Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi Drivers

• 14-02-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Taxi drivers are funny people, they come in all shapes and sizes, you could be sitting quitely in the back seat or you could be stuck with a chatterbox with limitless complaints, then you meet a taxi driver whose intelligence is far more than required in his current job and you could be giving a lift with someone who is nicer than mother teresa and gandhi's love child.

When travelling in a group for a night out no one wants to be stuck sitting beside the driver, but why??

Should taxi drivers accept laser?

Why isnt there more women taxi drivers in this world?

Would you ever become a taxi driver?

Have you ever jumped your fare?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

For the love of Jaysus, no........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Is this directed at the Taxi Drivers rather than the passengers? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭alandublin15

think its more about endurance than intelligence.
    to endure a working week on the same roads as some of the ...'challenged'... drivers in this country. superhuman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

When travelling in a group for a night out no one wants to be stuck sitting beside the driver, but why??

eh, never had a problem. Are you sure that this is not just an issue for you?

I know plenty that accept credit/debit cards
    Why isnt there more women taxi drivers in this world?

Too busy in the kitchen :confused:
    I have had plenty of women taxi drivers, ex-girlfriends mom was a taxi driver in Limerick, she was cool

Would consider it. Was talking to a taxi driver last month who quit his job as an aero-engineer and he is happy out. Loves the freedom, having his own schedule and no one to answer to.

Scumbag thing to do, they are trying to earn a decent living by providing a service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When travelling in a group for a night out no one wants to be stuck sitting beside the driver, but why?? Sitting with a stranger is weird, also sometimes they smell

Should taxi drivers accept laser? I think some do, mainly the ones that are part of a cab company like 820 and stuff

Why isnt there more women taxi drivers in this world? I know a few, but you wouldn't know it from looking at them

Would you ever become a taxi driver? hell no, there's no money in it and people treat you like crap

Have you ever jumped your fare? Never, that's an awful thing to do.

Alright, lock the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

jester77 wrote: »
    Scumbag thing to do, they are trying to earn a decent living by providing a service.

It is but sometimes it's deserved due to a lack of decency on the drivers part. Was stuck with an absolute psycho of a driver in Limerick one night and it was either jump the fare or risk him attacking us and demanding a ridiculous charge despite what the meter said. Gave serious consideration to reporting him afterwards but didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It is but sometimes it's deserved due to a lack of decency on the drivers part. Was stuck with an absolute psycho of a driver in Limerick one night and it was either jump the fare or risk him attacking us and demanding a ridiculous charge despite what the meter said. Gave serious consideration to reporting him afterwards but didn't.

There's always a few knobs that give the rest a bad rep. You should report him and do both the taxi driver community and their customers a service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'm sure taxi drivers love sitting beside drunken eejets that talk bs to them and ask the exact same questions to them every night too.

Most accept credit card. A couple of Christmases ago I was absolutely hammered getting a taxi, I didn't realise that I had no cash on me and was literally too drunk to head into my place and look for dosh to pay the taxi man. I told him that I'd give him a ring the next day and meet up, pay the fare and pay him a few bob extra. I told the taxi guy he knows where I live and there was zero chance of me moving home just because of a fare, he said OK. Next day at 5pm I get a call from taxi guy and he offers to call up to my place for the fare. Now he could have called the cops that night for a non-payment of fare( I had the cash in my place, just not the dexterity to retrieve it) but instead he was sound. So I threw him and extra €25 along with the cost of the fare for the return journey that evening. He was delighted and I was happy that I'd made it home in one piece. Taximan was a Nigerian btw.

Why isn't there more women taxi drivers in this world?

There are a few.

No, there's feck all money in it and the abuse you have to take along the way doesn't make it worthwhile.

No, I'm not a scumbag but see story above for deferred payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

too .......many.............QUESTIONS!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

jester77 wrote: »
    There's always a few knobs that give the rest a bad rep. You should report him and do both the taxi driver community and their customers a service.

