Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importing a cobra into Ireland

• 20-02-2011 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭

With this recession its hard getting a job without a CV or anything like that but I noticed those lads that do tricks like juggling or brake dancing on grafton street get a load of coins in their hats. In the space of 15 minutes I saw one lad make at least 20 euros. I haven't seen any snake charmers in Dublin I'm pretty sure I'll make loads of money if I start doing it. I can't play the flute or anything but it doesn't matter, all I've to do is get that snake to follow the flute. The first obstacles gonna be getting the cobra. I looked into it and I can get one in Morocco for real cheap but what kinda regulations are there on bringing venomous reptiles into the country?

The main obstacle will probably be safety issues surrounding the whole thing. I can probably extract the venom from it beforehand and it should take a few hours for it to replenish its venom supply so at like that if I get bitten (which I most likely will) or if someone else gets bitten it wont be a medical emergency. I can setup a barrier around me so people can't get close enough to get bitten as well. What I'm wondering though is how can I do all this legally without getting arrested and/or getting the cobra confiscated. Theres most likely regulations against this kinda thing but I'd say theres some loopholes in the law I can use to do this legally. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Are you serious? Or is this some kind of sick joke?:confused::confused: Anyway what you are proposing is illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

OP , a former work colleague of mine brought his 2 ( non-venomous ) snakes over from South Africa - it was a total nightmare for him and cost him a fortune , he was bounced from Billy to Jack to Pillar to Post ,despite having all his paperwork sorted he ended up for example at Dublin Airport arguing with customs who would not release them initially.
    In the end it worked out for him but given you are proposing to bring a venomous snake in - Forget It !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Have to agree with Delancey, the public safety issues on this would be a massive problem.

If you start busking with a snake anywhere, I can guarantee someone will call the gardaí before you even sit down and I imagine your snake will be detained either indefinitely or otherwise.

A cobra will be defined as a dangerous wild animal no matter which way you look at it and having it in anyway in public especially in highly populated or highly urban areas won't last very long I'm afraid.

For the effort, hassle and cost of importing a cobra, I would just forget about it as confiscation is nearly inevitable. No matter what way you sell it to the gardai or courts, public safety hugely outweighs allowing a snake in public.

Also you'll ruin Paddys Day if any tourists are around ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

You should be ok.

The 'I have too much time on my hands Act 2010' permits exactly what you're doing.

You just need to fill in a form and send it to the Department of Things that are Posted on the Internet. You'll need 367 passport photographs, wearing a different hat in each one, and a baptismal cert for the Cobra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I was hoping this thread was about a helicopter, little disappointed . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

There are absolutely no laws that prohibit owning a cobra. I know several people that own venomous snakes. Now busking with them in public is not a good idea however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

There are absolutely no laws that prohibit owning a cobra. I know several people that own venomous snakes. Now busking with them in public is not a good idea however.

Because in this country there will always be someone who will complain about it to anyone who will listen.

k_mac wrote: »
    Because in this country there will always be someone who will complain about it to anyone who will listen.

In fairness and I don't mean to sound like a killjoy, the guy has zero snake experience, zero charming experience, and has openly said that at least if the snake bites someone ("probable") it won't be 'a medical emergency', and that the snake will need the venom withdrawn regularly (which he can't really guarantee), I'd be extremely worried if not petrified of walking anywhere near that.

If the snake bites him (as he admits is "probable") he could be incapacitated, and other people will be left to clean up the mess. The whole thing has "going to get sued for all he's worth" written all over it.

It has plenty of civil liability written all over it, that's for sure.

As for merely keeping the snake in a private dwelling, there is nothing in the criminal law to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭BogMonkey

Have to agree with Delancey, the public safety issues on this would be a massive problem.
    I wouldn't take the fangs out of a snake cuz thats cruel but I bet there'd be vendors selling cobras without fangs in Morocco. That there pretty much eliminates any safety hazards associated with snake charming. I'd say you're right, the gards would be there in no time and I'd say they'd confiscate the cobra whether it has fangs or not so I'd need to be ready to prove that its all fully legal. A big problem I didn't think about though is the difference in climate, it'd be way too cold to have the cobra outside in the winter in Ireland. The summer mightn't even be warm enough for it.

What powers would the Gardaí have to confiscate the snake?

BogMonkey wrote: »
    I wouldn't take the fangs out of a snake cuz thats cruel but I bet there'd be vendors selling cobras without fangs in Morocco. That there pretty much eliminates any safety hazards associated with snake charming. I'd say you're right, the gards would be there in no time and I'd say they'd confiscate the cobra whether it has fangs or not so I'd need to be ready to prove that its all fully legal. A big problem I didn't think about though is the difference in climate, it'd be way too cold to have the cobra outside in the winter in Ireland. The summer mightn't even be warm enough for it.

