Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what have we come too

• 16-02-2011 12:40PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭

Just got the paper and have to share this,page 2 of the star
    "A man who has been unlawfully at large from prison for more than 3 years is set to sue the state for cutting off his dole. Anthony Rogers of North Circular Road was jailed for 12 months in jan 07 for burglary and theft but stayed out after temp release for drug rehab, he claims he lived openly and was told by gardai there were no outstanding warrents for his arrest. the high court yesterday gave him leave to bring an action against the state"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Fair play to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

lucyfur09 wrote: »
    just got the paper and have to share this,page 2 of the star
    "a man who has been unlawfully at large from orison for more than 3 years is set to sue the state for cutting off his dole. anthony rogerd of north circular road was jailed for 12 months in jan 07 for burglary and theft but stayed out after temp release for drug rehab, he claims he lived openly and was told by gardai there were no oustanding warrents for his arrest. the high court yesterday gave him leave to bring an action against the state"

Good stuff, awful religion altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

In China bullets to the back of the head are excellent at solving such problems!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The Star should learn that sentences start with capital letters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

In China bullets to the back of the head are excellent at solving such problems!

Ok, the spelling isn't the best, but shooting the OP in the back of the head is a little extreme, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

what have we come too

What, have we come too?

Fixed...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Right so obviously the state made the mistake of first letting him out, then telling him he he didnt need to go back to prison when he did and then cutting off he's dole!!

And now the little ****e has the balls to sue the state, which he'll prob win.

The laws and systems of this country are so ****ed up its impossible understand.

And dont start this fair ****s to him for knowing how to ride the system.

Thats why we're in this ****!

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

So basically he decided not to go back to prison, and was still collecting his Dole? This country is fúcking retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Fair ****s to him for knowing how to ride the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

12 months for burglary and theft? Does the government not consider the violation of private property to be a serious offence? The scum bag should have got a lot longer... in the U.S. he'd be lucky to get away without his head being blown off by the burglary victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

12 months for burglary and theft? Does the government not consider the violation of private property to be a serious offence? The scum bag should have got a lot longer... in the U.S. he'd be lucky to get away without his head being blown off by the burglary victim.

I seriously doubt the courts in America hand out sentences of "let the victim shoot the fecker in the mush".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

Yes and he will get free legal aid too. Next thing he'll probably sue the owners of hed house he broke into for having valuable possessions that lured him in. Would he ever just **** off.

Totally get what you mean OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

What, have we come too?

Fixed...:D

In yizzer pants!

...got there before me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

/token violent fantasy post with shit grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Ok, the spelling isn't the best, but shooting the OP in the back of the head is a little extreme, no?

Not for bad grammar, no.
    People should write more properer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I seriously doubt the courts in America hand out sentences of "let the victim shoot the fecker in the mush".

They should. It dramatically reduces the cases of people re-offending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭swarm.of.bees

Right so obviously the state made the mistake of first letting him out, then telling him he he didnt need to go back to prison when he did and then cutting off he's dole!!

And now the little ****e has the balls to sue the state, which he'll prob win.

The laws and systems of this country are so ****ed up its impossible understand.

And dont start this fair ****s to him for knowing how to ride the system.

Thats why we're in this ****!

/rant

And here was me thinking we were in "this shít" because of a lax rule with the banks and the cronyism that is rife in our parliamentary system and the buffoons who run it.
    I'm not so sure you could say this guy is riding the system. We have a system of social support in this country. If a person applies to benefit from that system and he/she isn't refused, then it’s hardly riding the system. As wrong as he is, its the system itself at fault. Does being an ex-con exclude you from claiming any social benefits? That he then chose to sue means nothing either. Just that he has made the state aware of what they have mistakenly done. He may not have been aware if he was or wasn’t entitled to claim, but that he was not refused might certainly have given him the impression that this was the normal course of matters. And, of course, bringing a case against the state is in no way any gaurentee of winning the case.
    Its the fúckin knee-jerk reactionists who come out with nuggets like "shoot the bastard" who make me sick. Is that really what some people feel? Maybe we should shoot the bastards who say "shoot the bastards"!! You want we should live under an autocratic or dictatorial rule that executes people on a whim? Methinks these people would be the first to cry for their mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Its the fúckin knee-jerk reactionists who come out with nuggets like "shoot the bastard" who make me sick. Is that really what some people feel? Maybe we should shoot the bastards who say "shoot the bastards"!! You want we should live under an autocratic or dictatorial rule that executes people on a whim? Methinks these people would be the first to cry for their mammy.

Here's a sick bag.

Shoot the bastard!

:D:D