Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man fined €250 for shooting deer out of season

• 15-02-2011 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭

Irish Independent
    Page 5
    Bottom left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Irish Independent
    Page 5
    Bottom left

I'm trying to scan image (HP C4599) However I can't remember how to do it :o

I am surprised that nobody has commented on the story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

seems very leniant to me. any other info, did he lose his gun licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

True enough.hardly seems a penalty for what he actually done

seems very leniant to me. any other info, did he lose his gun licence

+Vetinary bills??

Buncrana District court

Tracey Hogan Environmental correspondent

He was caught by a NPWS Ranger with 2 Doe's in October

The accused also had an address in Buncranna

(still can't get scanner working)

Just go out and buy a paper lads :D

Indo page 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

vet bills for what?

i tried to look online but you gotta pay to look at it online so i didnt bother :rolleyes:

our local paper is free to read online. damn ye irish independant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Just go out and buy a paper lads :D

at 21.13? You taking the piss tack? Some of us have beer time to catch up on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Put the computer away lad ya might regret it in the mornin:p

did he just get a fine tack or what?

Put the computer away lad ya might regret it in the mornin:p

did he just get a fine tack or what?

mobile phone kildare, by me side this week. Hate the feckin yokes though.

Dusty87 wrote: »

There are 2w4 hour shops ya know!!

Ya might even get it free.

No idea on Veterinary bills?
    Diagnose it was Female beyond doubt??

Does anyone read the papers these days??:D:D

Anyone from Donegal got the scoop??

There are 2w4 hour shops ya know!!

Ya might even get it free.

No idea on Veterinary bills?
    Diagnose it was Female beyond doubt??

Does anyone read the papers these days??:D:D

Anyone from Donegal got the scoop??

no there is not tack. Neither are 24hr anymore, for a long time. One blew up, the other is a kip. Any others in my area let me know. Could have done with them a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

I'm trying to scan image (HP C4599) However I can't remember how to do it :o

I am surprised that nobody has commented on the story

Guys I think Tacks point, and rightly so is the leanency of the fine etc, no deterent for shooting out of season. That would mean something similar for poaching/lamping in or out of season? So its not viewed as serious by the law or by the NPWS. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Guys I think Tacks point, and rightly so is the leanency of the fine etc, no deterent for shooting out of season. That would mean something similar for poaching/lamping in or out of season? So its not viewed as serious by the law or by the NPWS. :confused:

Unfortunately the Gardai are not the ones who impose the fine its the Judge.
    I agree with you totally that the amount of the fine is laughable and does nothing to deter poaching.
    Does anybody know what the maximum fine is ?? ( I tried to find out on t'internet but was unsuccessful)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You'd have to consider the full story and background. Could be a person with years of clean hunting history and firearms possession and got convicted for having carcasses in his possession he shouldn't have had. As a result the judge probably decided to not just throw the book at him but decided to convict him but went for the lower end of the scale when sentencing.

I haven't seen the article but has he actually been convicted for just having the carcasses or also for shooting the does ? It would be a vast difference in offences if he was observed having done the shooting and having carcasses he shouldn't have had.

I ASSUME that the Local Donegal Rags will be running the story too.

Story was very short only took a couple of column inches

The Author was trying to sensationalize it with Red Deer Under Threat caption

Loads of Donegal lads on here, yet not a dickie bird??

€250 + Vet Fees is a small fine.

If I shoot a deer in July out of season is it the same offence??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stick shooter

That fine is a joke:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Thanks to the Rangers - you have the full support of the hunters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Yeah there is nothing the Rangers or Gardai can do about the tiny fine. On the other hand they should be congratulated on a successful conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Scuttlebutt has it that the guy started the season early,and was trying to flog the carcasses,hence the vets bill [which apprently was 250 euros].
    All in all a bit of a joke this..

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Did he loose gun & licence? prob wont be getting deer licence again ?

Well done npws...

cc30

Did he loose gun & licence? prob wont be getting deer licence again ?

Well done npws...

cc30

You may ask teh Donegal lads for more info.

What is the local paper in buncranna?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

there is an article about it on the "wild deer ireland" website,
    fair play to the ranger

Irish Indo

February 15th 2011

Popularity of Venison leads to surge in Red Deer killings
    Treacy Hogan
    Irish Times Environment Correspondent
    A growing taste for venison has led to a surge in the number of Irish Red Deer being shot and killed.

The disclosure comes as a man is convicted of illegally shooting dead two female deer. There has been a big increase in the number of wild Red Deer being shot recently, both legally and illegally, the Irish Independent has learned.

This is due to an increase in the prices being offered for venison carcasses. “There has been an increase in these incidents and it is likely to be linked to an increase in the prices of commercial venison” a Department of the Environment spokesperson said yesterday.

Brendan Carter, of Ballinahone, Fahan, Buncrana, Co Donegal, had a licence to shoot deer but should not have been doing so last October before the start of the shooting season. He was fined €250 plus veterinary fees at Buncrana District Court for killing the two deer outside the permitted hunting season.

Mr Carter was caught by Pat Vaughan, the District Conservation officer for the National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS). Once plentiful, Red deer are now a protected game species and may only be hunted with a licence from the NPWS, which is part of the Department of the Environment.

According to the Wild Deer Association of Ireland, Red Deer are the only native deer species with a continuous presence in Ireland since the end of the last Ice Age (around 10,000BC).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

article is a bit misleading as he wasnt hunting out of season
    it was the season just not for females
    if someone takes this up wrong
    they might be accusing people of hunting out of season next year
    even though its october and your hunting stags legally

and red deer are only protected in kerry are they not?

daithi55 wrote: »

He was Hunting Females out of season

If he shot a stag on today it would be the same crime.

paper, lacks most of teh background detail.

date/Time/Age of defendant/Permission or no permission etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

daithi55 wrote: »

All deer are protected under the wildlife acts, but only Red Hinds in Kerry have an open season, which I here is been reviewed due to low numbers and concerns from the local NPWS staff and others.

I ASSUME that the Local Donegal Rags will be running the story too.

Story was very short only took a couple of column inches

The Author was trying to sensationalize it with Red Deer Under Threat caption

Loads of Donegal lads on here, yet not a dickie bird??

€250 + Vet Fees is a small fine.

If I shoot a deer in July out of season is it the same offence??

Yes, it should be the same offence. It's either in season or it isn't, there's no such thing as a little bit in season...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

He was Hunting Females out of season

If he shot a stag on today it would be the same crime.

paper, lacks most of teh background detail.

date/Time/Age of defendant/Permission or no permission etc etc...

Tack i agree with ya 100%
    things just sound different on paper as ya say

i also think if he had the balls to shoot two does out of season in dayligh he would also have no trouble doing it by night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

Vegeta wrote: »
    Yeah there is nothing the Rangers or Gardai can do about the tiny fine. On the other hand they should be congratulated on a successful conviction.

Totally agree!

These cases all too rarely lead to a conviction.

But the cynic in me will bet the same person will have a licence and be out doing the same next season.

Just a pity poaching deer is not treated the same as poaching on the rivers.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

323 wrote: »
    Totally agree!

These cases all too rarely lead to a conviction.

But the cynic in me will bet the same person will have a licence and be out doing the same next season.

Just a pity poaching deer is not treated the same as poaching on the rivers.

See in the papers here a local fella got 7 months and a 1250 fine for having a go at a water balif

homerhop wrote: »
    See in the papers here a local fella got 7 months and a 1250 fine for having a go at a water balif

I think we can agree assault is just that touch more serious than poaching ? Don't like either but offences against the person in my opinion should be looked upon as more serious than the unlawful killing of a wild animal.