Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone like to help style a band?

• 14-02-2011 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭

So here's the thing. The band I'm in, The Riot Tapes, are shooting our first video towards the end of this month. We're (mostly) in our 30s, guys, except our singer who is a girl in her 20s. She has a great look, no problems there. However us guys tend to wear just jeans / t shirts / etc. IOW a very casual look.

Which we're mostly happy with, BTW! Once the singer looks good. However, for the video I'm thinking we need something with a little more thought put into it for the guys. We're OK with the beardy check shirt look of a band like Fleet Foxes, or even the casual look of someone like Foo Fighters. What could we do though? I'm thinking even if the guys are in dark tops or t shirts, then that'd be good as we'd fade out a little and keep the focus on the singer. Or should we all wear our own thing to get our own personalities across?

We're NOT gonna be wearing skinny jeans / rolled up trousers / 80s fashions or anything like that. But any advice would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

If your in a rockband you have to have skinnys because well thats what they all have and you need a funny haircut like this
    like this because thats the look you have to go for
    young-gs.jpg
    Band_-_Francesqa_medium.jpg?1289581690
    3603214943_6a1cf5e9ff.jpg
    Lostprophets-Rock-Sound-lostprophets-10397580-600-400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Yeah, like I said we're not gonna for the skinny jeans and stupid haircuts that those bands do. We're not in our 20s, and also I think that all bands look the same now. I like bands that look a little different. So we're not indie boys. We're indie men! :-)

Well the last band are all in there mid 30s and there indie men or go for this

Well you need to have your funny haircuts if your doing any kind of rock music because if a band has **** haircut and scumbag dressing and just lol

For shoes you need boots, black shoes eg topman style or river island style or cons for everyday

Well you also need a good manger who knows people

If your not willing to change know you have int got a hope of making it big

153036.jpg
    1102062762_2.gif

Thanks for that advice, but those pictures you put up? I'd rather give up music than look like that. Lostprophets, for serious?? Oh man. :)

Anyway, I'm sure we'll figure something out.

P.S. black shoes aren't rock n roll. They are to be worn in an office.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Do you want the singer to stand out from the band? Something like her in whatever clothes, and the lads would wear something plainer.

I'm taking Paramore as an example here just for the idea I mentioned. Not the actual clothes or any enjoyment of their music :p

paramore_1.Jpg

But you see what I mean with her in the eye catching outfit.

It could be good for the guys to wear whatever style of clothes they want, but maybe stick to a colour scheme - black, white and grey for example. If you're not in comfortable clothes, you won't be able to be yourself. So if you like shirts wear a shirt, if you prefer tees wear a tee. Can I be mean and say please no black shirts with blue jeans :o

Will told you so paramore are classed the same as the other bands you might like the singer to stand out but then you will be in the back round

Well I dress like Ian form Lostprophets , Gus from youngguns and ash from francesqa but I am a lot younger so maybe that's why I can pull it off and it works on girls on a night out seeing a well dressed lad

Will told you so paramore are classed the same as the other bands you might like the singer to stand out but then you will be in the back round

But you'll see I stated that I'm not suggesting the clothes, or that the band sound like that, but the picture is a good example of what I was trying to explain. From eviltimeban's post I get that the female in the band is a part of their image and saying "once she looks good" means she's a focal point.

Obviously open to correction from the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

If your not willing to change know you have int got a hope of making it big

Yikes. Clearly you haven't considered many of the bands and independent musicians that keep it simple and don;t get radical angular haircuts...

Again I'd g with keeping relatively simple..one or two colours, black always is fine. With a standy outty lead..your singer obviously will as you say there's no problem there..simple is the to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Duke spirit esque maybe?
    the-duke-spirit.jpg

Or Le Galaxie?le+galaxie+2008_0112Jankittens0037.jpg

Twee. wrote: »
    But you'll see I stated that I'm not suggesting the clothes, or that the band sound like that, but the picture is a good example of what I was trying to explain. From eviltimeban's post I get that the female in the band is a part of their image and saying "once she looks good" means she's a focal point.

Obviously open to correction from the OP.

No you're right, the singer should stand out but the rest of the band are important, we write and arrange the music. But I agree with the idea of us being in the background a little and her in more eye catching clothes.

One idea, seperately, for a photo shoot that we have, is the guys in tuxedos and the girl in a fancy red dress. Obviously not a look for the video though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

Is there any story to the video or is it a performance video?