Too long ago now, I've forgotten his ID number. Had it memorised because I managed to be landed with this gob****e twice. Only taxi driver I ever had trouble with. The man was crazy so I'd be fairly sure he's lost his licence by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Got a guy one morning on the way to the airport. Told us all about his days robbing banks with the IRA in the 70's and 80's. Honestly didn't know what to say apart from "Fair play".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

OP' alibi is crumbling like a sandcastle in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

In Brussels at the weekend, friends got in a taxi, driver asked them where to, they told him where, respectable area about 10/15 mins drive away. Driver starts screaming and shouting that he isn't working anymore, shouts at them all to get out, then gets out himself and slams the door behind him.

Rest assured it isn't just the Irish taxi drivers who are knob jockeys and freaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Mr. Martini

I have been in a taxi in Dublin and the driver made casual racist comments.

I was disgusted and demanded he stopped and I got out.
    Also, his personal hygiene was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

think its more about endurance than intelligence.
    to endure a working week on the same roads as some of the ...'challenged'... drivers in this country. superhuman.

I take it you mean working on the same roads as other taxi drivers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

I was over in Leeds one time. Caught a taxi with some dark skinned guy driving. Smashing bloke. All smiles and chatter.

I'd just bought a hand gun and, foolishly I s'pose, in retrospect, I couldn't resist opening the case on my lap to quietly admire it. Fcuking Big mistake!

My happy go lucky driver's spotted it. Grabbed it and has started waving it about and pointing it out the window at fellow motorists!!!

I sh!t ye not! There I am, hurtling through a major british city, trapped inside a motor with this mad muslim sticking a fcuking pistol out the window!

I was just fatalistically waiting for the ARV to slew across the front of us and shoot us both to bits :eek:

It was kind of surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

TheZohan wrote: »
    Taximan was a Nigerian btw

What does the driver's nationality have to do with anything?

Honestly, I'm asking a simple question.

Ditch wrote: »
    I was over in Leeds one time. Caught a taxi with some dark skinned guy driving. Smashing bloke. All smiles and chatter.

I'd just bought a hand gun and, foolishly I s'pose, in retrospect, I couldn't resist opening the case on my lap to quietly admire it. Fcuking Big mistake!

My happy go lucky driver's spotted it. Grabbed it and has started waving it about and pointing it out the window at fellow motorists!!!

I sh!t ye not! There I am, hurtling through a major british city, trapped inside a motor with this mad muslim sticking a fcuking pistol out the window!

I was just fatalistically waiting for the ARV to slew across the front of us and shoot us both to bits :eek:

It was kind of surreal.

I have no idea what film this is from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I have no idea what film this is from.

Ernest Saves Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Moved to Belfast and the drivers used to rob me blind

They heard my accent and my less then confident manner on where I was going and I went on a sightseeing tour, even a lap of Ormeau Park which is one seriously big park!
    People in work used to laugh at me when I said what fares I was paying :o
    And then you go to Central station and the drivers stand in the door, getting in the way as they shout Taxi and tout for business.

The drivers in Galway and Dublin are honest saints compared to these lads

What does the driver's nationality have to do with anything?

Honestly, I'm asking a simple question.

In the past some posters have berated Nigerian taxi drivers for a number of reasons (some valid and some not), if this thread goes on for long enough you'll see it and the odd racist troll making the odd racist comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Was in Dublin over Christmas, and it was my wife's first time in Ireland. Having read so many negative stories on here about taxi drivers, I was a little concerned that they may have made a bad impression on her. I need not have worried. The 4 or 5 taxi drivers that I used were absolute gentlemen, very polite to my wife, and always rounding the fare down. I think taxi drivers get a lot of undue criticism in Ireland.

TheZohan wrote: »
    In the past some posters have berated Nigerian taxi drivers for a number of reasons (some valid and some not), if this thread goes on for long enough you'll see it and the odd racist troll making the odd racist comment.

Yeah I see what you mean, but you are doing the same as them, regardless of whether you are praising or criticizing them.

Just my opinion.

Yeah I see what you mean, but you are doing the same as them, regardless of whether you are praising or criticizing them.

Just my opinion.

How so? I think your logic is flawed.