Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF dirty tactics in arklow

• 20-02-2011 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QzoxG9b9i8

have a look at the above video, it happened in arklow, a local independent candidate got permission to put up a banner on a disused building in the town, Peter Dempsey is running a no poster campagain so this is his only advertising on the street!!!! 20mins later another party's truck was parked on a public footpath, causing an obstruction!!!! DIRTY TACTICS!!!, obviously peter dempsey is a major treat 2 the FF candidate!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

have a look at the above video, it happened in arklow, a local independent candidate got permission to put up a banner on a disused building in the town, Peter Dempsey is running a no poster campagain so this is his only advertising on the street!!!! 20mins later another party's truck was parked on a public footpath, causing an obstruction!!!! DIRTY TACTICS!!!, obviously peter dempsey is a major treat 2 the FF candidate!!!!!

Thank you for posting this ,unfortunately it's not the only evidence of Fianna Fail misconduct, with all the phone spamming and the thread trolling and the mud-slinging its obvious that they know their aul party is finished . but hopefully justice will prevail and more evidence like this will come up in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Politics is a brutal game, if this independent cannot defend himself what good is he to the people of people of Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 kelly3540

That Independent Candidate is defending himself ! I sincerely hope the FF candidate gets he,s fines in the post for parking a truck hired to him on a public foothpath! there can,t be one rule for FF and another one for everyone else ! Thats what has this country in the state it is in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭miseagustusa

Politics is a brutal game, if this independent cannot defend himself what good is he to the people of people of Wicklow.

that sounds like a FF reply there:confused: the independent candidate only put up a banner, he has no need 2 defend himself!!! its d FF candidate who was in the wrong.........but sure we're used 2 that by now arent we:cool:

Email dec meehans morning show on east coast with the video and ring them tomorrow.
    link them to this thread aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

that sounds like a FF reply there:confused: the independent candidate only put up a banner, he has no need 2 defend himself!!! its d FF candidate who was in the wrong.........but sure we're used 2 that by now arent we:cool:

I won't be voting for FF. It just seems pathetic for a candidate to go on moaning about a truck been parked in front of a poster.

[QUOTEI won't be voting for FF. It just seems pathetic for a candidate to go on moaning about a truck been parked in front of a poster][/QUOTE]

its the people of the town who are disgusted by it not d candidate!!!! its actually givin him more advertising, so it looks like the dirty tactic backfired big time!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Before people would laugh at this nonsense and carry on their way. Just like that trade union guy wanting us to vote Labour.

Not this time.

its the people of the town who are disgusted by it not d candidate!!!! its actually givin him more advertising, so it looks like the dirty tactic backfired big time!!!!
    Exactly-it was the mass goers that were being targeted and he could have parked his builders van further down and still be in full view without blocking someone elses sign..

Email dec meehans morning show on east coast with the video and ring them tomorrow.
    link them to this thread aswell.

i'll do that, thanks BB :) lol ....... havent been talkin 2 u since d snow went :) lol......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

mgmt wrote: »
    I won't be voting for FF. It just seems pathetic for a candidate to go on moaning about a truck been parked in front of a poster.

ILLEGALLY parked on a footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

They've been seen ripping down opposition posters here, also ringing people's house phones, both of which are illegal

just drove up the N11 and noticed alot of posters have been defaced, FF posters mostly, bout other parties also :O....... this sort of tactic is uncalled for, it just goes to show whats going to be running our country from nxt week :O...... we are damned if we do and damned if we dont :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just drove up the N11 and noticed alot of posters have been defaced, FF posters mostly, bout other parties also :O....... this sort of tactic is uncalled for, it just goes to show whats going to be running our country from nxt week :O...... we are damned if we do and damned if we dont :O

most of the defacing is joe public, who would be happier without any posters.
    all these parties talking about electoral reform, they should promise to ban election posters, they'd gain a whole load of votes

most of the defacing is joe public, who would be happier without any posters.
    all these parties talking about electoral reform, they should promise to ban election posters, they'd gain a whole load of votes

yes i know its mostly the joe public doin this to the posters, but there has also been evidence of some party's removing or defacing others party's posters!!!!

the Candidate whose banner is blocked in the original comment is running a no poster campagain and has been putting this motion forward for years, his only advertisement was this banner which is on a building in arklow which has been left to fall apart for years, the candidate has also been putting motions forward to have this building reinstated to some sort of public use!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 fresh123

Last week on East Coast FM, FF Minister Dick Roche said that anyone who interfered with election material of others fundamentally opposed free speech and were anti-democratic.

I wonder will Dick be publicly commenting on this abuse of free speech by his own party? I doubt it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Auctionmcd

PomBear wrote: »
    They've been seen ripping down opposition posters here, also ringing people's house phones, both of which are illegal

Well its not just FF. If you look at west wicklow the only 2 posters that were left untouched were Timmins and Fortune, so whos been ripping all the others off? FF been ripping their own posters down and leaving Timmins and Fortune alone?

I'd say with all the wet and windy weather Timmins and Fortune just secured their posters better and fair play to them for having that cop on for a winter election.
    In the first week or two of this campaign,posters were flying about everywhere.

As for Fitzgeralds truck,that has backfired bigtime in the local area,everybodies talking about it and it's not nice things they are saying about Fitzgerald.
    He's lost votes not gained them.

I'd say with all the wet and windy weather Timmins and Fortune just secured their posters better and fair play to them for having that cop on for a winter election.
    In the first week or two of this campaign,posters were flying about everywhere.

As for Fitzgeralds truck,that has backfired bigtime in the local area,everybodies talking about it and it's not nice things they are saying about Fitzgerald.
    He's lost votes not gained them.

Maybe they didnt secure them but having them slashed and defaced and thrown in ditches suggests differently.

Well thats common for the FF posters alright.
    Can't say I blame people.
    Most of Pat Fitzgeralds big banners have a black line drawn through them with the Word FAIL wrote in big letters.
    There is a reason why they are likely to end up at 30 seats or less you know :)

Well thats common for the FF posters alright.
    Can't say I blame people.
    Most of Pat Fitzgeralds big banners have a black line drawn through them with the Word FAIL wrote in big letters.
    There is a reason why they are likely to end up at 30 seats or less you know :)

I have seen Brady, Kavanagh and Harris posters receive same treatment but maybe the culprits couldnt read :P