things work.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

I would guess the avg speed will be 24mph or 38kph

you have to look after yourself I am afradi but the circuit is 10 miles round so you will be a max 5miles fromthe start/finish area.Thats if they use the warrenstown circuit. If its not that then it will be 3 laps of the mullagh /doreys forge circuit which is harder.... 13 miles (21km) I think

sure giive it a go and let us know what you think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

morana wrote: »
    I would guess the avg speed will be 24mph or 38kph

Oops ....that's a bit faster than I would have thought! Ah well I'm committed now!

sbs2010 wrote: »

And secondly, - is there any support for punctures or do you have to fix yourself? If thats of dopey question, sorry - but I've never raced before so have no idea how things work.

To be honest I would never bring a spare tube, etc. in a race. If you puncture, chances are, you're not going to get back on so there's no point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

cormpat wrote: »
    To be honest I would never bring a spare tube, etc. in a race. If you puncture, chances are, you're not going to get back on so there's no point.

How are you going to get back to the start with a flat tyre?

I've marshalled before when a rider has abandoned with a puncture and no means to fix it. It was f'ing annoying, as I felt compelled to either carry his dirty bike in my car or give him some CO2. He didn't even offer to replace the CO2.

IMO if you don't have a club/team support car you should carry your own puncture repair or enjoy walking miles in cleats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Dave11

Take on all the above advice and then just go and enjoy it.... it's some of the best craic you will ever have!! Best of luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pm78

similar position to other posters- just wandering can anyone recommend a particular race that would be a good beginner race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭giannip

Lumen wrote: »

I've marshalled before when a rider has abandoned with a puncture and no means to fix it. It was f'ing annoying, as I felt compelled to either carry his dirty bike in my car or give him some CO2. He didn't even offer to replace the CO2.

IMO if you don't have a club/team support car you should carry your own puncture repair or enjoy walking miles in cleats.

As long as you leave the mini pump in the car and NOT in your back pocket like I see so many people doing.

I've seen some nasty crashes from pumps falling out of pockets and ending up between spokes.

CO2 canister rather..

I've only punctured a couple of times thankfully, & the Club Van is at 99% of the races I do & my bike is spotless (well, once every couple of weeks any way;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

RPL1 wrote: »
    Oops ....that's a bit faster than I would have thought! Ah well I'm committed now!
    Speed in a bunch is much easier than on your own and is not compareable. What speed is a common newbie question but what they dont realise is that average speed is entirely irrelevant. Handling your bike in the bunch and the CHANGES of speed will be the issue. It is a lot harder at back as you will slow and then need to sprint corners.

Speed-wise, if you can cycle on your own at 32kph you can cycle in a bunch at 38kph. Roughly.

Fear of getting dropped is a great motivator.

Speed-wise, if you can cycle on your own at 32kph you can cycle in a bunch at 38kph. Roughly.

Fear of getting dropped is a great motivator.

That's what's worrying me ..... 28/29kms average would be good going for me solo ..... probably safer on my own anyway!!!

RPL1 wrote: »
    That's what's worrying me ..... 28/29kms average would be good going for me solo ..... probably safer on my own anyway!!!

What's to be worried about? It's fun.

Racing is supposed to be hard. If it wasn't, everyone would win.

You'll probably surprise yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

HERE is the thread about the Mick Lally last year. It was the race in which many here (like me, for instance) made their open début and those doing the same this year can probably learn from our experiences.

Questions about speed show that you're probably worrying about the wrong things, which is in itself a bit worrying.

niceonetom wrote: »
    Questions about speed show that you're probably worrying about the wrong things, which is in itself a bit worrying.

Actually not worried about the speed at all ..... if it's too fast I'll just get dropped! No problem! Much more concerned about getting in peoples way, causing an accident or not avoiding one, not keeping my line in a corner or hitting a big pothole .... plenty to keep me entertained!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack