Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cringy Valentine's E-Card by Fine Gael

• 13-02-2011 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭

http://finegael2011.com/valentine.asp

What do people think?

I think it's cringe-worthy, but so cringe-worthy that they get away with it.

Still, it gets people talking I suppose. In my opinion, Fine Gael have been running a pretty decent campaign so far (from a strategy point of view).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭takun

HQvhs wrote: »
    In my opinion, Fine Gael have been running a pretty decent campaign so far (from a strategy point of view).

No comment on the campaign generally, but the online stuff has been dreadful, patronising Americanised c**p. From the fiasco with the emails, to the downloadable poster of Che Inda (I am embarrased for them even thinking about that), to the whole tell us what you think crapola.

I thought it could not get worse... then I saw this and realised how very wrong I was. I would really (and I mean really) love to know who thought this was a good idea and why.

Aside from anything else, you can put anyone's email in and send email (spam) as though it was from them, you can send Fine Gael branded hate mail (as loads of people on twitter are doing).

I sent myself one, to an email address I use as a spam trap. I am really interested to see if they send me spam -in other words, are they collecting the emails of the the recipients who have not given permission to be mailed.

I'll probably still give them some kind of a preference, but this genuinely makes me wonder about their judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

HQvhs wrote: »
    http://finegael2011.com/valentine.asp

What do people think?

I think it's cringe-worthy, but so cringe-worthy that they get away with it.

Still, it gets people talking I suppose. In my opinion, Fine Gael have been running a pretty decent campaign so far (from a strategy point of view).

As I said in another thread, its cringetastic.

Its different I suppose. No harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭HQvhs

A lot of their on-line campaign has been very 'American' and poorly thought out, I agree. Fortunately for them I suppose, on-line campaigns matter little in Irish politics at the moment.

I suppose at least their trying, I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭takun

telekon wrote: »
    No harm done.

Wrong. Harm done.

What they have done is open up a channel on their site for anyone who wants to anonymously spam anyone else - and it is being used heavily for that purpose this very minute. You send email to anyone you like, from any email address you like, not necessarily your own as there is no verification. It is essentially an open relay system.

So, now you have hate mail being sent to people, and mail being sent with rabidly anti Fine Gael messages and all beautifully branded as though it came from Fine Gael. In many cases thuse mails appear to come from FG people, because you can put anyone's email address in as being the sender.

It is a very tiny step from there to having the site blacklisted as a source of spam - because that is what this is. Yes it is getting attention and there are those who say no publicity is bad publicity. I'll be interested to see if it still seems a good idea in a few days.

I think however they have copped on to it's crass stupidity - because all the auto tweets that went out from various FG accounts announcing it to the world have been deleted. If they have a whit of sense they will pull the page now before it gets worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭HQvhs

takun wrote: »
    Wrong. Harm done.

What they have done is open up a channel on their site for anyone who wants to anonymously spam anyone else - and it is being used heavily for that purpose this very minute. You send email to anyone you like, from any email address you like, not necessarily your own as there is no verification. It is essentially an open relay system.

So, now you have hate mail being sent to people, and mail being sent with rabidly anti Fine Gael messages and all beautifully branded as though it came from Fine Gael. In many cases thuse mails appear to come from FG people, because you can put anyone's email address in as being the sender.

It is a very tiny step from there to having the site blacklisted as a source of spam - because that is what this is. Yes it is getting attention and there are those who say no publicity is bad publicity. I'll be interested to see if it still seems a good idea in a few days.

I think however they have copped on to it's crass stupidity - because all the auto tweets that went out from various FG accounts announcing it to the world have been deleted. If they have a whit of sense they will pull the page now before it gets worse.
    Ah I don't think so. It's but a blip in the grand scheme of things. Most people don't care about these sort of things, including young (supposedly 'tech-savvy') voters such as myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭nosietoes

It is pretty pathetic that a party is basically taking the piss out of itself, and out of politics in order to appeal to a jaded, cynical 'youth' vote.

In doing this, I feel like they're juse illustrating how little they really think of the voting population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

What is wrong with this party?

Honestly, even since the poorly thought out attempted leadership heave, I've seen very little that suggests that their internal organization is anything but dysfunctional. Their whole approach to their website reeks of an expensive, out-of-touch media consultant who still doesn't quite get how the internet and social media actually works (I've worked with a lot of these people before).

Fine Gael seems to have a number of smart, economically literate people within their ranks, but are absolute ****e as an actual party. Fianna Fail is the exact opposite: a lot of their TDs are dreadful, but their party organization is top-notch (comparatively, anyway).

