Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Really hate my job!

• 20-02-2011 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

:( Hey guys, just want to know what ye think i should do or if ye have ever been in this situation! I got a job in supermacs about 3 months ago. It is my first job, so i knew i wouldnt love it straight away as it would have been all new to me, but i never thought id hate it as much as i do. I know how lucky i am to have a job these days, and many people would kill for a job. But i just hate it soo soo much, its slowly making me depressed. Im in college so come home at weekends, thats where the job is. I dread coming home to work, i get quite homesick so i love being at home, and once saturday is over i do love it. But up to then i cant get working off my mind, and it gets my down so much. The money is handly like, and itd b great esp durning the summer. But i dont no if i can take it any more. I just turned 18, so i will more then lightly have to start working nights, and that will push me over the edge. My parents know i hate it, but i dont think they know how much, and my mum esp, says i should just cop on and do it. I know many of ye will tell me that, but its getting me down so much and it overshadowing the rest of my life.
    Please help, and let my know that im not alone!..
    Thanks in advance!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

Hey ohhlala,

Before answering, why is the job so depressing? Is it the people you work with, the work your doing? Because you only get to spend a little time "at home" when you home?

Have you talked to your parents in a proper manner as to why you hate it so much? Could you get a job somewhere else (though that will be very difficult)?

Sorry about all the questions but your likely to be asked these as the thread develops so better to give more info first. Don't say anything about your location on the off chance one of your colleagues is on here and you get in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

oh the joys of working with the public!

might help if you told us what exactly you hate about it?

In the end it gonna boil down to the money versus the hassle,
    next time you buy something you need, just try and remember where you got the cash from.

but if you think working nights is going to drive you postal, look for another job and hand in your notice,simples!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭HardyBuckFan

imo keep the job unless you don't need the money
    also worked a job i hated thru my college years
    best o luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 ohhlala

Ha! Its grand, should have explained my self better!.. Am its just everything, the people, the work! i feel its really not worth the money i get. Im not like stuck for money, but i am a student, so any bit extra is great! I have tried to talk to them, but they dont pass much notice! Im one of these people the over think things and just cant get it off my mind. And yeah i dont get alot of time at home either. I starting to hate it more and more, wheres i should be getting used to it by now. Id feel soo guilty if i quit tho, when most people are dieing for a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I'm not going to go on about aren't you lucky etc etc. you already know that.

Rest assured that most people don't wake up in the morning and say
    "Great - another exciting day in work"
    Work is work - a means to an end - just do the hours, collect your money and get on with it then go home and enjoy the bit of fiscal freedom you have.

I'm already counting the days to retirement - 10,957

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

As said above your probably better off thinking of the money. It is a pain but think of the fact that you will have cash to go out on thursday night and not drink the cheapest crap out there or being able to go out all rag week (thats assuming your a first year).

After a good week it may help you feel better with the job. How about setting a goal with the cash like a summer holiday with your mates or putting it towards a car, now thats a motivation factor! Could you do that? The money quickly ads up and remember you are entitled to your tax back :). Why not have a look around for another summer job?

A few of my mates worked in clubs and take-aways through college and hated it but used things to get through it so your not alone in that factor, you just got to find a goal that you can use the money to work towards, which will help big time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,090 ✭✭✭✭looksee

You are a bit homesick, you are missing being minded - though you mum sounds as though she has a lot of sense! Its just a routine job, a way of earning money.

Try and look for good things about the job. Smile and keep smiling. Have little challenges with yourself to see if you can make the punters smile. Think about something else entirely (but keep the smile in place). Stand up straight and move briskly (it really does work!). Do 'time and motion' on yourself - work out how you can do things most efficiently - incidentally thats a great help in normal life.

You went into the job expecting not to like it, its a self-fulfilling prophecy, don't allow yourself to churn thoughts round and round in your head - if that starts make a cheerful remark to someone, distract yourself.

Its not your life's work, its a means to an end, make a few bob and move on.

Thanks for ur help guys! :D.. Il try way ye suggested at hope it works! it jst gets me so down, and im sick of being upset over it!.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

Speaking as someone who worked in McDonalds at your age.....if you hate it and you don't actually need the money then leave. I have no idea if Supermacs is better to work for than McDonalds but I doubt it. Working in those kinds of places is soul destroying, and if it's your first job then you have no frame of reference and you probably assume all studenty jobs are equally as s**t. They aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

stoneill wrote: »
    I'm not going to go on about aren't you lucky etc etc. you already know that.

Rest assured that most people don't wake up in the morning and say
    "Great - another exciting day in work"
    Work is work - a means to an end - just do the hours, collect your money and get on with it then go home and enjoy the bit of fiscal freedom you have.

I'm already counting the days to retirement - 10,957

I really don't understand this mentality. We only have one life, and spend the majority of our lives working, so why on earth are we all doing things day in, day out we hate?!
    The reality is working somewhere you hate, while it may bring in a bit of money, it can completely destroy your self confidence and belief in yourself.

