Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad Love - Season 1 (US)

• 15-02-2011 10:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭

Just watched the pilot episode and have to say I really enjoyed.
    I was expecting it to be absolutely dreadful, and was surprised by how much potential it had. Quite similar to How I Met Your Mother in tone, but how can that be a bad thing. I think Labine and Greer work really well together, so that alone makes it a decent enough show. I'm not really sure about Biggs or Chalke yet - so far they seem to be playing their usual roles of Jim (American Pie) and Elliot (Scrubs), but to be fair neither had much time to shine in the pilot as it was more focused on Labine and Greer.

Anyone else watched it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Looking forward to watching this later, seems to have a pretty decent cast. I saw a review that mentioned it is very similar to "How I Met Your Mother" as well, which is not bad IMO, but I wonder if it will hurt or help it in the long run, been on the same network and same night as HIMYM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Never heard of this, just have one question-- when you say Labine, do you mean of the Tyler variety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

liah wrote: »
    Never heard of this, just have one question-- when you say Labine, do you mean of the Tyler variety?

One in the same. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

liah wrote: »

Yep. From "Reaper" (which I miss) and then "Sons of Tucson" (which nobody misses I think).

Deadly. :D I grew up watching him on Canadian TV (he's from not too far from my hometown), was delighted to see him in Reaper (I love that show) a couple years ago.. then they cancelled it! So it's really nice to see him in something again, hope it takes off. He's a really funny guy.

Will have to keep an eye on the show, the cast looks promising-- Sarah Chalke (Scrubs is one of the shows most close to my heart) and Tyler will make this fun for me to watch. Not pushed on Biggs or yer one from Arrested Development but I guess I'll see what the craic is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'll check it out later myself, but it's only been given 9 eps. (cut from 13) + some of the cast have already moved on to other projects....so how can it last?

Watched it-- Biggs' character is 100% a ripoff of Ted, and Labine is essentially a more monogamy-friendly Barney. It's sort of HIMYM from Barney's point of view.

It's a clone, but honestly it was a likeable clone and certainly not the worst I've ever seen for a pilot, but I guess I can see why it got cut down in season length. It wasn't a strong starter.

I'll keep watching and give it a chance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

"How I Met Your Mother-Lite!"

To be honest.. if this wasn't on CBS (the same station as HIMYM), I was gonna suggest they should sue for this blatant rip-off.

It's odd.. for such a comedically talented cast (Biggs, Labine, Chalke and Greer), they didn't really impress me. Labine was good (he always is) but he's been much better.

Could see a lot of the jokes and situations coming a mile-off too.. but comedy isn't exactly the most original genre at the best of times.

I'll keep watching another few episodes, as I didn't like the first episode of HIMYM either.

I see Matt Tarses created and wrote it.. his previous show 'Worst Week' (a US remake of the British show) was actually good fun, but it felt foul to the cancellation cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,024 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm not a fan of Biggs is he the playing the main lead?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of Biggs is he the playing the main lead?

Sort of.

Imagine HIMYM, from a toned-down Barney's point of view. Now put Biggs where Ted is, and that's Mad Love.

Technically I imagine Labine is the lead since his character narrates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Basq wrote: »
    "How I Met Your Mother-Lite!"

To be honest.. if this wasn't on CBS (the same station as HIMYM), I was gonna suggest they should sue for this blatant rip-off.

It's odd.. for such a comedically talented cast (Biggs, Labine, Chalke and Greer), they didn't really impress me. Labine was good (he always is) but he's been much better.

Could see a lot of the jokes and situations coming a mile-off too.. but comedy isn't exactly the most original genre at the best of times.

I'll keep watching another few episodes, as I didn't like the first episode of HIMYM either.

I see Matt Tarses created and wrote it.. his previous show 'Worst Week' (a US remake of the British show) was actually good fun, but it felt foul to the cancellation cow.

it's BEAR!!!...cancellation bear!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:

Cancellation-Bear.jpg

it's BEAR!!!...cancellation bear!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:
    Meh.. I like mine better... at least it uses alliteration.

Cancellation Bear?! Fecking nonsense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Watched the first 10 minutes, didn't laugh or even smile once.
    Jason Biggs' character is doing a really good Ted Mosby impression too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Martin Starr as a guest star and potentially in a recurring role... that's a win in my eyes...
    billmurrayisthefunniest.gif

Hmm.. after 4 episodes, this show fails to really wow me!

Don't get me wrong, it's witty but it I barely raise a smirk.. and don't know if I've really laughed once.

And the emphasis on bar scenes (especially in episode 4) aren't helping their image if 'How I Met Your Mother v2'.

And Biggs (I mean Ted Mosby v2) faux-facial-hair is both disturbing and distracting... he looks like a 13 year old trying to grow a moustache!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I thought the pilot was really bad and not in a "I don't know where they're going with this" way but in "I know exactly where this is going and I've seen it all before and it wasn't particularly funny the first six times" way.

I won't abandon it off the bat in case it's a Parks and Rec as opposed to simply a wreck.

I'm still really enjoying it - think the chemistry between Labine and Greer is what makes the show. Without that it wouldn't be good at all.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ep 2 was truly brutal. It's just awful in every way. I'm out.

Anyone else still watching this? I think its improving by the episode - really enjoying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,024 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Starts on RTE 2 tonight very late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Starts on RTE 2 tonight very late
    why are they paying money for a show that had 13 episodes and has been canceled,

so many shows they could spend the money on, i think with the level of talk i hear about breaking bad id say theyd pull in some ratings of they got that,

another waste of tax payers money,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

don ramo wrote: »
    why are they paying money for a show that had 13 episodes and has been canceled,

so many shows they could spend the money on, i think with the level of talk i hear about breaking bad id say theyd pull in some ratings of they got that,

another waste of tax payers money,
    I'd say it was more of a case of, buy Two and a Half Men + The Big Bang Theory + S#*t My Dad Says and get Mad Love free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Dman001 wrote: »
    I'd say it was more of a case of, buy Two and a Half Men + The Big Bang Theory + S#*t My Dad Says and get Mad Love free!
    terrible deal that:D, no point point having any of them, i watch 2.5 men and TBBT but there on endless repeat on other channels,

i know thats not the actual deal, id love to see the deals theyd be brokering, like what other shows was this one tacked onto,