Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need a Paddy's Day Slogan

• 18-02-2011 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭

So I live in small town USA and I am the only real life Irish person there. There will be a St Patricks's day parade and everyone keeps talking about the boozing and the fun and how they are all Irish (yeah yeah).

I love Paddy's day but I think I might get offened at this one. I need a slogan for a Banner (I will be on a float) or a t-shirt that screams out: "Feck ye all who think ye are Irish, I am actually Irish" (that one might not be a bad idea actually :cool:).

Any imaginative ideas?

I dont want any responses about how I shouldnt be proud to be Irish at this time (thats a whole other argument with these people over here and their utopian views). But they are using this holiday as an excuse to get sh1tfaced (as do we, I know, I know) so I need to stand up and out in the crowd :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Drink, feck, be Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭nosey rosie

I know and I sympathise Boarddotie... its depressing the impression a lot of Americans have of the Irish.... drink, drink, drink :(

No idea what your slogan could be... maybe something celebrating Irish literature or culture? The other things we're famous for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I know and I sympathise Boarddotie... its depressing the impression a lot of Americans have of the Irish.... drink, drink, drink :(

No idea what your slogan could be... maybe something celebrating Irish literature or culture? The other things we're famous for...

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I'm in more debt than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

La Fheile Phadraig!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

"To Ireland, the blacks of Europe (if you don't count the Muslims and the Blacks.)"

MrStuffins wrote: »
    lol
    I know... silly me, I gave a genuine, non-sneery answer on AH. When will learn? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

"I'm a savage for pigs arse and cabbage"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

There is no Saint Patty
    or
    Let's celebrate everyones favourite Welsh slave by getting drunk

bonerm wrote: »
    "To Ireland, the blacks of Europe (if you don't count the Muslims and the Blacks.)"
    That sounds like The Commitments... "The Irish are the blacks of Europe... and Dubliners are the blacks of Ireland"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Dare's more to Oireland dan dis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭boarddotie

fontanalis wrote: »
    There is no Saint Patty
    or
    Let's celebrate everyones favourite Welsh slave by getting drunk

LOL! this is good.

Or Happy St Pattys Day and a picture of a sausage patty next to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am Irish & proud of it. simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

welcome to Ireland, gief monies plox

realies wrote: »
    I am Irish & proud of it. simples

That is too much like what they would say themselves. I need to be subtle yet scathing

Im getting an idea: On the back of the t-shirt list things and say

"Unless you know who these people are you are NOT Irish"

Bosco, Joe Duffy, Gaybo, Sean Og O hAlpin, etc etc

OR

"if a lift is a ride, you are NOT Irish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭storykid

10% Irish
    90% drunk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

'Green for a Day', thats what it was in our town a few years back. The imagination is unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

I'd use a play on words between the real deal, IRISH...

And those who'd like to be but aren't... I-WISH...

For your float banner... IRISH on board. I-WISH they roared!

Or something to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

boarddotie wrote: »
    So I live in small town USA and I am the only real life Irish person there. There will be a St Patricks's day parade and everyone keeps talking about the boozing and the fun and how they are all Irish (yeah yeah).

I love Paddy's day but I think I might get offened at this one. I need a slogan for a Banner (I will be on a float) or a t-shirt that screams out: "Feck ye all who think ye are Irish, I am actually Irish" (that one might not be a bad idea actually :cool:).

Any imaginative ideas?

I dont want any responses about how I shouldnt be proud to be Irish at this time (thats a whole other argument with these people over here and their utopian views). But they are using this holiday as an excuse to get sh1tfaced (as do we, I know, I know) so I need to stand up and out in the crowd :pac:

WHO'S YOUR PADDY!!!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

'Green for a Day', thats what it was in our town a few years back. The imagination is unreal

Weed smokers wouldn't appreciate that as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

"Real Irish Hate You."

Hooked wrote: »
    I'd use a play on words between the real deal, IRISH...

And those who'd like to be but aren't... I-WISH...

For your float banner... IRISH on board. I-WISH they roared!

Or something to that effect.

LOVE IT! I can defo see "Irish, More like I-Wish" on something
    Savage93 wrote: »
    WHO'S YOUR PADDY!!!!!!:D

This would go down very well indeed. While its not scathing enough I could see this being a popular refrain with everybody.
    LambsEye wrote: »
    "Real Irish Hate You."

Too scathing! yet sums my feelings up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe something like this?
    or
    "Irish ghettos has better crack"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

**** your honda civic etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

I M F'ed
    E U are F'ed
    We're all F'ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

How about 'Even though I'm a guest in your country, and you're honouring my country's patron saint, I still look down on every one of you AND your stinking hospitality'.

That'll learn 'em. Pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Duno about the front but the back should just say "shift?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Front: Any Irish in you

Back: Do you want some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

squod wrote: »

Back: Do you want some In Me

Fixed that for all preferences;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

"Youse are all American cunts" should get across the right tone of drunkenness, pugnacity and parochialism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Any imaginative ideas?

Paddy's Back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

ME: As Irish as Guinness and Stew
    YOU: As Irish as Apple Pie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Send money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

If you're Irish and it's Paddy's Day,you're probably too drunk to read this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

How about a tricolour with a banner underneath that says:

"Ireland: where the fields are green, the men are white and the women are orange"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

...we gave the world the wavin pipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

front
    you think you're irish?
    back
    "póg mo thóin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

The Irish ignore anything they can't drink or punch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

If you can read this, you're not Irish.

OR:

The real Irish do this every day.

OR, simply,

Pints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Any imaginative ideas?

" drinkin sly naggins with biffo since 1987 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Alcohol, the solution to and cause of most of life's problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

How about?

"Did You know St Patricks was a Welsh Slave?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I need a slogan for a Banner (I will be on a float) or a t-shirt that screams out: "Feck ye all who think ye are Irish, I am actually Irish" (that one might not be a bad idea actually :cool:).

IRISH.......BORN IN DUBLIN 1978

OR

PRODUCT OF IRELAND

OR

IRISH EXPORT 2010

0R

Guaranteed IRISH PUSSY
    BORD BIA APPROVED:D

squod wrote: »

Back: Do you want some.

Class, but Im a girl. Im trying to think how I could manipulate it!
    EvilMonkey wrote: »
    Send money!

So true, I should start a 'charitible collection'
    Trog wrote: »
    The real Irish do this every day.

This is one of my favs

IRISH EXPORT 2010

Love it!!

Too much to choose from now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Im Only 71Kg

Piss on the street,Puke on your shirt and **** in your Jocks..everybody loves paddy's day.