Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gambling games when playing

• 15-02-2011 3:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭

So what gambling do you do when playing, is it the usual front nine, back nine, overall for a fiver, birdies, sand saves for €2.
    My mates and I play if you scratch a hole you have to pay a euro to your playing partners.
    Any other ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

All or some of those plus the "snake" at €5 for the owner of the last 3 putt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

10 euro front ,10 back, and 10 overall, and if ya win the 3 of them everyone gives ya an extra 20 euro each, we call this " the sweetner "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

sweetswing wrote: »
    10 euro front ,10 back, and 10 overall, and if ya win the 3 of them everyone gives ya an extra 20 euro each, we call this " the sweetner "

So no recession in sweetswings world then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

scrubber72 wrote: »
    So what gambling do you do when playing, is it the usual front nine, back nine, overall for a fiver, birdies, sand saves for €2.
    My mates and I play if you scratch a hole you have to pay a euro to your playing partners.
    Any other ideas?

Yes to the front, back and overall. A certain no to birdies and sand saves when some of my mates play of +1 and +2!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

The sand save is common but it must be for par or better.

Also, The Woody is a euro for anyone getting a par on a hole where they have hit a tree, but it has to be a tree and not a bush and it's fine to clip the tree and stay going.

The Seve is a euro for scrambled par or better where the player was not on the fairway at any stage throughout the hole. If he is on the fairway of another hole then it's not a Seve. He needs to be in the rough or bunkers all the way to the green. If he goes from one side of the rough accross the fairway to the other side still in the rough and still manages a par then it's a 2 euro criss-cross-seve.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

fannies - if person doesnt hit it past ladies teebox owes $$
    oozlers - nearest on a par 3(must be on green) must 2 putt tho or gives away the $$$...
    ferrets - chipping in from off the green with any club bar putter
    golden sandy - down in two from a bunker must equal best score of the group tho...
    Hilter - leaving it in a bunker

like the one with the hitting a tree and parring the hole...could see that been used deliberately tho lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

With three or more players, playing skins is great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    With three or more players, playing skins is great craic.

thats what we play for a change €1 a man a hole .can be great craic.won 14 skins last time out:D

thoscon wrote: »
    thats what we play for a change €1 a man a hole .can be great craic.won 14 skins last time out:D

No recession in your gaf - we play 50c skins along with €2 front, back, overall prizes... great craic... I took a "rollover" pot of 11 skins one day having played p*ss poor golf for about 14 holes... me two pals were not best pleased :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    No recession in your gaf - we play 50c skins along with €2 front, back, overall prizes... great craic... I took a "rollover" pot of 11 skins one day having played p*ss poor golf for about 14 holes... me two pals were not best pleased :D

weve only played it 3 or 4 times.not something to be at every weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Nothing worse than being stuck behind a group of 4 aul lads holing out for an 8 to win some stupid mini-game or side bet in a Stableford competition.

Hey, if my eight beats your nine - pay up, Buddy! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭samdeman

when we play for money the winner gets his next greenfees paid for on away courses (and choice of course)! got ballyconneely, lahinch and ballybunnion paid for last year!! not too bad if there is four of you playing, but lahinch had to come out of one guys pocket as only two of us played the round before!