Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting a Pardon

• 15-02-2011 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

Don't know if this is the right section, but here it goes....

Does anybody know how to go about getting a pardon? I have 2 convictions, both dating back over 10 years?

thanks for any info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

The president can pardon you, not sure who else is allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 emmagail

I meant about going about getting a pardon, don't think "howya Mary, any chance you sign this for me"!

thanks

If it was me i'd chance writing a letter to Mary outlining your case and why you deserve it:)

Are you restricted from leaving the country or something like that, I'd say there would have to be a good reason. If it was something you done while being a young one you'd probably have a good chance you but record would want to have been squeaky clean for a long time.

I'd imagine the whole process is pretty tricky what ever it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

Government needs to advice President to grant pardon.

Don't think they'd do it except for a good reason.

I don't know what the protocol is but I imagine if you wrote to the Department of the Taoiseach they'd tell you if they have a procedure.

I'd imagine they'd write back simply telling you it's a cabinet decision.

i'm in Canada, and want to apply for my permanent residency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

emmagail wrote: »
    i'm in Canada, and want to apply for my permanent residency

You can appeal your convictions under the 1993 criminal appeal procedure. In order to get a pardon under this act you would have to be innocent and the victim of a miscarriage of justice. Even then it's quite hard.

thats different,
    i was guilty, its under Act 16 s6 of the constituion, i am looking for info or has anybody gone through the process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

Probably easier to see if you are deemed rehabilitated under Canadian immigration law or else to apply for rehabilitation to the Canadian government to waive the criminality bar,

thats different,
    i was guilty, its under Act 16 s6 of the constituion, i am looking for info or has anybody gone through the process

You got lippy with a Garda?

Talk to a visa consultant in Canada or someone in the Visa department, i'm sure if your making a contribution to society in Canada they can let that one slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Op are you aware that to get a visa to live in Canada you had to give a police certificate of character to the Canadian Embassy outlining your past convictions. The Canadian Gov't already know of your convictions and they still let you into the country. Why do you need a pardon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

its under Act 16 s6 of the constituion,
    http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/static/256.htm
    Dáil Éireann

Article 16

6. Provision shall be made by law to enable the member of Dáil Éireann who is the Chairman immediately before a dissolution of Dáil Éireann to be deemed without any actual election to be elected a member of Dáil Éireann at the ensuing general election.

Do you mean 13.6?
    THE PRESIDENT

Article 13

6. The right of pardon and the power to commute or remit punishment imposed by any court exercising criminal jurisdiction are hereby vested in the President, but such power of commutation or remission may also be conferred by law on other authorities.