Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Gardai doing there jobs?????????

• 19-02-2011 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

A YOUNG man feared he would die when thugs dragged him into a vacant house, tortured him, severed his ear and forced him to eat part of it.
    Brendan Higginbotham (21) needs plastic surgery to repair horrific injuries inflicted on him by thugs in Newbridge, Co Kildare.
    He told the Irish Independent he was "too traumatised" to want to describe his ordeal.
    "I just want to get on with my life. I'm not making a complaint to the gardai," said Mr Higginbotham.
    "I just want to recover and get back to keeping myself busy, I'm glad I'm alive."
    The young man is in constant pain and lives in fear since the attack. The men responsible are still walking the streets.
    Gardai are investigating Monday's incident and have appealed for witnesses to come forward.
    The scene of Mr Higginbotham's ordeal was a vacant property off James Lane in Newbridge.
    A rope was tied around his neck, his arms and legs were bound and he was repeatedly beaten with a lump hammer and iron bars. The men also had knives that they used to slice his ear before forcing him to eat part of it.
    Yesterday, the distressed 21-year-old insisted he just wanted to put the incident behind him.
    His legs are cut, bruised and swollen as he was kneecapped by the thugs. His face is scarred and he has 14 stitches along his cheek. His head has had to be stapled after it was split open in the attack.
    Mr Higginbotham was initially taken to Naas General Hospital but later transferred to St James's Hospital in Dublin.
    He underwent X-rays and was told he would have to return for plastic surgery on his right ear. He lost half of it.
    Mr Higginbotham indicated he did not know why he was targeted, and claimed he was unaware of the thugs' identities. "I don't go around looking for trouble, I just keep to myself."
    He said he was off drugs and had been attending an addiction counsellor. He was due before Kildare District Court on Thursday charged with stealing three bottles of vodka from Dunnes Stores on February 5. However, his case has been adjourned for six weeks to allow him to recover. Before the attack, Mr Higginbotham was trying to improve his life and attending the gym to "keep busy" every day. He said he was trying to stay away from friends who were a "bad influence" on him.
    The beating follows a spate of violent incidents in Newbridge, prompting residents to protest in the town earlier this week.

So I'd like to my first ever post with this; recently in the papers we have heard of the young lad from Dublin city who was beaten by Garda in his own when there entered with a so called warrant, then the corrupt Garda who was involved with drug dealers. My point really just relates to Newbridge and the Garda that are meant to protect and serve the town. The first thing I'll do is list the recent incidents in Newbridge; and if ya didnt already guess im from Newbridge
    1. Man was killed about 5 mins walk from the newbridge Garda station, I cant remember the date but it happened within last few months.
    2. Man jumped on in cab office directly across from the station on the same night as listing number 1
    3. Then most recently the lad who was forced to eat own ear
    Now all these occurred 5 mins walk or less from garda station, me personally have suffered harassment from many members of newbridge garda station and Im in the process of dealing with this but my point really is WTF are they doing here??? serious violence is going on but they have the time to harass people, what are the taxpayers getting for there money in newbridge?????? Its a small town and these garda need to get there f**king act together. I would also like to know if the protesters are they willing to protest peacefully again to get these guards sorted out. I hope you enjoy reading this and welcome any feedback thank you.

Are the Gardai doing there jobs in a professional?? 7 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

He wouldn't help the Garda in their investigation. If he wants justice he's got to speak up.

First Thread Fail!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"I just want to get on with my life. I'm not making a complaint to the gardai,"

If people won't cooperate then what can they do?
    They can catch the lads in this case and take them to court but if the lad won't make a statement and come forward they might walk away

If it even gets that far, if the guy won't press charges, the gardaí can't do very much except hold them and interview them

And what are you doing to get harrassed by several gardaí?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The gardai are doing their jobs. They are not perfect, but generally they appear to be doing a decent job.

It's the law that's broken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

The majority of guards are doing there job to the best of there ability,Being a guard is only one part of the fight against crime.We all have some responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Did they put a bra on him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

He wouldn't help the Garda in their investigation. If he wants justice he's got to speak up.

Hear hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Want Justice

Actually read end of post Im really aiming this at Kildare area and the fact of whether this guy makes a complaint or not it happened within 3min walking distance from station and all recent serious violence has happened within 5min walking distance of the station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Actually read end of post Im really aiming this at Kildare area and the fact of whether this guy makes a complaint or not it happened within 3min walking distance from station and all recent serious violence has happened within 5min walking distance of the station

What are they supposed to do? All stand around in a circle a 5 min walk away? They can't be everywhere all the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

TheZohan wrote: »
    Hear hear.

Ear ear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

OP, Take your agenda and start a blog.