Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have we been stung?

• 20-02-2011 2:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hey boards lads. Havn't posted here in years, so much so, I lost my old account info :rolleyes:, However I do remember you guys being really great when it came to advice so I'm gonna ask for your help on something which I've been a bit worried about lately.

I returned home this weekend to my folks place to discover the conservatory ceiling was in the process of being lined with this PVC / Wood inusaliton-type thing (my knowledge of construction procedures is cringe inducing, I know) Okay, I say to myself. It was a bit out of the blue but maybe it was something my old man had wanted done for a while.

So I ask him what prompted it and apparently he came across this website...

<SNIP>

Now fair enough... web design in Ireland can be pretty bad, but holy **** did alarm bells go off in my head when I saw this potential micky mouse outfit. But here's where the plot thickens (sickens :pac:) The head honcho of this "fine establishment" a one, <SNIP>, (see pic below) came out personally when my father rang asking for a quote. I wasn't there but apparently the guy gave the usual salesmen gusto etc. He launched into this big thing about being in the army, and doing decades of carpentry in public works, again nothing to alarming here, it's all so far, so snake oil. However, he somehow convinced my father that he was the man for the job. Pledging that he himself would turn up and do the job personally So they agree to a date and the man was to turn up on wednesday.

Suffice to say, we hear nothing. Until Saturday morning. My father picked up the phone to be greeted by a polish man asking:

"I'm waiting here for you in cork, what street is the house on?"

...keep in mind, we live in Kerry.

Infuriated, my father rings good old Tom. Tom unsuprisingly, has no excuse as to where he's been the last 4 days, let alone why he hasn't turned up to do the job himself. From the impression we got off the Polish guy he barely even knew him. So the Polish guys eventually arrive at our house after about a million directions over the phone and pull up to our door, in a passat...

Again, there's nothing too crazy about it, but combined with everything else it really begins to put our suspicions into overdrive when they don't even have a bloody van. Now, any normal person would begin to call it quits at this stage with such general abysmal service, but the old fella of course, didn't want to cause a scene and the two Polish gents seemed very apologetic towards the mix-up, so he let them work away.

They eventually finish and they get their 990 euro cheque.... wait what?
    Yeah apparently that's what my Dad gave em. Now, I'll redirect you to the website again:

<SNIP> (See pic below)

I know PVC is supposedly expensive, but what the hell!? our conservatory is tiny!
    Combined with all the shenanigans I've just described do you think these guys are as crooked as they seem? should I convince my father to go into the credit union on monday and just default on the cheque, maybe until we get some local builders out and check if the job was even done right?

pic79.jpg

Mod edit: Please read the forum charter before posting again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

OP, what was your username previously?

The statements "feel" warmer does not mean this product does anything at all apart from change the look and colour.

We are not told but I'm asuming the overall thickness of the sheeting is not maor than 25mm, taking this into account, there is a very bold statement on the ad that the amount of insulation material between the pvc panel is equivolant to 100mm of Ploystyrene, if so where is the agrement certification? This is obviously not correct as any wonderous material like that would make headlines the world over.

Warning: We will delete any posts which praise or degrade this company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,545 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Aghhhhhh. Two mods on the same case :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mikedbomb

I wasn't trying to name or shame (his name is actually on the website) but still, I was just tyring to give you some insight into why I'm complaining. I don't want to turn boards into liveline lol. It's not like these guys did a spiffing job and asked for the bill. The whole thing was a circus.

So anyway, I take it this whole thing is fishy as hell to you to? Can you guys reccommend any further course of action? Are we entitled to ring him and ask him to take the whole bloody thing away? Can you guys give me some ammunition to use here, W'ere dealing with a potentially sticky individual.

edit: old username was dlivemike, changed my email years ago aswell, so finding the login is kinda hard.
    edit edit: again sorry if the original post sounded like a witch-hunt. But seriously my old man gave these guys nearly a grand =/

mikedbomb wrote: »
    and I wasn't naming or shaming either, the guys name is on the site.
    You posted a link (twice) to the site and you posted the guys name both of which are in breach of the forum charter.

Read the forum charter please and we can leave it at that.

Is 990 euro a con job for this type of work?
    That's the relevant part for anyone who wishes to respond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mikedbomb

muffler wrote: »
    That's the relevant part for anyone who wishes to respond.

Do you think it's a reasonable price ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Do you think it's a reasonable price ?

like anything getting work done, its impossible to say if its value or not without knowing the details exactly. now you may not agree with his approach or business technique, but if the work he quoted for was done, then its not a rip off.

What was the size of the area?

What exactly was put on the ceiling? a wood insulation thingy is of no help, you need to know exactly what material was used and how much of it.

Its a bit late now obviously, but anyone doing any sort of work whther it be large or small, should be getting mauch more than one quote for the same work. At least then you know what the market is and if it is indeed value or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

Hi

I have seen this type of work increasing recently. There are new products on the market to replace Polycarbonate in Conservatory roofs as they can be cold, especially 18mm which unfortunately is still in use.

From the OP I am not sure what was there before the work, in the Picture the internal cladding of the Ridge seems in place this might suggest it was a Poly roof ?

Has the external finish been changed of just the internal relined, this would have an impact of price/value

If so perhaps a picture of the external roof finish might help.

If its just a new internal finish, I doubt that the insulation values have increased substantially if at all, however if there is a new external finish depending on the material the insulation value could be better.

So can't comment on value for money without some more info.
    Regards