Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fringe S03E14 6B

• 19-02-2011 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭

Looks like our world is starting to collapse now and there's more soapy/drama/weepy/boring stuff between Olivia and Peter. The collapse of our Universe hopefully means that we'll at least get a resolution of some kind to the alternate universe this season if not the observers and hopefully it'll mean we're in for some more great episodes in the coming weeks.

Episode Rating 25 votes

Excellent
    0% 0 votes
    Good
    28% 7 votes
    Average
    36% 9 votes
    Weak
    24% 6 votes
    Rubbish
    12% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭somuj

I liked it. Poor walter tho having the weight of two universes on his shoulders. I know how he feels :p

Was really hoping that they would amber the building tho. Thought the last scene was kinda lame too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I like the chemistry between Peter and Olivia. Adds a human side to the show that a lot of shows lack. Looks like something has to go wrong with the relationshop now for Peter to somehow turn to Fauxlivia.

I really liked this episode (big improvement over last week).
    Looks like they're building towards a big finale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I voted average, because of the lovey dovey Peter/Olivia stuff...getting a bit too soapy now, but i liked the vortex punching into ourverse stuff, would liked to have seen the amber used as it would then bring the wider public in on things, if that happened it could have been a game changer episode.

But the fragmentation of ourverse is something of great interest, next weeks ep. looks rather epic, flashback eppy. Fringe rebounded a bit in ratings to a 1.5, thank the gods.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Good episode. I liked the way the two universes are starting to merge (which we saw before - and I liked it then too). It was a nice take on a ghost story.

I'm glad they showed Fauxlivia's side too and their response, although I thought they'd have responded more quickly. I was expecting to actually see husband encased in amber before wifey's eyes instead of the ending we actually got.

I didn't mind the relationship too much because they have some chemistry. I think Anna Torv's being doing a very good job this year (which is something given how down I was on her originally) - swapping between herself and the far more confident Fauxlivia and having Peter bounce off both.

Lots of stuff in place now to deliver a good season (series?) finale here!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Excellent episode. Like everyone else, I loved the other universe punching through stuff.
    Mr E wrote: »
    Looks like something has to go wrong with the relationshop now for Peter to somehow turn to Fauxlivia.
    I assume the realisation that choosing to be with Olivia will have grave consequences for the other universe. Great excuse for keeping them apart a while longer, or indeed, potentially a great deal longer if the show gets renewed.

Does anyone expect the other universe storyline to be resolved at the end of this season? Feels like that's where they are headed, but if the show gets renewed what will it be about anymore?
    Fringe rebounded a bit in ratings to a 1.5, thank the gods.
    Whatever the show's fate is, I just hope the network lets the writers know in advance. I don't want some stupid season finale also trying to double as a series finale. In the case of cancellation, I'd rather see the show go out in a blaze of glory, i.e a big bad-ass cliffhanger à la Farscape.
    ixoy wrote: »
    I think Anna Torv's being doing a very good job this year (which is something given how down I was on her originally) - swapping between herself and the far more confident Fauxlivia and having Peter bounce off both.
    Yeah, there's been a big improvement, but I'd attribute it more to the writing than to Torv, who I think always did the best she could with the role. Olivia as written in the pilot and early first season was a very poor character. She suffered from Captain Janeway syndrome. The writers were so busy trying to make her a strong female character they forgot to make her a character the audience could care about. They've really turned that around since though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Elohim

Thought that was an excellent episode. Lot of development in the main story arc. It would have been great to see the husband being encased in amber in the vision, the otherside don't have any hesitation about using it so it would have been believable.

A level 4 breach on the otherside, I presume that's the highest. I wonder if we'll see similar breaches in the next few episodes, get the public hysteria going, that'd be an interesting topic to cover if they could.

The overall "feel" of the episode is what I liked the most I think, was paced very well etc. Maybe down to a different director to last week's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

yeah olivia finally got layed:D, only took her 3 seasons:p

i actually like a bit of soapy drama from time to time, really makes shows work a bit more, and i dont feel fringe overuses it, wonder if there any chance olivia will also get pregnant (now that would deffinatly over-step:pac:),

anyone get a feeling that walter has found his brain cells, he seemed to be growing in confidence this episode, demanding some get off there asses and get his spectrometer, giving out to astrid for second guessing him, then looking at the logical conclusion of using the amber, but he really is thinking of other methods, you could nearly see his thought going into overdrive thinking of an alternative,

the thing is id say itll end up being a bad thing if he gets his mind back, he was ruthless in his search for scientific breakthroughs, which lead to him having the cells removed in the first place, he had no problems experimenting on kids, a stumbling block that walternate has to deal with,

very solid episode, bar what other have said about the fringe team over there taking so long to respond, youd expect them to be on top of it before the first incident happened, thought it weird that altivia is still working in the field,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Elohim

don ramo wrote: »
    anyone get a feeling that walter has found his brain cells, he seemed to be growing in confidence this episode, demanding some get off there asses and get his spectrometer, giving out to astrid for second guessing him, then looking at the logical conclusion of using the amber, but he really is thinking of other methods, you could nearly see his thought going into overdrive thinking of an alternative,

Well it's hard to tell if he's managed to make himself smarter with those injections. It said at the beginning of the episode that's it'd been a few weeks since their last investigation, so maybe the writers put in that time lapse for his brain to grow. Or maybe it finally dawned on Walter that he was gonna be the reason for the end of the world.

Whatever the show's fate is, I just hope the network lets the writers know in advance. I don't want some stupid season finale also trying to double as a series finale. In the case of cancellation, I'd rather see the show go out in a blaze of glory, i.e a big bad-ass cliffhanger à la Farscape.

Completely agree. I would much rather a fantastic conclusion to Season 3 and no Season 4