Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Decisions - and how to make them!

• 13-02-2011 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭annetted

Hi
    We are living in Dublin for the past 10 years, we are both from down the country. we have a little boy of 2. Now a chance has come up to move down the country again. My hubby has been offered a job, just a few months work. Do we take a chance and leave Dublin. Really if we move, it is unlikely that we would come back to Dublin.. But it is such a big decision - and we are both crap at making decisions. how do you decide - the three of us just want to be happy..
    thanks a mill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Divorce !! your son gets to visit both of you in 2 seperate counties :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Magic 8 ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Asking the internet to decide on a major life choice for your family, which includes a 2 year old child?

Classic.

annetted wrote: »
    Hi
    We are living in Dublin for the past 10 years, we are both from down the country. we have a little boy of 2. Now a chance has come up to move down the country again. My hubby has been offered a job, just a few months work. Do we take a chance and leave Dublin. Really if we move, it is unlikely that we would come back to Dublin.. But it is such a big decision - and we are both crap at making decisions. how do you decide - the three of us just want to be happy..
    thanks a mill

ask the 2 year old, he'll give better advice than us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

As much as I love Dublin, I think denying the child the chance to grow up in the country would be a sin. That is if you mean the country, and not just some miserable existence in a grey town in Waterford. If that's the case, stay in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

have a **** and decide in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭okmqaz42

All decision making is based on push and pull factors. if you have more items that push or pull you to a particular decision that is what determines the correct course of action.
    Make a list of reasons to move back to the country, a sort of pro/cons list. Make a list of reasons to stay in Dublin pro/cons. when you have completed both lists read through them and see which of the lists has more pull/push for you.

Nevore wrote: »
    As much as I love Dublin, I think denying the child the chance to grow up in the country would be a sin. That is if you mean the country, and not just some miserable existence in a grey town in Waterford. If that's the case, stay in Dublin.

There is a fair chance that your son will end up back in Dublin at some stage in his life. Either for work or college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

If I was living in Dublin I'd be doiying to get out of there...

Says the man from Limerick :D

Don't worry, we'll all be running to Limerick yo join you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Ricardo G wrote: »
    Says the man from Limerick :D
    orourkeda wrote: »
    Don't worry, we'll all be running to Limerick yo join you

Its just Limerick City thats bad.

The rest of the place is alright, except for the slightly disproportionate travelling community population compared to the rest of the country

There is a fair chance that your son will end up back in Dublin at some stage in his life. Either for work or college.
    Oh, I know that. I mean growing up in the country. Nothing beats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You don't have the move permanently for a few months work. Just rent a place and sublet your current place for the months you'll be away.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The rest of the place is alright, except for the slightly disproportionate travelling community population compared to the rest of the country

Same applies to Dublin....it's just Tallaght, Finglas etc that are bad.

The rest of the place is alright except for the slightly disproportionate scumbag population compared to the rest of the country.

Nevore wrote: »
    Oh, I know that. I mean growing up in the country. Nothing beats it.

What are the chances that the employment that your husband has gained will become permanent

Uhh, I'm not the OP. :P AND I'm a man, so even if I swung that way, sadly he couldn't be my husband, in Ireland at least. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

Don't do it ... because then your kid will grow up to be a culchie! Do you really want that ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Hi
    thanks a mill

It sounds like ye are renting, if you want to move for the sake of a few months work. Have you wrote down all your options ?
    Eg.

a) everyone stays put in Dublin, hubbie turns down job
    b) everyone moves to country, for a couple of months... maybe more
    c) hubbie takes job and moves down there on his own for a few months

Plus variations of this, if ye can't afford to rent two places that one of both of you move back to your parents or the hubbie commutes every day to the job.

So you've short term concerns like money which may limit the options above.
    And long term decisions to make, on where you want to live, and where you can afford to live.

Throw all ideas on a piece of paper and weight up the cost of each if money is the main reason for thinking about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

Look I'll mind your gaff in dublin for the two months....