It could be fun to do a fun 'after-party' vibe where you are in dishevelled tuxes etc as long as the video makes it clear that it is part of the story and not that you just couldn't be arsed ironing your clothes!!! Maybe have the open shots of you looking all smart?

It depends what the video is tbh. Don't totally change your normal style just for the video or you will confuse the fans who already follow.

Well, working on the assumption that this is your myspace:
    http://www.myspace.com/theriottapes/photos/73990714#%7B%22ImageId%22%3A73990714%7D

I think you look grand, lads in the front maybe a tad too casual and also try not to look so similar to each other, hate to sound like a 14 year old but it might be an idea to coordinate beforehand to make sure you each at least have different coloured shirts.

Personally though, at your age I'd be worried if you were wiggling yourself into skinny jeans, not a good look IMO. Depends though on whether you're catering more towards my kind of band or samapple789's. I still can't believe that Take That woke up in their 40's one day, threw on ball-squishing jeans and tiny waistcoats and all of a sudden they were "cool". ???

Definitely don't try to blend in. It's good to have an overall style between yous, but don't go so far as uniformity. Standing next to that girl you don't have to try to make her stand out more, she can carry herself. Just try to eliminate the sort of homogenous colour scheme in the photo on your myspace. You don't necessarily need bright colours or anything, just add more than just a check shirt or black. The tux idea is good, but again don't let it be completely homogenous, like different tightness of ties or bowties, or personalise them in a slight way, even just something as small as the shoes. Red dress for the girl will be great too.

Well, working on the assumption that this is your myspace:
    http://www.myspace.com/theriottapes/photos/73990714#%7B%22ImageId%22%3A73990714%7D

I think you look grand, lads in the front maybe a tad too casual and also try not to look so similar to each other, hate to sound like a 14 year old but it might be an idea to coordinate beforehand to make sure you each at least have different coloured shirts.

Personally though, at your age I'd be worried if you were wiggling yourself into skinny jeans, not a good look IMO. Depends though on whether you're catering more towards my kind of band or samapple789's. I still can't believe that Take That woke up in their 40's one day, threw on ball-squishing jeans and tiny waistcoats and all of a sudden they were "cool". ???

Definitely don't try to blend in. It's good to have an overall style between yous, but don't go so far as uniformity. Standing next to that girl you don't have to try to make her stand out more, she can carry herself. Just try to eliminate the sort of homogenous colour scheme in the photo on your myspace. You don't necessarily need bright colours or anything, just add more than just a check shirt or black. The tux idea is good, but again don't let it be completely homogenous, like different tightness of ties or bowties, or personalise them in a slight way, even just something as small as the shoes. Red dress for the girl will be great too.

Thanks for checking us out! That's a photo we all saw and went "urgh!" when it came to what we were wearing - the check shirts just didn't work.

Here's another picture of us that's a little better (we're missing some members):
    4w.jpg

And here's one of us playing in the Hard Rock Cafe recently (its not a great shot but you can see all of us):
    180772_10150383168220526_716610525_17000993_4218337_n.jpg

The video is performance. Its actually going to be a live video, three songs, so musicianship will also be important, we won't be miming. I'm tending to stick to the casual, just dark t shirts or tops for the guys and Elaine can dress up in whatever she normally wears; we won't be squeezing into skinny jeans any time soon, anyway we're not that kind of band. Not sure if you heard the music, but it has got mass appeal and that's the kind of audience we'll hope to attract.

So you're saying don't go all black / all the same, stick to what we would choose individually, I guess letting our own personalities come out? I've got so many different options myself, I don't know what to do! I'd like the way Noel Gallagher dresses on stage - cool jackets, etc. But he has good hair and I, alas, have no hair (I'm the guy on the right in both pics). But I just have to make up my mind and stick to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

The all black/dark colors is just generic now, do this and you'll look like every other band. You just need to smarten yourselves up a bit more. You can still keep the casual look but go for more classic simple styles, with a good fit, for your age and what your comfortable in.
    The bootcut jeans look sh1t if i'm honest, with trainers (which i'd ditch too) they look scruffy and with shoes they look like dad jeans. I think once your in your 30's you need to smarten yourself up more and ditch those styles you've been wearing since your teens.