I just think that snake charming could so easily be classified as causing a disturbance in public regardless of what licenses you have. If you are near any shop, you can guarantee they'll call the gardai as a lot of people have a fear of snakes and won't come near the shop if there's a snake in the vicinity.

Having a snake in public will so easily be classified as causing a disturbance in public that you'd most likely be prosecuted under some section of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act. There are no explicit provisions for snakes obviously, but I would imagine the act could be interpreted broadly enough that it would come under it.

Also, as I said previously, despite any thoughts of a snake bite to a member of the public being not a medical emergency, if your snake touched a member of the public its a guarantee that you will be sued and it will probably cost you any money you have.

What powers would the Gardaí have to confiscate the snake?

I imagine the same sort of powers they'd have if you had an unmuzzled dog in public if its a danger to the public.

I don't think the control of dogs act covers snakes.

It really is a totally unlegislated area. You can own a lion if you have the right papers.

I don't think the control of dogs act covers snakes.

It really is a totally unlegislated area. You can own a lion if you have the right papers.

I know the dog laws don't extend to snakes, but I can't imagine anyone would be allowed have a snake or lion in public unrestrained.

I'm not saying he can't own a snake (or a lion), but bringing it into the public when its not restrained will most certainly not end well. Whether there is legislation or not, it would be hugely foolish to assume that merely the lack of legislation would mean that he'd be allowed sit there with a dangerous animal.

Sadly there is no legislation which prohibits a person from walking a lion down the road on a leash. I do agree if would be foolish as it would expose the person to all sorts of civil liability if anything happened.

The whole area of exotic pets is not legislated for here unlike in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Sadly there is no legislation which prohibits a person from walking a lion down the road on a leash. I do agree if would be foolish as it would expose the person to all sorts of civil liability if anything happened.

The whole area of exotic pets is not legislated for here unlike in the UK.

The whole area of animals is poorly legislated and enforced in this country. Dogs and horses seem to be the exception but that area could also do with improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Cobras are for wimps. Get an inland taipan instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Wildlife Actor

The Safety Health and Welfare at Work (Cobra)(King)(No. 2) Regulations 1998 (S.I. 477 of 1998) and the European Communities (King Cobra)(Imports for Busking) Regulations 1994 (implementing Council Directive 12/86/EC on the Harmonisation of Competition Law relating to Street Entertainment) cover the whole thing.

Really folks, did you think he was serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭FAYESY

Regardless of the OPs intent with this thread (either joke or serious)

It is not illegal to own venomous (hot) reptiles! I used to own a pet shop & I an one of the mods on the API forum I know exactly what you can & can not buy! Basically I can own anything! I was offered a Liger once (tiger & lion cross) Now I did not have the space or the money but I could own that animal! I would not advise any newbie to own a hot reptile.

The only thing you have to make sure that any animals you buy that are cites need the correct paper work to say they are captive bred & not taken from the wild! So yes I can own a gorilla, elephant, lion, tiger & bears (sorry have to add "Oh my")

On another note - no hospital carries anti venom - you have to buy this yourself! Its expensive & needs to be disposed of often! Reptile Zoo in Kilkenny is a good place to ask they have several snakes including a spitting cobra & a gila monster! Cool place to visit!

Now the question of if the act can be shown - on that note I am sure it would not! I doubt you would EVER a) get a permit & b) You would not be able to afford the public liability insurance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭BogMonkey

This is one of those serious jokes. I know it'll get a few giggles but I'm serious about it. Like when I tell people that Santa Claus was originally a reindeer urine drinking, Siberian mushroom shaman and that Jesus was in fact a mushroom.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Zambia wrote: »
    I was hoping this thread was about a helicopter, little disappointed . . .

There was a thread a few years ago about someone wanting to import a Russian Tank into Ireland. I think it was in the Military forum. Bizzarely, the discussion focussed more on the cost of road tax than the fact that some nutter wanted to import a piece of mobile artillery.

EDIT: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055098516&page=2

Ah yes. Celtic Tiger Ireland was a much simpler time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Actually, could it constitute an offensive weapon - are fangs a pointed weapon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Dylan123

Why not bring in a croc and get it to chase you up and down the street - now that id pay money to watch!
    Great post fair play! nice to read this early in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Reloc8 wrote: »
    You should be ok.

The 'I have too much time on my hands Act 2010' permits exactly what you're doing.

You just need to fill in a form and send it to the Department of Things that are Posted on the Internet. You'll need 367 passport photographs, wearing a different hat in each one, and a baptismal cert for the Cobra.

its actually 367 photos of him wearing a hat scarf and mankini's.

the dept of useless overpaid public representatives insist on seeing the mankini before any application can be validated