For these two months i will be posing as a managing director for an insurance company in order to seduce older mature women.I'll keep te place clean and have small casual get togethers with like minded people.I will begin to write a short story which turns into a novel,the title of which being "The Untapped Market for Friendless Females in Dublin"copywrite.

It will attract some buzz in the nooks and cranies of the dublin literacy scene untill it explodes on to an episode of "morning AM" on RTE.I will be gracious in the interview and of course flirt a bit with the female host.So i'll have you to thank and i'll take you and your husband out for a nice indian takeaway and we'll get plastered on wine and beer.

What do you say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭annetted

but we are culchies! and we have been so happy in Dublin. we met in dublin - at the bar in Copper Face Jacks! such history.

So it really is a hard decision. the job for my hubby is about 3/4 months work on a building site in the West..

i know about going and giving it a try but can we really do that to our 2 year old. move him from his home - take him somewhere new and then move him again.

it scare the hell out of us as well. we just keep going around in circles, that is why i put this posting up.. we have done the pros and cons list and they are fairly even. our families will be closer which would be great but work is so uncertain..

grungepants, you have a great way with words. there must be a novel in you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Now that you mentioned he's in the building trade, what happens when the job comes to an end? Keep following the work? Move somewhere else in Ireland? How long can you keep doing that for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

grungepants, you have a great way with words. there must be a novel in you!

I like the things you said about me....Im genuinely going to write a novel as I've been meaning to prove everyone wrong about me and fuel my sometimes rampant alcoholism.

Thank you.

exactly Banjaxed 82. you can't keep following work. so how do you make the final decision to stick with Dublin or take a chance and move to the West.

Theirs an easy solution to this
    Sell up and join the travelling community !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

bloody foreigners,come to dublin rob all our money and send it back home,typical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Take a chance on what? 4 months work in an industry that isn't going anywhere fast. Her husband would be better served retraining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Don’t worry about the 2 year old he will probably adapt to the new situation faster then you will and if you have to move again in 6 months it will be the same for him. The thing I would be most worried about is your husbands’ new job only being a 6 month contract. Is he working at the moment and is his job secure? It’s not the best time to be leaving a good job for one that will only last 6 months unless there is prospective further employment for him. Do you work yourself or do you stay at home to look after the kid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Hi
    thanks a mill

Do you have a job?
    Does he have a job in dublin?
    Is that job permanent?
    What's the place you are living in like? is it a dump?
    Do you like living in dublin?
    Would you be moving to family?
    What's the infrastructure like where you are going?
    Are there schools nearby?

These and other questions are what I'd be asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I grew up in the country. City > Country.

i am at home with our little boy. my hubby has had enough work to keep us ticking over. he works for a builder so gets say a months work then he might be off for a couple of weeks til another job starts. not ideal but all the bills are paid so thats the main thing.. we are happy just to be ticking along but this has come up now and its an option..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

If it was a business decision you would highlight the Pros and cons under the following headings

Suitability, Feasibility and acceptability

It's a big decsion so best of luck in whatever you decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

okmqaz42 wrote: »
    All decision making is based on push and pull factors. if you have more items that push or pull you to a particular decision that is what determines the correct course of action.
    Make a list of reasons to move back to the country, a sort of pro/cons list. Make a list of reasons to stay in Dublin pro/cons. when you have completed both lists read through them and see which of the lists has more pull/push for you.

Don't leave the list out for Rachel to read though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

That's like saying hell is a decent place, except for all the fire and brimstone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Flip a coin. If it doesn't work out, blame that damn coin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hi
    We are living in Dublin for the past 10 years, we are both from down the country. we have a little boy of 2. Now a chance has come up to move down the country again. My hubby has been offered a job, just a few months work.
    Where is it that you might be moving to? "Down the country" is an awfully big place.
    A few months work isn't a long time. What happens if he can't get more work where you go to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

OP use the Force.