Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Promax TV Explorer Meter Stolen in Cork

• 17-02-2011 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭

Nicked from my van in Cork yesterday.:mad:
    Promax Explorer Prodig 5 meter, 5 years old, in perfect working order.
    These meters are €2500 new!
    It may have been taken by someone who know what they were after , and had a buyer in mind , or maybe just an opportunist who got lucky! Either way I would like to hang him by his testicles over an incoming tide.

it's tough enough to make a living in this business without this.
    It was scruffy and dirty with a few scratches on the screen, filthy yellow case 'stiched' in a couple of places with cable ties. On the sat settings I ha a custom list of transponders named 28E QUIK. Also under DTT, XHAVEN, SPUR_HILL, COLLINS.
    I have just had to spend a few grand I could not afford on a replacement to get back to work as quick as possible. Keep your eyes open at car boot sales, eBay etc.
    Installers lock your van at all times!
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRQcCrl7VXpnjixkdt2IaxC9MoFRUOEP12bDsbcp_0YsppmY_oi-A
    promax-tv-explorer-HD-closed.jpg&sa=X&ei=FoVdTfu8I8uXhQeOhKCbBA&ved=0CAQQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNGnwUT937vUmeOXomURPYQ-QwEuJA

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

Sorry to hear that Rippy i hope the Bollix gets his Hands burnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭steveon

Really sorry to hear it mate, will keep me eyes peeled out here around Limerick for you....nice meter had one myself in my last job...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'll keep an eye out too Rippy, that was one nice bit of kit :/ Would be no harm to alert Cash Convertors, keep an eye on ebay, and adverts/donedeal/buyandsell/gumtree.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Im actually in the market for one of these at the moment , is there any serial number or identifiable marks on it ?

Some people are the scum of the earth ! :mad:

Just noticed some of the identifiable marks in your post, Il keep a good eye out , hope it turns up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Rippy

Im actually in the market for one of these at the moment , is there any serial number or identifiable marks on it ?

Some people are the scum of the earth ! :mad:

Just noticed some of the identifiable marks in your post, Il keep a good eye out , hope it turns up

cant find the paperwork , but promax are getting back to me with the serial number and the id number that comes up on screen when its started.
    I will post them here when I have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iqon77

I'm living in youghal.. I know a few lads in this line of buisness up here... I will put the feelers out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Keep an eye on ebay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

Sorry to hear about it Rippy.

Most thieves are unfortunately idoits and will smash a window to get something that is worthless to them. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ISAA

+ 1 :mad:

Regards,

Gerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

Sorry to hear about that man.

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Some junkie is probably wondering why they cant pick up any TV channels without the data on it! And the screen is too small, maaaan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

Disaster, sorry to hear it.
    Had 2 phones taken out of my van 3 years ago, scumbags missed sat nav, cash, and other goodies too,now i'll never leave my van unlocked anywhere, even outside my own house.
    I'm even reluctant to park it out of sight on any job I'm on.
    I'll always ask customer to move car and allow me to park in drive way if possible.
    I'll keep an eye on various forums, you never know where it might turn up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

STB wrote: »
    Some junkie is probably wondering why they cant pick up any TV channels without the data on it! And the screen is too small, maaaan.

And where to put the sim card too....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You should contact every installer and satellite shop too in Cork offering a reward. The scumbag who took this will be looking to offload it quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

Don't think a reward should be neccessary, I'm sure the guys in Cork will do the right thing if they come across it.

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Would it be worthwhile having it mentioned on local radio?