Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The new generation of voters

• 15-02-2011 6:31am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭

Are they any different? There's a lot of (unfair) criticism levelled at older people who have voted for FF by people on here, but the new generation aren't much different.

The new generation want to elect FG; a party that is positioned similarly to FF; a party that supported the bailout of the banks; a party that is funded by developers; a party that plans to reform the health service but don't have any information on where they'll get the money telling people it'll be done and dusted within the lifetime of the next government when they mean ten years (and in reality it won't happen in 10 years); a party full of legacy and career politicians; a party full of gombeens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

somewhat different but not a massive difference in views....I know a guy in college who is staunchly FF(he was out campaigning with Michael Martin) and I can't understand why such a smart guy would even bother wasting time and energy in a such Degraded organisation...and he's not the only one!

(actually most of the guys i know in ogra ff are fairly thick headed arrogant people in fairness who can't to get the latest poster of Mickey John Joe from bally-go-backwards up as their facebook pic from now to election time) :rolleyes:

Clearly the ogra generation think they can change the country but the old elite will just mould them into copies of themselves and the cycles continues........rant over:mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

flash1080 wrote: »
    Are they any different? There's a lot of (unfair) criticism levelled at older people who have voted for FF by people on here, but the new generation aren't much different.

The new generation want to elect FG; a party that is positioned similarly to FF; a party that supported the bailout of the banks; a party that is funded by developers; a party that plans to reform the health service but don't have any information on where they'll get the money telling people it'll be done and dusted within the lifetime of the next government when they mean ten years (and in reality it won't happen in 10 years); a party full of legacy and career politicians; a party full of gombeens.

so... you don't want them voting for FF because they are akin to UHT milk... you don't want them voting for FG because they don't appear to have a clue and in it for the gravy train...

Just another rant?

right... so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This isn't some sort of psseudo-ff closet attack on the other parties to try and pschological gain support for the party is it? Like the famous NHS text that Terry brought to light?

Voting FF because you like their policies is fine - but at least let me know what you like about their policies. Voting FF because of some family thing is insane and retarded. Voting FF because you thing FG/Labour are just as bad or are exactly the same is just as retarded.

This is an elsction. You vote FOR someone, not AGAINST someone, and, one way or the other, tell me policies or issues that made you vote FOR them in the first place.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

it will be my first time voting ever as I as just turned of age to vote. I will be voting fine gael 1st, 2nd and 3rd and giving the rest nothing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    This isn't some sort of psseudo-ff closet attack on the other parties to try and pschological gain support for the party is it? Like the famous NHS text that Terry brought to light?

Voting FF because you like their policies is fine - but at least let me know what you like about their policies. Voting FF because of some family thing is insane and retarded. Voting FF because you thing FG/Labour are just as bad or are exactly the same is just as retarded.

This is an elsction. You vote FOR someone, not AGAINST someone, and, one way or the other, tell me policies or issues that made you vote FOR them in the first place.

Voting FG/Labour because you like their policies is fine - but at least let me know what you like about their policies. Voting FG/Labour because of some family thing is insane and retarded. Voting FG/Labour because you want to teach FF a lesson is just as retarded.

This is an election. You vote FOR someone, not AGAINST someone, and, one way or the other, tell me policies or issues that made you vote FOR them in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

A major issue is people not voting at all for whatever reason.

Taxi driver this morning in his early 30's wasn't going to vote because he doesn't care. (He was Irish, because if Ireland wasn't my country i probably wouldn't care)

I feel you lose the right to complain when you didn't even bother to vote. If you did/didn't vote for a party who's doing a **** job, protest or vote them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

it is sickening to hear the sh1theads giving out and then they say they're not voting, funnily enough it's mostly the same people who let lisbon2.0 pass by not voting again and maybe getting more people to vote against!

if fianna fail get back in again with even 15 tds I call a protest outside Leinster house (hunger strike to the death even) until they leave and never come back!!!

I better not be on me own either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    it is sickening to hear the sh1theads giving out and then they say they're not voting, funnily enough it's mostly the same people who let lisbon2.0 pass by not voting again and maybe getting more people to vote against!

if fianna fail get back in again with even 15 tds I call a protest outside Leinster house (hunger strike to the death even) until they leave and never come back!!!

I better not be on me own either!

Alright but you start it to get the ball rolling. I'll just go round up support...

*gets in car and drives off*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Heil Kenmore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

I'm not convinced the issue is young v old.. I think there's still a LOT of people with family allegiances , ie who will vote for a particular party no matter what they do.
    I would implore people to look at the party policies and vote based on that!
    Still haven't decided meself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

it will be my first time voting ever as I as just turned of age to vote. I will be voting fine gael 1st, 2nd and 3rd and giving the rest nothing

may I ask why you as a young person are choosing to vote Fine Gael?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

http://www.facebook.com/ThePeoplesEconomy

There's even a facebook page for people who would like some reasonable alternative to what you heard on last nights TV debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Adamantium wrote: »
    somewhat different but not a massive difference in views....I know a guy in college who is staunchly FF(he was out campaigning with Michael Martin) and I can't understand why such a smart guy would even bother wasting time and energy in a such Degraded organisation...and he's not the only one!