I would recommend what looksee said.Try and find some positives in the work you do, or giving yourself little treats to look forward to after work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Keep your current job as a fallback but have a look around for something else ?

ya it totaly putin me off eveyr job!.. and ur rite it is soul destroying! I hav such a hate fr da place, when i see any fastfood place, i jst gt such a bad feelin! Im soo confused, dnt no wat to do reali!... if i start gtin late nites, il prop deff leave. Ya im going ta go look fr anothr job, bt i cnt see me gtin anywere, because i no loadz who hav tryd in my area and got ntin! :( I understand dt like im nt gona ta love it, bt i hoped to at least nt dread goin in every wekend!...

I do like think of saving for holidays at summer and dt, bt tbh it doesnt help much, i jst tink no holiday is worth it. last summer i wud hav did anything fr a job bt nw!. :( Maybe its jst coz its my first job, and im not used to workin?!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

I feel for you. I have a 19yr old who had similar issue.

My advice is get an A4 sheet; 2 columns - pros & cons. List what you like/benefits (pros) of the job and dislikes/drawbacks of the job.

As a parent I would say to you that you are at an age that you need to make your own decisions and be able to stand by them.

Sounds to me that you have gone beyond the point of no return and you know what to do . You don't want to get to a situation where the work is affecting your health and therefore your college work.

Worst case, look for alternative employment, supermarkets, etc

Ya bt drs act ntin n my area, so f i quit il hav ntin, like il live witout da money ciz i only spend it on goin ot and shopping nd dt!.. bt dn il feel soo guilty askin my parents fr momey dn!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

ohhlala wrote: »
    Ya bt drs act ntin n my area, so f i quit il hav ntin, like il live witout da money ciz i only spend it on goin ot and shopping nd dt!.. bt dn il feel soo guilty askin my parents fr momey dn!..

wtf???:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭ash_18x

I worked in supermacs when i was at college. It wasn't the nicest of places to work but the people I worked with were nice so that made the difference I presume. Plus it wasnt my first job so I knew there was worse out there! I needed the money too so it was handy. I used to work monday to thursday so then when I went home at the weekend I didnt have to worry about working and could spend time just being at home.

Is there any way you could get a job during the week at college so that you don't have to work when you go home at the weekends or like you say if you dont really need to be working maybe just give it up and look for something else. There is no point in you being miserable unnecessarily but that is just MY opinion!

milehip1 wrote: »
    wtf???:eek:

Sorry i worth that when i was half asleep! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

Hi, you say you do not really need the money and that it is spent on going out and clothes. Maybe your parents think you need to work or they would have to subsidise you otherwise or top up your pocket money. Maybe they cannot afford to do that.

I get up and go out to work every day, working in a job that is not particularly well paid or stimulating. While I don't particularly dislike it, I wouldn't go as far as to say I enjoy it either. Many people spend years and years in the same job - why? To make ends meet and enjoy some of the finer things in life (these seem to be getting less and less). For some people, there is no alternative.

Before packing in this job, I think it would be better to see if there are any alternative part-time jobs available. Also if you try to stay busy at work, the time will go faster.

ya dt cud b it alrite, bt my dad says its more fr the experience than the money!... Ya i understand dt i wnt love it, most ppl dnt love their job. Ya i am nearly always busy tho, and the time still drags, its nt even da time tho, its just going in full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

OP, I know exactly how you feel. I worked in a supermarket as a student, I loved it for 3 months then I got absolutely sick of it. The people I worked with were nice, and the pay was good but some of the customers and the managers would nearly drive me to drink. Everything you say you hate about your job brings back horrible memories.

What it did was make me determined to study hard and do well on my course. I qualified, and I just love the job I'm qualified in - I can honestly say thinking back on my Asda job fills me with the jitters even though it was 21 years ago and I never felt that way about my current job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Haruki

Right first off, hope your okay, it can't be easy, you must be sick even thinking about it. Honestly, in my opinion finding a job you love is one of the keys to general happiness in ones life, but take your time, everyone has worked a job at one time or another they hate, it will make you appreciate the career your striving for now in collage, its just a stepping stone. As some folks said above, add up the plus and minuses. BUT having said that, if you feel like it is affecting you in a big way and your struggling.....look elsewhere.
    Hope things work out well, i'm sure they will.

Ya dts true, at leaqst il hopefuly enjoy my further job!.. Ya i did do up da pors and cons, and da cons is bout twice da size of da pros!..
    Im depressing myself tinkin bout da wekend nw, before goin to college and gtin this job i was generally happy and nw i jst find myself cryin so much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

Hope you're o.k.. If the job really is making you that depressed that you are crying so much it probably is not worth it. Health and happiness is more important than any thing. Try to make sure that it is not other factors that make you upset such as homesickness or other stresses involved with being a college student. As a parent of a student, I would love if she could get herself a part-time job so that I could cut back myself on a few of my working hours. I left home myself at 18 and became independent which meant supporting myself without any help from family. I worked in many jobs that I disliked in order to support myself. As a post-graduate now, I am still working long hours in a poorly paid sector. I have to do this, there are no alternatives. I hope your college course goes well for you and that you eventually land a job you enjoy doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Hi ohhlala, please don't use textspeak here, it's very hard to read.