This Valentine's thing is bad - soooooo bad - yet it is too creepy to be campy. I agree with the OP: CRINGE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

takun wrote: »
    the downloadable poster of Che Inda (I am embarrased for them even thinking about that)

The irony. Wonder who in the advertising/PR team actually came up with the idea and for it to be put out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

Fine Gael won't break your heart like Fianna Fail broke your bank balance.:D

These are a bit special alright. I actually found it funny in a 'so bad it's good' sort of way, which I'm guessing is intentional on their part, but I'm not sure I'd see it that way if I happened find myself on the dole. This election probably isn't the best one to be introducing new electioneering gimmicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

A major problem in this country, and most everywhere, is that too many seem obsessed with looking like Very Serious People. That presents far deeper reaching problems for politics and societies in general beyond simple appearances, but that's not the core point here.

I'd welcome any levity by a party in the monotone times we're living through and if this causes anyone to even think about changing their votes it's they who are shallow, not Fine Gael or any other party that does something similar.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

If people are taking this seriously, then I would be getting worried. Its not supposed to be taken seriously.

As for the other online material - websites get hacked daily and it was from a very successful hacking group who have targeted Credit Card companies also. The poster, is a matter of opinion. Everything else is videos of the campaign trail, party political broadcasts, information on registering to vote and how to vote etc.

Its different - Ireland isn't used to an eCampaign and Fine Gael seem to be the only party doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Sully wrote: »
    If people are taking this seriously, then I would be getting worried. Its not supposed to be taken seriously.

As for the other online material - websites get hacked daily and it was from a very successful hacking group who have targeted Credit Card companies also. The poster, is a matter of opinion. Everything else is videos of the campaign trail, party political broadcasts, information on registering to vote and how to vote etc.

Its different - Ireland isn't used to an eCampaign and Fine Gael seem to be the only party doing it.

I'd liken it to internet sites back in the mid-90's - they don't know what works yet, but the only truly effective way of finding out is to try things that might work and see what sticks. If that means appearing foolish to a select few, I think in the end it'll be worth it for whatever party proves to be more effective in connecting their message with people online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Sully wrote: »

I don't think anyone could be possibly taking this seriously, but it's not awful enough to be tongue-in-cheek, but it's not good enough to be funny. It's just kind of lame. And the fact that Fine Gael are the best of a bad bunch when it comes to their e-campaign pretty much sums up this electoral season in a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

The fact that someone pulling the strings in FG thought this was a good idea makes me less likely to vote for them. And I'm not alone.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

The country is ****ed if people take this as a vote for or against FG. Its not a policy and its not an indication of how they would be in government. Its a light hearted moment having a bit of craic!

If you have no sense of humour or don't find this funny, get on with your life and don't just not vote purely because you felt it was a good or bad joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

I read the thread about this on my phone yesterday and thought "ha, that sounds ridiculous, I'll send one to my girlfriend!"

Having looked at the site however... No, no I will not. God that's really really awful... too cringeworthy to be funny! Not in any way something to decide a vote on though, unless you're completely insane or just plain lazy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

FG are the great white elephant hope to a lot of posters here so any criticism is quickly defended but the whole online campaign sums up to me how I have always seen FG. So desperate to be "right on" they are destined to fail at it. It's like they are embarrassed to be right wing so are forever trying to be in touch with the youf while the youf probably just want to see a party that is comfortable with what they are. Regardless as has been said none of this has hurt them in any serious way. They have made great promises and while I doubt they will deliver many here seem to be satisfied with the promises and it will be interesting watching them in power over the coming years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Pretty cringey alright. However, if this is getting you angry or worked up I think you need to come out of that box and see what has been happening for the last 3 years... economy destroyed, IMF, 100 billion of extra debt etc...perspective please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bock the Robber

But you can't use the name Peter, it seems. (If, for instance you decided to send a card to someone called Willie).

(For instance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Very cringeworthy tbh and it stinks of the involvement of a US "consultancy" firm who probably thought it was cute ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

after their lauch day fiasco you'd think FG would have shyed away from doing anything that involves any public details ie emails until this campaign is over...

I'm after sending that to one of the lads in college for the laugh but I could easily start sending that round like mad fire and really wreck some people's head enough to say **** FG and their ****ing stupid card yoke...

if they didn't put the email to someone thing in it you'd let them away with it but come on:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

It is terribly funny and so what .

Very cheesy.

Could it be that our "sophisticated" heads have no sense of humour.