Most of the old guard are jumping off the ship. I'd guess that a lot of the ambitious, younger political generation are thinking with their greed ahead of their brains and seeing that they'll move up the ladder quicker in a party that is desperately seeking to overhaul its image.

Agreed with the OP's point that a vote for Fine Gael to oust Fianna Fail is ultimately leading us down the same path. I can't see Enda handling the scrutiny that's going to come with being given a poisoned chalice any better than Cowen.

At least Cowen had always just put his head down and got on with things, Enda is just going to look like a deer in headlights when he realises just how unworkable his 5-point plan is. Personally, my realistic best case scenario now is Fine Gael and Independents getting in, leaving Labour fronting a strong opposition to heave them out when they mess it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

Just to weigh-in my two cents:

I would prefer Labour getting into the leading government position because, as has been mentioned above, FG are coming from a far too similar position as FF. In the history of the Irish state we have never had a left-leaning party leading the government. We need to alter the political landscape a bit. I agree with leggo that while Enda tries, bless him, to present himself as a strong leader we all know that he doesn't have the head for the top job. Eamonn Gilmore, in my opinion, is a much stronger leader and would do well as Taoiseach. Whether the rest of his party are up to it is another story but we must stop this whole people voting for the candidate that filled in some pot holes, is a family friend, etc. that has been mentioned ad nauseum. That is the new gun in Irish politics, pointed at it's own head mind, that needs to be removed.

Now, as for economic matters, should a left-wing party gain top spot we still need capitalism to get us out of the hole we're in. Instead of punishing people for trying to make money we must encourage entrepreneurship. Rather ironically, the bailing out of the banks was not a move in the true spirit of capitalism, as opposed to letting them either clean up their own acts (far be it from a bank not to want to make money) or fail and say "It was your own fault". There's one thing I always remind myself of: there are at least 10 people below you who can do your job better. The IMF are going to give us a sh*tload of money so let's do something intelligent with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

About 90%> of the young people I know are voting Sinn Fein. The other parties dont have a look in. They're going to clean up in this election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There's a lot of dead wood in all parties, where people who are as much use as a one-legged man in an arse-kicking contest, have been getting re-elected for decades.

I'd probably name a couple but my windows aren't insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    About 90%> of the young people I know are voting Sinn Fein. The other parties dont have a look in. They're going to clean up in this election.

They're just saying that trying to be schmad. They'll follow like sheep and vote Fine Gael on polling day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I just cant vote for FG well especially Enda. I would vote for FF before FG and trust me FG will be last on my list followed by FF. I will vote for anybody but these. TBH out of the 3 main leaders i would prefer Martin but i just couldnt lower myself to vote FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

Taxi driver this morning in his early 30's wasn't going to vote because he doesn't care. (He was Irish, because if Ireland wasn't my country i probably wouldn't care)

I feel you lose the right to complain when you didn't even bother to vote. If you did/didn't vote for a party who's doing a **** job, protest or vote them out.

You'd rather people voted for someone despite not knowing or caring a bit about politics? That seems very undemocratic to me. I think there are a lot of people out there who just don't have any faith in the whole electoral process. I'd rather they abstained and not just go with who their friends or family like than potentially vote for someone they might end up being fundamentally opposed to were they actually to inform themselves.

I have a friend who told me a few days ago she wasn't going to vote because listening to me talk about politics bored her to tears and made her realise she doesn't know or care about any of the parties or their policies. She then told me yesterday that she intends to vote Labour because they are pro-choice.

I think it's understandable for people to be disenfranchised and feel that their vote really makes no difference. After all, the electorate chose FF last time around and now many people see this as a mistake (whether you or I do is irrelevant). Why should they feel that they will make the right choice this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

cianl1 wrote: »
    Alright but you start it to get the ball rolling. I'll just go round up support...

*gets in car and drives off cliff*
    That would be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

There's a TV series in this thread somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 newtadis

JOE HIGGINS IS YA MAN IN MY EYES STRAIGHT TALKING HONEST AND A PROVEN RECORD TO FIGHT FOR THE PEOPLE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

If you like to exercise your individual freedom, you won't vote. Voting is simply offloading the choice to live your life as you see fit, to a group of people who don't care about you, your family, or even this country. Voting is simply conformity to political slavery. The problems we face are a result of voting practices. We need to rethink our priorities imo. Have you actually considered the primary justification for non voting?