Footwear - Ditch the trainers, if you want something comfortable and light you can go for a desert boot or maybe a loafer. Boots you could go for Chukkas and you can't go wrong with Chelsea's, if your going for shoes brogues are more casual and look pretty good. I'd avoid the high street stores for shoes as most seem to sell pointy ones, a look you want to avoid. Grenson, Loake, Barker are decent entry level shoes and have plenty of choice.

Jeans/Trousers - Once again ditch the bootcuts. Go for straight or slim legs they look way better and much smarter than anything loose or baggy and skinny looks sh1t. You can always mix it up with chino's, cords or smart casual trousers.

Tops - Id be ditching those tees with the large prints or logos too. Just go with plain t-shirts (color is your own choice) or maybe the odd striped ones and mix it up with crew and v-neck ( not deep vs or scoop necks). Simple polos are always good as long as they fit well. Shirts a couple of checks ( small checks or micro i think are best) and maybe a couple of casual plain oxfords, you can always change how they look rolling the sleeves or how many buttons you leave open. Knitwear i prefer a v-neck myself but its up to yourself can't go wrong with navy or grey, you could get cardigans either if that's your thing. Probably best to go with lighter materials if your under lights onstage.

Jackets - Can't go wrong with a good quality fitting leather if you have the funds, not so sure about black ones though, classic as they are they are everywhere. I'd be looking at going for classic coats trenches, pea coats, macs, toggles, overcoats etc a couple of well fitting casual blazers or maybe a waistcoat. All are worth spending money on as they won't date and always look well.

You can always mix up the outfits with accessories depending on what you like. I personally like scarves but you can go with hats, sunglasses, belts, watches etc, not too much jewelery unless you wanna look emo.

I'd dress individually but well, do you want people to notice the singer or the band ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭charmer

Personally I think showing some personality among the other members works better. Maybe not anything too eye catching with regards to colour or detail as I know you want to keep your lady centre-stage but IMO the all matching dark colours look is outdated, nicer to mix it up a little.
    Maybe just a combo among you of plain t-shirt/shirt/open shirt over t-shirt, in colours that go well together.

Just did a very quick search on my fave band, I think something like these work quite well, and can be adapted to be age appropriate:

Brand+New.jpg

c8aac38af91f942094c23b7ff4b1e096.jpg

None of the colours or prints are too crazy/eye-catching so the girl would still stand out but the rest of ye wouldn't be lost completely either.
    Oh and groovy shoes are always nice! Converse/Vans/DCs.. Maybe not what ye are into though, but they can dress up an otherwise very plain outfit on a guy.

No you're right, the singer should stand out but the rest of the band are important, we write and arrange the music. But I agree with the idea of us being in the background a little and her in more eye catching clothes.

Sorry I didn't mean to come across as saying you guys aren't important :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

I think for the look of it the guys should aim for darker colours and let the girl stand out with her own look, but by no means go for a uniform colour and look. As someone else mentioned, maybe just look a bit more polished (no hoodies)

Theres no need to go for skinny jeans. Maybe something like

1) a military jacket, nice tshirt, and a dark wash jean
    JIDOP.JPG
    Tshirt: http://www.allsaints.com/men/graphic_t-shirts/berlins-ss-raw-edge/mist-dirty-spray/mtk643-2270
    patag322144_122865_lg.jpg

2) A heavy long sleeve (rolled up) and a grey wash jean
    image1xl.jpg

Those jeans may be too skinny for your look but just to give you an idea. I would say go for greys, blacks, dull whites, khaki and maybe dark reds like burgandy colours

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

thanks padi89... now all we need is a clothes encyclopaedia!

Wow, there's so much conflicting advice here, I think I'm even more confused now! Don't wear trainers... wear trainers... skinny jeans...not skinny jeans...

I dunno. I guess what we'll probably end of doing is just wear stuff that each of us wants to wear - whatever we're happy in. Those bands posted above (who's look I really like) look like they are just wearing their ordinary clothes. I'll probably go with a shirt with sleeves rolled, dark jeans, and I've a really nice pair of Camper shoes (not that anyone's going to be able to see our feet).

Sunglasses!! :-) Yeah, rock n roll! Maybe not yet. Perhaps when we're famous.

Thanks for all the advice so far everyone!

http://www.youtube.com/embed/Bmqwr8RMCdI

I like the look of this band. Great band too.

And I just noticed, the singer is wearing boot cut jeans!! :-) But then he is from Texas.